We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel 6 should be ashamed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Philadelphia - Mt Laurel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maple Shade
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recent 2 night stay for a lacrosse tournament. This place is .5 steps up from a complete dump. The rooms are fair sized. Beds are marginally adequate. Carpeting is filthy. The property itself is cluttered with garbage, cigarette butts, and is just not well kept. The building exteriors are run down. They don't have extra pillows so bring your own if you sleep with more than one. TV station lineup was adequate, but outdated small screen TV. Located on a busy road and you could here traffic all night. Air conditioner drowned out traffic noise but it was loud and obnoxious. I'll stay in a Motel 6 anytime...but not this one ever again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Needed a place to stay for a quick family trip to Philly. Rate here was reasonable, room was clean and no smoke odors, 2 queen beds. Refrig and microwave both worked, though they looked about 30 years old and refrig was missing one foot so sat at an odd angle. Absolutely zero frills, but bed was comfy, cable TV worked fine (important when travelling w/kids). Folks at desk efficient and pleasant. Linens were clean, though one sheet had a 1/2" tear in it. Parking lot has a bunch of floodlights at night, so car seemed pretty safe.

Location is along a stretch of highway populated with Dunkin Donuts, Burger Kings, diners, other motels, but our room was away from the road and surprisingly quiet. Boisterous neighbors came home at one point, but immediately clammed up. Plenty of food choices around, so didn't even try the lobby coffee in the morning. If all you need is a room, this one worked out fine for me and the kids. Would I take the wife here for a romantic weekend? Ahhhh, NO.

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms here face either to the side (ours faced the Popeye's next door) or are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drken567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night last weekend. It was a matter of have to rather than want to. Could not find another room from 60 miles north to Maple Shade.

I wasn't expecting too much and that is exactly what I got. At least the bed was clean, but the stain on the carpet looked a lot like a bloodstain and the bath was stained as well. Had to let the water run for a full ten minutes before it heated up enough to have a shower. Toilet was loose on the floor and the seat wasn't too secure either.

Would I stay there again? No

Room Tip: Go to another Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilGrindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I couldn't resist checking out this hotel...Yes I read the reviews but I went and checked in anyway.
Room 361..I must say the room was quite large..a king size bed..two night stands and a coner table and a work station. The carpet at the door was shreded and the door was dirty..Bathroom was clean and so was the bedding. Would i stay there again...no. The girl at the front desk was pleasant and helpful..I'm going to spend the extra money and super 8 or the any thing else...I'm trying to get up enought nerve to check out the Bel Air.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank teadrinker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It's a Motel 6, so that's the baseline. Pluses: my bed was pretty comfortable, the sheets surprisingly soft, the person who checked me in was efficient, and when the a/c didn't work, I received fairly quick attention, and when they couldn't repair it to satisfaction, I was given another room. Minuses: Grounds are on the grungy side - the elevator and outdoor hallways are of garage quality. Thin walls, and the bathtubs in both rooms were such that I would have to be pretty desparate for a bath to use it. I was in a non-smoking room, but I suspect that there are previous decades of nicotine molecules still in the air. Bottom line: for a cheap pet-friendly place near Philly, it's acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the back to minimize noise from highway traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Typical motel 6. They let us check in early, staff were polite. Rooms clean, with a fridge! But the bathroom doors in both the rooms we booked had been kicked in. Found syringes under one of the mattresses. But area seemed safe. So if you don't mind speculating about why the bathroom door lock was busted - suicide? Domestic dispute? Drug deal gone wrong? - motel's of usual standard for a motel 6, but with a the added bonus of a fridge!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellsbells2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here on business for a couple nights. Late Evening/Early AM desk guy was very helpful when I checked in. Not much to the room. Would have liked a mini fridge, but overall it was just a cheap place to sleep. Secure parking lot with easy access to Philadelphia bridges. Very handy. Would definitely stay there again with my tight budget.

Room Tip: Careful when parking/backing out because people can come around the one-way entrance a little fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maple Shade
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mount Laurel
Red Roof Inn Mount Laurel
#20 of 28 in Mount Laurel
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#26 of 28 in Mount Laurel
83 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Philadelphia - Mount Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Mount Laurel
The Westin Mount Laurel
#9 of 28 in Mount Laurel
402 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mt. Laurel
Hilton Garden Inn Mt. Laurel
#3 of 28 in Mount Laurel
706 reviews
2.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cherry Hill
WoodSpring Suites Cherry Hill
#4 of 8 in Cherry Hill
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Philadelphia - Mt Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Philadelphia - Mt Laurel

Address: 2798 Route 73 N, Maple Shade, NJ 08052-1615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Maple Shade
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maple Shade
Price Range: $62 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Philadelphia - Mt Laurel 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Philadelphia - Mt Laurel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Maple Shade
Motel Six Maple Shade
Maple Shade Motel 6
Maple Shade Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing