We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff exceeds them all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel itself is just 2/12 years old - nice - new, clean, fresh. The breakfast room is bright and pleasant and food, a good mix of hot and cold offerings.

That said...what I want to talk about is the staff. With special recognition to the Assistant General Manager Michael Ross. While at the hotel we were faced with a personal emergency. Michael was at our door in minutes, lending strength, calmness, and genuine concern. He was amazing...so utterly unusual in this day and age to find such compassion from a stranger. He is an asset to this business - my highest praises.

The front desk staff - efficient and gracious, the manager - sincere and appreciative, the breakfast room staff - personable and on top of things, and housekeeping - quiet and diligent.

Highly recommend this Hampton, they are all good, but this staff exceeds them all. We have stayed in a number of area motels, but from this point on when in the area, Hampton Inn & Suites of Mahwah is the palce we will choose.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 508 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stay in north Jersey a few times a month. I just recently tried this property and I was not disappointed. The staff is helpful and friendly. The location great. the morning breakfast is the best at any Hampton I have stayed at. Stay here and you will not be sorry you did.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Manager at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.
Room was spotless clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable and cozy. Pillows were a bit firm to my taste, but I always travel with my own pillow...
Bathroom was very clean. LCD TV, wireless internet, comfortable working desk and chair.
Plenty of parking. Safe.
Breakfast was served downstairs... we decided not to eat it - it was too crowded there- bus load of tourists.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onnekas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had 2 rooms at this hotel for a family gathering in a nearby town. We arrived early and rooms were not ready. Michael the Assistant General Manager was so helpful... he took the time to move our rooms around so we could check in right away and we ended up being right next to each other! It was perfect. He also happened to be on the next morning when we checked out. He does a great job!!
The hostess at breakfast was very efficient... unfortunately I do not remember her name. A couple of bus loads of tourists hit the buffet right before we did and let me tell you; they wiped it out! The hostess quickly replenished all the items and we did not have to wait but a minute or two to get everything we wanted.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelpro18411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently spent two nights here in a huge suite-type room with a very large kitchenette, gigantic desk, living space, wonderful bed and very large dressing area with separate bath and toilet.

Our room was at the end of the hall and thus very quiet.

There was ample parking and the hotel appeared fairly new and very clean.

There was a hair in the corner of our toilet/bath area, and a large contingent of bus tourists kept the tea and coffee area at the front desk depleted, but I can't think of anything else to complain of. It was very nice and I was happy to be there.

Room Tip: It seemed that rooms at the end of the halls would be quietest. Ours was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel was great. The front desk staff, especially the Manager were all friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. The hotel is clean, beautiful and offered a delicious buffet breakfast. We had fun in the pool too! We will definitely return to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed there for our weekend of Woodbury outlet shopping and NYC trip. Love it! Friendly staff, nice big room (we got the suite!), comfy bed, hot breakfast buffet and good coffee. All these with such unbeatable price! Very family friendly hotel.
It would have been perfect until our last night of stay a fire alarm rang at 5am :p It was tough for us because we had to drive back home that day (7+ hours).
Still, I would give it a 5 star excellent rating. It wasn't their fault :)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank kamanchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahwah hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 8 in Mahwah
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah

Address: 290 Route 17 & Corporate Dr., Mahwah, NJ 07430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: $123 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal among hotels in Mahwah, our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 111 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Hampton Inn And Suites Mahwah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing