We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Spargo's Grille - CLOSED

Spargo's Grille
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Ate here this past weekend. They have a terrific menu with so many choices. The portions of the dinners and appetizers are very generous. The waitress was very attentive and on the ball. Everyone at my table enjoyed their food from tuna to short ribs to halibut. The only reason I didn't give it a five was because of the noise level and the close proximity of the tables to eachother. But we will absolutely go back! Don't judge this place by its location in a strip mall.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollisPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The crab cake appetizer and the pastas (bolognese) are delicious, this place is also BYO so bring a few bottles and a few friends and enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Spargo's a great place for dinner”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Four of us went to Spargos for dinner and we all enjoyed immensely. The regular menu, along with weekly specials, offered lots to choose from. Note that they offer gluten free selections too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Manalapan”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We first visited Spargo's Grill several years ago with friends of ours and enjoyed our meal however becasuse it is off the main streets - we just never went back until recently. We went back with the same couple and very much enjoyed ourselves. The dilemma becomes what do you order off of the main menu or the specials menu. We have been back several times since and have thouroughly enjoyed ourselves. I try to have something differnet each time we go back. Really, really enjoyed the short ribs, then had the duck. I wasn't a fan of the sauce but the duck itself was superb. Had a seafood special once that was presented as a ciopino and thoroughly enjoyed. It is a BYOB place so bring some wine and enjoy yourself.

We even went back for one of their monthly cooking demos. Lots of fun and a great way to have an evening out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jefferey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Meal”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went to Spargo's on a "spur of the moment." We had nice "early bird special" meals and pleasant service. The "early bird specials" are smaller portions than their regular meals, but a good value if you do not have a large appetite. My only complaint is as to the salad, which was completely overpowered by vinegar and was unable to finish it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Artie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spargo's Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing