We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad ventilation”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My pet peeve in motels - bad ventilation, heating and AC. It's very bad here, the kind that bangs on and off all night and won't stay on steady. At least the windows open up wide here, BUT if you are facing route 17 it is too noisy with the window open. If you have a room in the back it's still noisy but OK with ear plugs. Breakfast - the usual fake food.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank z1307z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family and I went to the Renaissance Faire in Tuxedo Park and stayed at the Comfort Suites for 1 night. We were able to get a great deal on Expedia for 2 rooms on a Saturday (1 King Room @ $89 and 1 Double Room @ $99).

+ Centralized location. 25 minute drive to both the Renaissance Faire and Woodbury Common Outlet
+ Large and spacious rooms
+ Includes hot breakfast - the waffles were a nice touch :)
+ Friendly staff

We had a great experience, and would definitely recommend the Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faybeewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed 2 nights on a business trip on Aug. 2012. The room was nice large and clean. However, it was on the highway side. I woke up every time a truck went by, and that highway 917) is busy all the time. When I talked to front desk they said "next time you can ask for a room at the back side". Well, couldn't you tell me that before checking in? The hotel wasn't full on that weekend.
I asked to check out at 2pm as I had some other duties in the area. They were willing to give me till 12:30 only. Yes, they don't have to, but the hotel wasn't full and they could be nice.
So - if you get a room at the back and don't have any special needs, youll probably be OK.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the highway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

we are a family of 6 so finding a hotel room is never easy. We came to this hotel thru the reservation center of super 8.

The room we had was a suite with two double beds and a pull-out, which was perfect for our needs. it was a clean room with modern furnishings, no complaints there.

The price was really good for the area, we extended our stay for a second night and they gave us an even better price.

The included breakfast is the best we've had in an hotel of this kind, at least there were eggs and sausages so we could have proteins, not only toasts, cereals and muffins.

The only downside is being on the 17, what a noisy place. Trucks can be heard during the night, light sleepers bring your earplugs.

The manager was really helpful in planning a day-trip to New York city which is only 40 minutes away. He took the time to show us an itinerary and gave us some pointers on the "must-see" in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauricecote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

A nice comfortable hotel with bedroom, sitting area with small fridge, and bathroom.
We arrived at 1:00 AM and were greeted warmly and efficiently. Breakfast in the morning was quite good. I made a sausage "McMuffin" with English Muffin, egg, and sausage patty. Many other breakfast items also available, but alas, no waffle maker! One suggestion: Try to get a room in the back away from the highway; it would be quieter. Did I mention the frienly staff!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fosoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

love the beds breakfast in the morning was good price a little high with little to.no.negotiations with the front desk typical Jersey

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The best asset of this property is the staff! They were extremely pleasant and helpful. The cookies at check-in were nice, but a little stale. Our room was clean and as expected, but nothing special. We hate the tiny pillows some of these hotels give you as this place did, so our rating cannot be higher. We wonder why they don't give you a full size pillow? Breakfast was good, but a typical continental breakfast. I have traveled a lot and this facility is a little above average which is why I rated the hotel very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QBConsultants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
1.7 mi away
Best Western The Inn At Ramsey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 220 Route 17 Southbound, Mahwah, NJ 07430
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: $98 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Mahwah
Comfort Suites Mahwah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing