We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Courtyard Mahwah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Mahwah
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2005

I travelled to new jersey for St.Patricks Day to perform at the parade in Ringwood. We were a pipe band from Ireland. The hotel is claen and modern. The room was quite large with orange walls. HOWEVER ,the walls are paper thin . Myself and a friend were in rooms next to each other. We went to bed at the same time on our final night and I could here her opening her make-up bag and striking a match. When she was talking in a normal voice I could here every word. Bear this in mind!! Dont stay here if you dont have a car. There is only one taxi service in the area and prices to Woodbury Commons and other shopping outlets are VERY expensive. With 6 sharing it was still $10 each. The food in the hotel is not very good. Breakfast is at two set rates one for cold food and one for hot. Some of the children in our group had fruit or cereal only but were charged full price.
There is a t.v and snack bar in the lobby which gives it a very homely feel.There is a free shuttle to the Mason Jar - a gorgeous restraunt 2 minute drive away. Driver was very nice. Some truck stops nearby also. Not much alcohol available- certainly not enough for 80 Irish people!!
Pool is quite nice.
However we were experiencing quite a culture shock having coming from the hustle and bustle of new york city!!
Certainly not good for groups. Must have your own transport.
It would be a good base to discover the REAL america. We passed some lovely small towns with really great people .

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dizzyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 229 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2005

We have stayed here often as it is close to family. The hotel is always clean and comfortable. The pool is also clean. The parking is very convenient.
As one other reviewer mentioned, the roads around the hotel can be a bit confusing and are not well marked, but that is not the fault of the hotel.
There are few amenities at the hotel, but terrific NJ diners are right down the street. The hotel serves breakfast only. Food is fine. We have never had less than excellent service here.
If the price is the same, I would chose the Sheraton Crossroads. If the price is $20 less than the Sheraton, stay at the Courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nuds78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2005

i have now stayed at courtyard in mahwah, nj twice. both times were to attend family weddings.
it is comfortable, clean and located just off highway 17, although you have to make a long u-turn if you approach it from the south.
on my last visit i needed a rollout bed which was provided without extra charge or delay.
the breakfast is good, though not included in the rate.
on this stay there was a problem with the lock on the door. they took care of it and gave me 4 complimentary breakfast coupons without me having to ask.
i have to repeat that it is a clean hotel, as that is the most important aspect for me in choosing a hotel.
overall i was satisfied and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Omaha, NE
213
Reviewed August 25, 2003

My husband had a work engagement in Sterling Forest, NY. His employer booked us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Mahwah, New Jersey. We were given the heads up by other people in his office that the hotel was under construction. We imagined the worst.

We were surprised. We checked into the hotel at an early hour of 11am, having driven up from Ocean City, NJ. They allowed us to check in with no troubles. The hotel "front desk" was temporarily relocated to a conference room. I think we were given a non-smoking room, but there were no signs to indicate such. We were on a ground level room. There are 3 levels. The upper levels have balconies that either overlook to the outside of the hotel or to the courtyard. The ground floor rooms also have sliding glass doors with a lock and a brace bar. Those facing the outside of the hotel had garden areas in front of their doors, which discouraged used of those doors. The courtyard facing rooms had patios.

We expected our stay to be several days long due to my husband's work.
We were staying in a room with a King Size bed and a pull out double sofa. It was plenty of room for us. The pull-out was about as comfortable as pull-outs get. The bed was super comfortable and I have never slept on pillows as soft. The room also had a lovely desk that pulled out and a large tv. The acoutrements were classy.

The tv had movies to rent. Most of the movies had not yet been released on video, so this was really nice. We spent one evening watching "Finding Nemo." We also spent an afternoon swimming in the hotel pool, which was extremely clean. My only complaint was that the whirlpool was too hot and they didn't turn it down when we asked.

The breakfast was amazing! There was a selection of danishes, muffins, eggs, bacon, spreads, and more. It was an outstanding continental breakfast. However, in the future, this will be a breakfast you have to pay for. I'd rather go to a restaurant and get something made to order.

Overall, this was a really great hotel to stay at and I would recommend it to anyone. The construction was not a problem for us. I could not even tell where they were working at the time.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
1  Thank Fparedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled on business
Thank Sander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: 道路から遠く中庭に面した部屋がお薦めです。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TetsuoMatsumoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mahwah

Address: 140 State Rt 17, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: $111 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mahwah 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriot Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Mahwah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing