We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Event Venue!”
Review of Verjus Restaurant

Verjus Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Verjus Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Maplewood
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rutgers Street
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Event Venue!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Jane and Charlie could not have been more helpful - and nicer to work with - in planning a special birthday party for our daughter! They closed the restaurant for our 50 guests and provided a delicious and varied buffet, an exceptional dessert and excellent service. We have had very good dinners at Verjus in the past, but this experience put them at the top of our list!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worthy food in a surprising locale”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A tired urban area in the Springfield- Maplewood area is an unlikely spot to find fine French food yet such is the case with Verjus. At first, the duly lit dining rooms are a put-off. The first impression is more that of a sedate '50s tea room than a brasserie or bistro. Yet the art prints in a rather spare background are well chosen, the tables are nicely spaced with no hard surfaces in the rooms to stifle conversation, and the tableware and linen crisp.
The food is French accented throughout and the soups of the day a great start. This time it was pumpkin bisque with proscuitto and mushrooms enough to add woodsy zest but not overwhelm. The crab cake was good, the escargot better according to our companions, The steak au poivre had seductively homey fried potatoes accompanying, and the garlic mash with the beef borginone equally fine. The beef drew appreciative nods. The Peking duck, was understandably nothing like the Chinese dish of that name. Less understandable was the skin of the generous half of bird, neither crisp nor savory. It was the only sad note of the evening. The desserts, from profiterolles awesome in both size and flavor, to home made sorbets, to brownie with creme fraiche ice cream earned thumbs up, all around. Wine by the glass and bottle were from a well chosen list and of good value. The service was by a youthful bunch but neither bubbly nor obtrusive -thank God! All in all, a place whose menu and specials earn repeat visits

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful dinner with friends the food was very good . Country pate excellent and the scallops and pasta delicious and portions almost too generous. The soupe de jour was tomato and perfect .
Will go back soon. Service was very good but not over the top.
Next time we will try the deserts .
Good wine list.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not top 25 worthy”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nothing about this restaurants screams top 25 worthy. The experience was not good at all my friends and I had a terrible experience. Nothing had the wow factor. except the bill because we couldn't believe we had to pay this much for the experience that was given

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Neighborhood Find”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

After moving to Maplewood/South Orange, we were delighted to discover that Verjus was so close by. Yes, the decor could be refreshed some (though at least it errs on the spare side, rather than being too fussy or cluttered). Yes, some of the servers are young and seem a bit light on experience. And yes, on very busy nights the wait times for dishes can extend. But the welcome is warm and genuine, the room is quiet and amenable to decent dinner conversation, the full-service cocktail bar is well stocked, the wine list is well edited and extremely reasonably priced, and the food is nothing short of marvelous. The chef cooks fish with care, and often serves it with interesting sauces, like a Meyer lemon beurre blanc. The meat dishes are terrific as well. On a recent visit, my beef bourguignon was the definition of fork-tender, literally falling apart on the plate, and insanely flavorful. And true to the restaurant's fundamentally French character, the menu always includes some unusual organ meat dishes-- it was here that I first tried, and very much enjoyed, rognons de veau (veal kidneys). There's always a soup of the day, and and a good mix of menu staples and specials. I aspire someday to leave enough room to try the profiteroles for dessert, which look gorgeous as they go by our table. But usually by that point, we've completely stuffed ourselves beyond consideration of dessert . My only wish is that the restaurant could offer a cheese course. We can highly recommend Verjus for a lovely, traditional French meal, offered in a quiet, adult setting by folks who clearly care deeply about food. Bon appetit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterTravelFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verjus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Verjus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing