We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here before but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Mahwah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Mahwah
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Manasquan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Been here before but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been here several times before but are becoming extremely dissatisfied with the hotel. The desk clerk wasn't very accomodating - we asked for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor but were told only 1st floor was available. To take the luggage cart, we had to circle the entire outside of the hotel to get to the ramp in the rear as the hotel has interior stairs not cart accessible. The rear ramp and door was "blocked" by other guest with boats on trailers. When we told the desk clerk about this, he was more interested in playing on the internet than resolving the issue. The price increased to $95 with tax and for that price, we expected a little more than what we got. There was no fridge or microwave in our room, the coffee maker was questionable, the floors were dirty between bed and walls and our cat found several pieces of garbage to play with under the beds. The heat/AC unit was not in very good condition as the levers on the it were broken and I had to use a knife to get the heat lever to move. And there is very iimited stations on the TV. At least this time, the internet was working okay. Breakfast is limited to toast, some danish and cereal so your best bet is the McDonald's next door. While the location is very convenient and it is still cheaper that the other hotels in the area, I am extremely disappointed in this Super 8 and will try my damnest not to waste my money here again. Pet friendly and cheaper and worth it to go to the Red Roof in Pine Brook off Rt. 46. (In an additional note - this Super 8 was busted in the last year for a prostituion ring working out of here!)

Room Tip: You may have to argue with the front clerk to get what you want - and that may not even work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginny110411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie R, General Manager at Super 8 Mahwah, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am sorry your stay was not to your liking. We do try very hard to accomodiate all of our guests wishes. Unfortunately we are sometimes very busy and it is not always possible to do so. The luggage cart could have been taken up he 3 steps to help you out , Most of our guests are more than willing to move if they are asked to. The men charging the boat did in fact have the room on the corner. Parking is always first come first serve. Our new super start breakfast has really been a big hit. Whole wheat bread , white bread , Eggo Waffles , Super 8 cinnimon rolls, Cheeros , Frosted Flakes,Quaker variety oatmeal , Yoplait Yougart and Dole Fruit cups are the favorites. We also added Peanut Butter and we have an assortment of jellies , and Syrup for the waffles. We have fresh coffee , reg & decaf as well as hot tea with honey & lemon and Swiss Miss hot chocolate. We have something for everyone! It is a good thing that many things have changed since last year when you last stayed. We revonated our rooms , we are under a new GM and our customer service scores are higher than they have ever been. So much so that we are usually sold out every weekend. I am sure you will enjoy the Red Roof Inn , which is a good 35-40 minutes more south off of Rt 287 on Rt 46 E in Parsippany. It used to be the old Howard Johnsons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    76
    63
    21
    30
See reviews for
77
56
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was hesitant in staying at the Super 8 after reading some of the reviews but I am glad I booked the room. The room and the bathroom was clean and comfortable with complimentary coffee in the room. There are also vending machines on the main floor. The front desk associate ( K. Rose) was friendly, courteous and efficient. I will stay at the Super 8 again. There is also a Mc Donalds a few feet away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Lydia26 S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. The location was very convenient for me and that was the reason I chose this place. Rooms were clean and decent , for some reasons the beds were really really comfortable., The staff was courteous and always smiling. The breakfast area was a little tight but that gorgeous General Manager, Jackie made up for it with all the information she was able to provide and her cheerfulness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kool P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie R, General Manager at Super 8 Mahwah, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us . We go out of our way to make sure all of our guests are happy. I hope you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Corners, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight on business, superb location within close proximity to 87/287/17 nys. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Price was $89 which was a little high for what it was but then again look at what area you're in, the Double Tree was right next door @ $135per night. It's not the Ritz so don't expect luxury, it's a clean hotel w/friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlg72085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I can not believe this place is in buisness. The staff is horrible, they treat you like trash no matter how nice you are to them. I stayed there for few days and the only human being I spoke with the whole time I was there was a young lady at the front desk named sarah. The management staff seem to have no idea what they are talking about or how to run a buisness. They just hired a new manager and she is even more rude the the last one. The rooms were dirty and had fleas and bed bugs. The whole hotel smelled like ciggarettes, the breakfast was disgusting, and the Keys never work! Every time you come into the building you have to walk all the way around and reactivate your keys because they refuse to fix the key machines. I guarded my key making sure it never came near a cell credit card or magnet the hotel just uses that as an excuse to hide their poor management. This whole place is digusting and the staff are monsters. If Super 8 knows anything about running a buisness they would replace that staff immediately!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawyerGirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie R, General Manager at Super 8 Mahwah, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I am sorry you had a bad experience at our Hotel . We have resolved many personell issues . Our over all guest approval rating since I took over in April has topped each and every month compared to last year. Our new Super Start Breakfast has been a great hit. We recieved a 100% in Housekeeping in our yearly review in April. We are a pet friendly Hotel and our 3rd floor is smoking. The Hallways are not air conditioned and air flow is limited. The rooms however do not have any problems.We have recently been renovation some of the areas and we are looking really good. I hope you try us again so we can really impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahwah hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed two nights for work in the area, Although the room was clean there where bed bugs. I received multiple bites from my foot and ankle up to forearm and back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gratefulchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie R, General Manager at Super 8 Mahwah, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Sorry for your bad stay at our Hotel. Since your stay we have renovated many rooms, made staff changes , started your Super Start Breakfast and have a regular inspection for any kind of pests. Our entire staff has been retrained on the most recent precautions for pest controll. Hope you take a chance and stay with us again ou will be pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahwah hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 8 in Mahwah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#3 of 8 in Mahwah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mahwah

Property: Super 8 Mahwah
Address: 160 State Route 17 South, Exit 202 Mahwah off Route 17, Mahwah, NJ 07430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mahwah 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Mahwah Hotel Mahwah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing