We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect to enjoy an air conditioned room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't expect to enjoy an air conditioned room”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel before. It was clean and well maintained and offered a great location just minutes from LBI and all kinds of shopping, movies and restaurants. I was very disappointed in my stay this time!!!! The hotel has some kind of a "motion sensor" set up on the air conditioning systems, which even at their peak capacity, are inferior. The fan barely runs on a low speed, and set to the lowest setting the room never got cool, EVER!!! The Front Desk staff looked for other available rooms and admitted that the few they had available had the same issue. The ice machines weren't working and we didn't have even the minimal supplies, such as coffee or sugar/creamers when we arrived. We didn't have enough towels and those that were there were rough and small. Elevators were horribly hot with no fan or cooling that we could ascertain. Upon looking to enjoy a dip in the pool we found no towels, no one to ask and overwhelmingly hot pool that wreaked of chlorine smell. We will be finding another place to stay next time we visit LBI. That's for sure!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger but only available with a King Bed, not with doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angelgloria02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear angelgloria02,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the great location of our hotel in the area. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience you may have experienced with your in-room Air-Conditioner. We also apologize our elevator and pool facility fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    68
    44
    19
    11
See reviews for
73
41
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was fine. Doesn't offer any benefits for Platinum Priority members.
Front desk clerk was very nice, room OK.
Plenty of parking, and group breakfast was decent.
If I was going for a vacation, it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexiepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear lexiepuppy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Platinum Elite member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and Hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Manahawkin.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I recently stayed for one night. While the hotel room was surprisingly updated and very clean, we found that it was muggy and had an odd smell as we walked in. We thought the air conditioner was not working although it was showing it was 65 degrees in the room. We called down to the front desk who sent a maintenance worker. He told us the air was blowing cold and when we expressed our concern that we had been there for about 2 hours and it was no cooler and still muggy, he shrugged off our concerns by saying it was muggy outside and it was muggy in his office too. He then walked out of the room without another word. Also, it seems there is one luggage cart for the entire hotel, which I find to be odd. The restaurant is outdated and the food was just so-so. The walls must be thin, as we could hear a lot of doors slamming throughout the night and if you are in a room with a connecting door you will hear the guests next door (as we did). Although updated, it is definitely overpriced for a Holiday Inn, as we did not even stay during the peak summer season and still paid over $150, and that was with a "discount" for a group wedding rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvthebeach914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear luvthebeach914,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding room cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel quite a few times since Oct. 29, 2012.
As some readers may know, this is after hurricane "Sandy" destruction down the shore in NJ.

The reception people were very cordial and accommodating to me in my time of personal
difficulty. You understand I was one of the thousands of people whose secondary vacation
home was devastated in Beach Haven West, Stafford Township, NJ.

The room was very clean, the service cordial and the personnel there showed a lot of
empathy. I would definitely recommend this hotel in good and not so good personal times.

Yes, I have stayed at this Holiday Inn a number of times and not once was I disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tg2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Manahawkin for a long weekend while visiting family - when I booked we were only able to reserve Friday night, but then Saturday night became available so we were able to stay both nights.
The rates had dropped since I had first booked the room (a few weeks prior) and I was thankful that they honored the lower rate. (and breakfast was included in the new rate!)

The hotel was clean and well kept. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The Maids were above and beyond friendly to myself and my family. The pool was a little outdated but clean and nice and warm. (I have 2 small children who enjoyed swimming!)

The staff at the restaurant was amazing! They were all pleasant and made us feel very welcome!! They really went above and beyond to make sure my kids were well taken care of at breakfast. (and the food was really good as well!)

We had a very positive experience and I will definitely stay there when we visit family again moving forward.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMags27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Place was clean and comfortable but over-priced. The staff either shrugged and indicated they didn't speak English or just ignored us. Also pass the attached restaurant. It doesn't even qualify as a restaurant. Food was poorly prepared and that was the high point of the meal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank acmestocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear acmestocker,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manahawkin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Franklin, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I didn't have a reservation and needed a place to stay in this area. Options were not abundant in February, but I showed up and was given a good room immediately. The hotel and room were acceptable in every way--clean, comfortable, the wi-fi worked well, but what I noticed was the excellent service from the desk staff. Both checking in and checking out, I received friendly and helpful service. LIttle touches like that can leave a very strong impression.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manahawkin
6.0 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
124 reviews
8.5 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
164 reviews
19.0 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
153 reviews
21.3 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
6.0 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Property: Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
Address: 151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Manahawkin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the attractions of Long Beach Island with the amenities of a full service hotel!The Holiday Inn Manahawkin/Long Beach Island is located at the heart of the Jersey Shore.Our new hotel features 110 comfortable guestrooms six spacious suites, a delicious signature restaurant and a cozy lounge In addition to our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center, we also offer wireless internet throughout the property. Our hotel is located minutes from Barnegat Light House State Park, Surflight Theatre, Tuckerton Seaport, and Jersey Shore beaches . We are also a short ride to fabulous Atlantic City The hotel also serves as the premiere conference center for Long Beach Island with up to10,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space Our elegant Grand Ballroom caters any affair with style, from a focused business meetingof 50 to an opulent wedding for 500. Shuttle Service is available to accommodate groups for weddings, reunions, and corporate events. Whether you are traveling to Long Beach Island for business, a family vacation or a romantic weekend escape, our hotel and friendly staff cannot wait to welcome you home to the Jersey Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island Hotel Manahawkin
Manahawkin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing