We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A reliable choice in Mahwah”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Mahwah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Mahwah
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A reliable choice in Mahwah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed one night at Courtyard Mahwah during our shopping trip to Woodbury. The hotel is surprisingly popular during certain time of the week. We actually wanted to extend our stay for one more day and wasn't able to do so. The hotel is located with convenient access to highway 287. The little courtyard surrounded by te buildings are nice and the swimming pool looks very nice though we haven't got any time to enjoy it unfortunately. The room is quite sizable and our room located in 1st floor has direct access to the courtyard.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the courtyard not the busy/noisy highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvwei1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear that our guests have had a positive experience with us. As you mentioned it does get busy during the week at our property and while we welcome the opportunity of extended stays we do sell out presenting the inability to do honor them. We hope next time we can accommodate you.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    72
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
25
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard in Mahwah using Marriott points. There was no difference between this "free" stay and a "paid" stay -- accomodations were great, staff was great. The layout of the room made it appear dated, but on closer look everything was up to date and immaculate. Staff at the Bistro was extremely pleasant for breakfast, and the food was great and served quickly. The only downside -- it would have been nice to have a refrigerator in the room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBRONH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is so good to hear complimentary things about our service and amenities. You are correct, a "reward" stay is no different than a "paid" stay when it comes to service and guest appreciation. I must apologize that your room did not have a fridge, we typically have one in each room. As we strive to give our guests the best possible experience, we hope that you will consider a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for three weeks on business. The staff was very accommodating with making the stay pleasant. The hotel is conveniently located near nice restaurants that support any budget.

I would recommend this hotel for any stay, when in Mahwah, this is my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit feedback. We especially appreciate your complimentary review. Our business travelers are important to us and while we understand that being away from home isn't always easy, it is gratifying to know that we are performing well to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We are happy that we can provide an affordable, convenient and comfortable option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel. It was newly renovated and love the decor. Check-in was quick. The room was spotless clean and so are the bathroom. We stayed facing the highway no problem with the sound from the vehicles and since it was a holiday weekend and the room have a noise and light block curtain. My husband attended a family party and came home at around 2 am. It took more than 3 hours to fall asleep because of the horrible air conditioning unit. It was so loud when it is running. Not so happy with this specially I have to wake up the next day and check-out before by 12 noon.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mads b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your stay. Whether short or long term, we always want to make sure we can make our guests stay as pleasurable possible. Happy that the accommodations and service was positive, I was not aware that there was an issue with the air conditioning unit and sorry you experienced any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We showed up late and had no reservations, but were nonetheless welcomed by the friendly staff. The hotel room was clean - checked for bedbugs (everyone should) and found none. Stayed one night and would stay there again.

The only thing that I would wish, not just at this particular hotel, is for all receptionists to automatically inform their customers of the hotel WiFi password so that we don't have to ask.

Room Tip: Had a room on the first floor at the end of a wing. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. We are glad that we were able to afford you with a room during an unexpected stay with us. I am glad you were happy with your experience and appreciate your feedback. For the most part our brand is standardized and the Marriott family of companies take pride in the quality of service and accommodations we can offer our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I am currently staying at this hotel for a business related training and my experience has been great! Room is clean, beds are comfortable, air runs cold and most importantly everyone is so nice! Dave, who is part of the front desk staff couldnt be more accomodating! He has driven my group and I to and from our destinations everyday and does it with a smile! I truly believe that staff plays a huge part in how your stay is. I highly recommend this hotel and hopefully will return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vsmith0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. We value your feedback and especially like to hear when our staff is making a difference to go out of the way to afford our guests an enjoyable stay. Dave is an exemplary staff member and prides himself in being accommodating. We are lucky to have him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel is literally right off highway 17, which makes it convenient to travel to and from. Room was spacious and clean. It did not have a view, but it was comfortable and the internet connection was strong (free wi-fi, so can’t really complain.) The décor looks dated and there was no free water in the room, but the outstanding service made up for that. The fitness center was small and served its purpose. The pool area was very clean and roomy. The hotel layout could feel like a maze, depending on which room you are assigned, but there are exit doors on every corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the feedback. We always like to hear the consistent compliments of our staff's efforts and the logistical convenience to all. Where we can strive to improve the guest experience, we always try. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Should you find yourself looking for lodging in the area again, we hope you will return to our Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mahwah

Property: Courtyard Mahwah
Address: 140 State Rt 17, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mahwah 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriot Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Mahwah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing