We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dippy's gets Best of Gloucester Co. year after year”
Review of Dippy's Ice Cream

Dippy's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Mantua
Price range: $1 - $20
Restaurant details
New City, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dippy's gets Best of Gloucester Co. year after year”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is no run of the mill ice cream stand. Dippy's was here before I moved to the area in 1981. Not only does Dippy's serve the best soft serve around, their hand dipped ice cream and water ice are also great. My favorite is the vanilla with a chocolate dip, but I am also in love with the shakes. The review that Dippys only has wooden benches must be from someone dipped in the head because several years ago they upgraded from picnic tables to a tented (weatherized) table and chairs area. Thank goodness it is a cash only business because the lines can get long, especially during baseball season when whole teams come at once. The service is very quick and organized, so don't let a little crowd stop you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJ1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You call this ice cream.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Cash only. They have an atm scalp you more high fees. Go to the store you will have better ice cream.
They have old wooden benchs to sit on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elliotnjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have stopped here for years, good hours and staff, never disappointed in whatever we order! Soft or Hard Ice Cream, "We All Scream For Dippy's Ice Cream"!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NJnatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“I'm proud of my Dippy's T-shirt!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The best place in Mantua for ice cream and anything related to it like sundies, and splits , or milkshakes. A couple of years ago I went there and was really impressed with their T-shirt. I ordered one when I got back to South Carolina. I am proud of that T-shirt. It's the only one I have that has my hometown printed on it. Mantua, NJ.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBoyWorldDada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilds of New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Neighborhood ice cream stand”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Standard issue ice cream stand. There is outdoor seating, some completely open air and some in a tent-like pavilion. Right next to the road so not particularly scenic or atmospheric. Good for a quick bit of pretty good ice cream, particularly the raspberry chocolate truffle.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosa_Thorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dippy's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Dippy's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing