We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A less than good experience”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wong's Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 69 Restaurants in Manalapan
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 26, 2018

I have been going to Wong's on and off for over 15 years. The food is inconsistent but when it is good it is great. We made a reservation for Christmas Day, this is a heavy day for chinese food. When we arrived the place was packed for both eating in or take out. My wife went to the person who she made the reservation with. There were no lists for reservations availalbe there. As we sat and waied to be seated probably three groups left. They said they were waiting over and hour and a half for their food. so they walked out. By the time we were seated, half the tables were empty. I noticed only two waiters working, one spoke almost no english, in 30 minutes we finally had water and tea. We ordered our dinners, three of the four came out. Mine which was twice cooked pork never arrived. The waiter was quite beligerent. When I asked for a manager he refused to get the person. The food that was delivered 2 of three were acceptable. We left. But Wong's is not a new resturant, even though the family still runs the place, it was a total disaster. The place is still not clean and service which was good the last time we were there was just terrible, The manager only cared about takeout.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 691kals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 24 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

The most consistent Chinese Restaurant around
Always good ! NY normal style of Chinese food like we had in Brooklyn take out or eat in .
The best ribs and fried rice. Great lobster sauce and egg rolls. Also great specially dishes . Can never go wrong here

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Ijs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

Old fashioned Chinese American strip mall restaurant. Hasn’t been updated in years but who cares. Combination plates are very good and reasonable. Ribs, yes the Chinese red spare ribs, are very meaty and very good. Choice of rice and egg roll, soup and dessert for $12.50. Hot and sour soup is pretty good. Typical choices from Chow Mein, Chow mei fun, shrimp in garlic sauce, etc. All good. Dinner for 2 is less than $30 plus tip. Still a bargain.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Wong's has improved significantly over the years. The food is quite good and the prices are reasonable. Some of the waiters are quite friendly, others a little less so but everyone is polite and attentive. Rest rooms are clean. One of our favorites.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank crossbow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

My cousin Paul and I went here for lunch. We had spare ribs, pork fried rice, egg roll and wonton soup.

The place was pretty empty. Food was pretty darn good.

I’d go back!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank TonytheChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wong's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wong's Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing