We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Class, and Style!”
Review of Courtyard Mahwah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Mahwah
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Omaha, NE
213
Reviewed August 25, 2003

My husband had a work engagement in Sterling Forest, NY. His employer booked us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Mahwah, New Jersey. We were given the heads up by other people in his office that the hotel was under construction. We imagined the worst.

We were surprised. We checked into the hotel at an early hour of 11am, having driven up from Ocean City, NJ. They allowed us to check in with no troubles. The hotel "front desk" was temporarily relocated to a conference room. I think we were given a non-smoking room, but there were no signs to indicate such. We were on a ground level room. There are 3 levels. The upper levels have balconies that either overlook to the outside of the hotel or to the courtyard. The ground floor rooms also have sliding glass doors with a lock and a brace bar. Those facing the outside of the hotel had garden areas in front of their doors, which discouraged used of those doors. The courtyard facing rooms had patios.

We expected our stay to be several days long due to my husband's work.
We were staying in a room with a King Size bed and a pull out double sofa. It was plenty of room for us. The pull-out was about as comfortable as pull-outs get. The bed was super comfortable and I have never slept on pillows as soft. The room also had a lovely desk that pulled out and a large tv. The acoutrements were classy.

The tv had movies to rent. Most of the movies had not yet been released on video, so this was really nice. We spent one evening watching "Finding Nemo." We also spent an afternoon swimming in the hotel pool, which was extremely clean. My only complaint was that the whirlpool was too hot and they didn't turn it down when we asked.

The breakfast was amazing! There was a selection of danishes, muffins, eggs, bacon, spreads, and more. It was an outstanding continental breakfast. However, in the future, this will be a breakfast you have to pay for. I'd rather go to a restaurant and get something made to order.

Overall, this was a really great hotel to stay at and I would recommend it to anyone. The construction was not a problem for us. I could not even tell where they were working at the time.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 225 of 225 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
1  Thank Fparedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled on business
Thank Sander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: 道路から遠く中庭に面した部屋がお薦めです。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TetsuoMatsumoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chico67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mahwah

Address: 140 State Rt 17, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: $135 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mahwah 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriot Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Mahwah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing