We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Mahwah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the second time around, and were sorely disappointed in the customer service here. The first night we were there, we were on a floor with a college basketball team. When a group from next door became loud, I called down to the front desk to ask for a room change. Not only did they tell us that they couldn’t accommodate us for the room change, I found the front desk attendant to be short and unsympathetic to our needs. The second night there was a Marine Corps ball and we found that many marines were placed on our floor. While we didn’t mind at all that the ball was going on, and we’re very supportive of our troops, we found that due to the overzealous revelry, we could hear many of the attendees late into the night as they returned to our floor. When I called again to complain about the noise, the staff was once again rude and unsympathetic. Our problem is not with the groups who were only there to have a good time, but with the poor service and management philosophy of the hotel staff. Overall, we found that the employees are not customer service oriented -- upon leaving; we weren’t even asked how our stay was. I believe that a hotel as large and well-established as the Sheraton Mahwah should have better strategies in place for sectioning off large groups from other hotel patrons. While we recognize the need to accommodate large groups and host events, there seems to be a disconnect at this hotel between the service provided to those groups and individuals seeking a quiet getaway. One of the goals of hospitality service is to provide you with such a good experience that you want to return again and again. Sadly this is the last time we will be staying at the Sheraton Mahwah, and we recommend that those of you who are seeking a quiet getaway and somewhat decent service to look to the Super 8 across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_C_9181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Michael_C_9181,
Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience. Our apologies for not providing a quiet and enjoyable stay. Our staff strives to provide excellent customer care and service, we apologize for not meeting those goals during your stay. We always aim to keep our groups together so as not to disturb other guests. Please let me know if i can do anything to compensate you for your negative experience. We look forward to another opportunity to provide you with a better hotel experience.

Thank You,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 439 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel itself is an ex-HQ building and is vast. The hotel car park itself is quite empty.

Rooms nicely decorated but distinctly ordinary.

Is this Hotel making enough to cover its costs? I really don't know. However, at reception they mentioned that if we did not use the turndown service and used the reception, we would be entitled to a $5 rebate voucher for each night we did not use the service. They say its for green reasons, but based on my experience, the perception is that was a cost cutting measure.

I only received one voucher, not the two and even then the discount was not applied to my bill. At a hotel charging almost $150 per night, I'd really expect my room to be cleaned or you stick to what you've agreed.

If the hampton inn down the road can clean your room everyday, then so should a Sheraton. I can't justify paying a premium as the guest experience isn't up to other Sheratons I have stayed at in the past. The perception of a hotel cutting costs does not install confidence , trust or the basis for return custom.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busyness_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Busyness Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your experience and posting your review. Our apologies for not providing the guest experience anticipated during your stay. Make a Green Choice is designed to reward guests for choosing an eco friendly stay with SPG points or service value vouchers. Please let me know if you would like to receive your SPG points. We hope to have the opportunity to be of service in the future.

Sincerely,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's oddly out of place, a glass skyscraper alone among the Ramapo Mountains, but it's a comfortable hotel with a nice indoor pool, an elevator that is fascinating for young kids, and an easy drive to small ski areas. Worth a weekend at the right price.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Breukelen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Breukelen2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The hotel is a remarkable building amidst the beautiful Ramapo Mountains. The view from our guest rooms and elevators is breathtaking. We offer ski and stay packages to Tuxedo Ridge Ski Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank You,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Was visiting for business reasons in Mahwah NJ.
Close Proximity to NY , very comfortable stay , excellent front desk and good food .

The Only thing to complain is that in this world where most of them offer free internet , This hotel charges 12$ per day , which is expensive

Room Tip: Try to negotiate free wireless deal before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonjoy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Sonjoy B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your lodging experience! Our hotel is ideally located near NYC and the corporate campuses of several fortune 500 Companies. We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality as well as the cuisine. We now offer free basic High Speed Internet fee in all 225 Guest Rooms.

We hope to be of service in the near future!

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a visit to Sleepy Hollow, NY. It was decent and reasonably priced but nothing spectacular. For a 4 star hotel I thought the rooms were a bit small. The bed was super comfortable though. Wouldnt stay there again only because it seemed to be in the middle of nowhere....

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CrystalN320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear CrystalN320,

Thank you for sharing your lodging experience. We appreciate you choosing Starwood Hotels and Resorts for your recent stay. Our location is convenient to all major highways in Northern NJ and NY State. We are set in the midst of 100 acres of natural beauty in the Ramapo Mountains. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thank You!
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Technically everything went right..... On customer service, everything went wrong. I'll try it out again, everyone deserves a second chance! Hopefully, things change for the better! I think that they need someone to train in customer service. Its not that anyone was specifically bad, but it was as if no one even cared enough. Checking in? LAST NAME? Here is you keys.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear John S,

Thank you for posting your review! We strive to provide a warm and welcome experience. We are working on improving those skills so all our guests are treated wonderfully. Hospitality is our number one priority. Although as you noted everything went right our goal is to make you feel welcome and appreciated.

Thank You,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at Sheraton Crossroads for a collage reunion and stayed a couple days extra. They are a hotel with office complex. It is in a nice large park setting with ducks and geese. It acts like a 4 star hotel but cheats you with charging $12/day for internet or $20/day for a continental breakfast. They even water down their liquor in their bar. The rooms are average and I only get a full bed. I felt cheated by the whole experience. I will stay at the Holiday Inn next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SV_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear SV_Traveler,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mahwah Hotel for your lodging. Our apologies for not providing an excellent experience. We are reviewing our pricing and services to be sure we are providing good value for all our guests. Our hotel abides by the NJ State Alcholic beverage laws. We do not water down our liquor; that would be a violation of the law. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mahwah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mahwah Hotel

Address: 1 International Blvd, Route 17 North, Mahwah, NJ 07495-0027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: $110 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mahwah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Mahwah Hotel is located 40 minutes outside New York City and convenient to Newark Liberty International Airport. We overlook the majestic Ramapo Mountains with easy access from Route 17, 287 and the NY State Thruway. We offer 100 acres of landscaped grounds, free covered parking with temperature controlled skywalk, free basic high speed internet and indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Mahwah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mahwah
Mahwah Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing