We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Crazy Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times - and never a problem - until 2 weeks ago.

Upon check-in, I was told I had a non-smoking room. I asked 3 times of the clerk and was assured that it was non-smoking. As soon as I opened the door it was clear - this is a smoking room. I called the front desk - the clerk was "surprised". She called me right back, there was a mistake - come back to the front desk.

I arrived, was given a new key - a non-smoking room. I went to that room, opened the door - a smoking room - uhg! I then returned to the front desk where I was told they didn't have any more non-smoking rooms.

Here is what they did for me: They planned for me to pick up keys to a room the next morning and when I returned from the office, that room (a non-smoking room) would be ready for me.

Of course, that next morning - the manager and clerk on duty didn't have a clue - there was no communication between shifts. They were obviously perplexed and the manager made a decision - giving me a key to a room and stating - it is ready now - I was shocked! "Ready now!?!" - "yes" was the reply. I went to check it out - this is 7:45am - I went to that room and it was ready and non-smoking. This room was obviously unused all night - there is no way the cleaning crew did this room that morning already - no way!!!!

Moral of this story - like all hotels in the Mahwah area, get there early and check-in. I have been travelling to the area regularly since 1998 and have had this happen at nearly every hotel there. This is a first for the homewood. Once I had a non-smoking room, it was as pleasant as ever.

I won't comment on smoking or smokers - but sheeesh!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thew0nderdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 546 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Stockton, Calif
25
Reviewed August 23, 2004

As a frequent traveler (Diamond Hilton Honors), I have always enjoyed the Homewood Suites hotels. I had the pleasure of staying at this Mahwah, NJ hotel in July 2003. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff was professional and accomodating. If I am in the New York City area in the future, I will stay here. I highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Troy, New York
27
Reviewed December 17, 2003

What a lovely hotel! The rooms are actually two rooms with a kitchen in them. This was terrific so I could heat up my one year old's formula.
The breakfast was fantastic and free. And the staff was extremely helpful. Would definetely stay there again when I'm visiting my relatives in Mahwah.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nats_wj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_strauss, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_strauss, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank rachid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 21, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 21, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
228 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah

Address: 375 Corporate Dr, Mahwah, NJ 07430-2012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: $128 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Mahwah is conveniently located less than 5 miles from Darlington Golf Course, Ramapo College of New Jersey and Campgaw Ski Mountain in Mahwah, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks and complimentary Wi-Fi. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center, outdoor pool, & putting green. Explore many Mahwah area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Hilton Mahwah
Homewood Suites Mahwah
Homewood Mahwah
Mahwah Homewood Suites
Mahwah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing