We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took care of Hurricane Sandy Evacuees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We picked this location pretty much at random, as we needed to evacuate from NYC during Hurricane Sandy. While services were limited due to staffing during the storm, everyone there did their best to make us comfortable and welcome. There's pretty much nothing nearby, but the hotel is in good condition, and has some nice amenities.

Room Tip: "Jr. Suites" are corner rooms, only a bit larger larger than normal, but with panoramic wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind word during this difficult time for all of us. I hope you are back home safe and that the next time you visit, it is for better circumstances.
Christine-Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 436 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is hard to miss as it rises majestically into the sky almost castle-like and sits on a big parcel of land with plenty of parking. Although situated adjacent to two busy highways it is very quiet since it is set back quite a bit from the roads.The check-in staff was pleasant and the room rate I paid was $169 that translated to around $200 with taxes. The restaurant was quite good and prices reasonable. My waiter was very attentive. The room was very pleasant and clean, however, nothing spectacular. Just a nicely furnished hotel room with the usual amenities. I think what I liked about it most, other than what I have mentioned, is that is was uneventful. No surprises - and restful. I would definitely stay there again and was happy to find this property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobs3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I travel to NJ from London on Business and often stay in this hotel for a week at a time. I usually get a taxi from JFK airport to the hotel and then rely on the pre-arranged shuttle service from the hotel to work and back again. I dont hire a car whilst in NJ. Once at the hotel you will find there is NO choice at all where to eat if you dont have a car.
You cannot leave the hotel grounds as its surrounded by main roads which makes you a captive audience. This can make the weekends pretty long.
The restautant is OK but the a choice of healthier option would really help. The pool is fairly nice and the Gym is ok too. Never too busy which is a good thing.
The rooms are nice and clean and a good size. Nice bathroom and TV with plenty of channels. Beds are nice and comfortable and I generally sleep well here.
Staff are really nice and friendly but there are some who are just plain rude and unhelpful but this is only a few.
The Night club on a saturday night is entertaining from a people watching point of view anyway. Music is ok. but the clientel are usually local people about 20 years older than me letting their hair down. Worth going along to see especially if you are there on your own.
Overall I would say its a nice hotel, Staff are friendly, Facilities are good and rooms are really nice. A Car is a MUST is you want choice or flexibility.
Views are spectacular and you can see some deer and wildlife too which is always nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wings149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Wings149,

Thank you for your insightful survey. I appreciate you mentioning that it is recommended to have a car while visiting. Though the hotel will help you book car services, it is nice to have your own transportation to visit the many great sites in the area. Thank you for your business and we hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

stayed here on business. this is a pretty large facility that kind of pops up in a fairly rural area (if thats possible 45 miles north of NYC). clean, decent service. rooms are ok - nothing great but by no means no problems. staff was friendly and helpful. several neat small towns near the hotel worth exploring and the U.S. Military Academy is approx 40 min. up the road

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Jon S,

Thank you for your review of our property. We hope you will visit again soon as the fall landscape is a MUST see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just off Route-17. Peaceful location with plenty of parking. Nice wooded setting visible from hotel rooms and glass elevator. Hotel is clean. Upgraded rooms have cool design with plenty of room. Service is average. Not overly friendly, but you can get what you need. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are updated/clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToVacateMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Lovetovacate,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad you were able to enjoy our relaxing environment and hope you will come and visit again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good hotel. I stay here often on business. Right off 87 at 17 South. Lots of parking and easy access to 17. Restaurant not great and food at bar is not very good. Just eat before you get here. Room is clean, bed is comfortable and amenities are good. Ask for a higher floor. Walls are thin so you can usually hear the folks next door.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangocatpurring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the weekend, essentially passing through after driving down and spending the day at the Woodbury Common Outlet Mall. We have stayed at this hotel during previous shopping trips and it served our needs well. It’s just a short drive south from the mall and is situated close to the interstate, which was handy for us as it was located in the direction toward the next set of malls in Connecticut and Massachusetts to which we were driving in the morning.

The hotel is very visible as probably the only one in the area greater than 4 stories high. With each visit, we’ve observed that the hotel seems to be a main hub for wedding receptions, conferences and school proms, so take that into consideration regarding possible hallway noise outside your room. We haven’t experienced any big problems.

The room was very clean and in good repair, and although the property has had a renovation, you can tell it is fairly older. Both the evening and morning staff were also very friendly and helpful. The room is also a bargain for the area if you qualify for a government rate, and the staff gave us an upgrade to a junior suite because I was a military veteran (you got nothing to lose by asking), so kudos to them.

We would definitely make an effort to stay here again on our next shopping trip.

Room Tip: If you qualify, ask for an upgrade as a military veteran when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric107_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mahwah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mahwah Hotel

Address: 1 International Blvd, Route 17 North, Mahwah, NJ 07495-0027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: $120 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mahwah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Mahwah Hotel is located 40 minutes outside New York City and convenient to Newark Liberty International Airport. We overlook the majestic Ramapo Mountains with easy access from Route 17, 287 and the NY State Thruway. We offer 100 acres of landscaped grounds, free covered parking with temperature controlled skywalk, free basic high speed internet and indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Mahwah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mahwah
Mahwah Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing