We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Oaks Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twin Oaks Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manasquan
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I’ve stayed for about 2 months there, I loved the place, the crew was very helpful, the owner is a very nice man, it’s a great value for money.
I stayed there during Sandy hurricane and the owner was doing his best to make the stay comfortable inspite of all the bad weather and now power for more than 10 days.
If I visit the city again sure I will book in the same Motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarwaHussein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this establishment. It is very clean and the pool is crystal clear. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to please their guests with information & directions. The location is great as it is close to beaches, boardwalks, restaurants and shopping. Best of all the kids really enjoyed the 50 inch HDTV and the WiFi which gave us a break. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

While the room was quite affordable for a month long stay, you need to be prepared to supply some of your own items. First, there is no coffee maker, coffee, mugs, or condiments for coffee. If you want a coffee maker or a real glass, not a flimsy plastic one, then bring your own. What you do have are a refrigerator and microwave oven. As for ice, you have to ring a bell at the office, and they will fill your bucket with refrigerator ice.
Secondly, there is no closet. What you do have is a metal rack attached to the wall. There is ample storage in the dresser and one bedside table. The furniture is old, chipped and cheap. One drawer kept falling apart.
Thirdly, we had to complain about the room being too hot (yes, in January) and then too cold. After several days, we were allowed a key to the baseboard water heater. On the hot days we tried to use the A/C unit to compensate, but it had little effect. I would not count on the window A/C unit to help much on hot summer days.
This is an old motel with thin walls; you will hear your neighbors. The top mattress may be newer but the box spring is old. The bathroom was refurbished, which made the experience a bit better. The staff is friendly but be ready for the rules and regulations which will be read to you at length and enforced. Checking out early is an ordeal. If you are on good terms with the staff, you may be able to get a refund for a day or two on your paid in advance room.
Would I stay here again? I'd try very hard to find other accommodations before considering a repeat stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goredd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesKManasquan, Owner at Twin Oaks Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We appreciate this customer’s feedback. The problem with the heating system during their stay in Jan. was legitimate. We had an inconsistent heating problem which was difficult to recognize and diagnose since heating was working in all other areas without complaint. Once we recognized the specific problem we called in an emergency service late on a Sunday. Emergency services diagnosed the problem as a bad solenoid valve but could not fix the problem immediately because they did not have this part on their truck and all supply houses were closed. It was repaired the next day and we have since ordered a spare solenoid valve to keep in-house to avoid a repetition of such a problem. It should also be noted that during Hurricane Sandy we were are the only motel in the area to have a permanent natural gas generator to automatically backup all hot water and heating systems in the event of a power loss.
With regard this customer’s concerns with respect to the absence of a coffee maker, coffee mugs, or coffee condiments we are puzzled that this customer who patronized our establishment in 2012 continued to patronize our establishment twice more this year during Jan. 2013 and more recently this month of April after learning in 2012 that we do not offer this amenity. We do inform our guests that we do not provide coffee but that there is a Dunkin Donuts .1 mile away and a Starbucks .5 mile away on the same side of the highway as is our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had made a reservation for a week at the Twin Oaks in Manasquan without being familiar with the motel. What a pleasant surprise! The owner and staff are very professional, friendly and pleasant. Being a family run business, you get more personal service than you would at one of the big chains or larger establishments. The rooms are great! Very clean, orderly, warm, and also have a small refrigerator and microwave in the room. Huge TV's are an added bonus! Nothing like them anywhere else! There is also free internet access in the room, and a small desk for your computer. The rooms and bathrooms were recently renovated and updated. The property and grounds are well kept, and the environment is safe, and quiet at night time. The location is great as well. The town of Manasquan is just a few minutes down the street, and there are plenty of stores for shopping, and restaurants for dining out in close proximity. I would highly recommend the Twin Oaks to anyone looking to stay in the area. You won't be disappointed! It's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mpw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmont, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

twin oaks is wonerful love staying there quite clean. Charles and his wife are the sweetest people u will ever meet. rooms are wonderful redone . i wouldnt stay any where else thats for sure..this is my home away from home ive stayed here with my son for a week and felt safe we enjoyed very much also me and my husband come for a day or so just to get away and relax ...this place is the best around..also there pool is very clean..hope u enjoy as i do the Pallotta's...

Room Tip: close to all beach, shopping and resturants
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTONIETTA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ok so u drive up and think oh my where am I staying?! Definitely jersey shore motel feel from my childhood. Outside looks dated but very manicured. The pool is spotless as are the grounds. But the most important thing is that the rooms are sooooo clean. They are a decent size and have huge tvs! Probably could have purchased smaller ones but they are great. I love that the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves at no extra charge. We have dietary issues and hate to have to eat every meal out so we were able to purchase food and eat in the room. Also we were able to bring our dog for a small fee which was convenient for us. This motel is close to everything and is a good deal for jersey shore prices. Only negative would be that they could update bedding? Looks dated and older but certainly clean and fine otherwise. This was a last minute trip and we were bringing a lot of people so we couldn't spend a fortune on two rooms at other places. This was around 180.00 for a queen and full bed in one room for Saturday night and 100.00 for Sunday. Still expensive for motel prices but everything down there is outrageously priced so I need to accept that this is more than fairly priced!!! Especially because of the convenience and amenities of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simi531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Although it looks a bit dodgy from the outside (think old signage a la the Bates), the Twin Oaks Motel is better on the inside and not a bad option for the Manasquan area. There aren't a lot of other hotels/motels in this area, so when looking for a quick one or two night beach trip, this is probably one of the better options available.
Rooms are small, but do the job. As mentioned on the website, by the owner when we called, and on the sign outside, the rooms do appear to have undergone some recent renovation. Bathrooms were tiny, but nice and new and clean. There was a large flat screen TV on the wall, and the rug in the bedroom looked pretty new. Our room had a small fridge and a microwave, which although a little dated looking, seemed to work fine and were convenient for us.
Where the quality dipped a little is in the beds and linens. These seemed a little old and outdated. Nothing was dirty, but the mattress could have been a little more supportive, the linens seem faded, and I had to prop my pillow up with extra towels to get enough support under my head.

Despite the location (near a couple of beach towns known as party areas) we didn't have any problems with noise once we went to bed (which admittedly was pretty late). We didn't use the pool, but it looked reasonably nice and had it not been overcast, I definitely would considered spending some time laying there before heading out.

The location is near the beach and town in Manasquan, but not really walking distance. To get back and forth you'll need to drive, bike or get a cab. We took cabs in the evening and it was $4 to $5 per person.

Keep in mind that if you're going to go to the bars in Manasquan, make sure to leave a little bit ahead of last call - with lots of people looking for cabs to towns a bit further away, the small fare offered by taking people to the Twin Oaks will usually lose out unless you can catch a cab before the rush.

Room Tip: It seems like the rates vary a bit based on supply and demand so it might be worth trying to negotia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manasquan
0.3 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
1.8 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Oaks Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Oaks Motel

Property: Twin Oaks Motel
Address: 2300 Highway 35, Manasquan, NJ 08736-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Manasquan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manasquan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twin Oaks Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are new nonsmoking, have a queen Serta bed, refrigerator, microwave, 50 inch plasma TV, 140 cable channels, 10 free HBO movie channels, free WiFi/Ethernet, and we have an outdoor swimming pool. We are located on the Manasquan Circle on Route 35; the closest motel to downtowns Manasquan, Sea Girt & Brielle; a few miles south of Belmar, a couple miles north of Point Pleasant, a couple of miles east of Brick and are close to beaches, 3 miles to Pt. Pleasant Boardwalk, nightclubs (Osprey, Leggetts, Bar Anticipation, Stone Pony) and 15 minutes from 6 flags Great Adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Twin Oaks Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Oaks Hotel Manasquan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing