We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms good location”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

love the beds breakfast in the morning was good price a little high with little to.no.negotiations with the front desk typical Jersey

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 132 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

The best asset of this property is the staff! They were extremely pleasant and helpful. The cookies at check-in were nice, but a little stale. Our room was clean and as expected, but nothing special. We hate the tiny pillows some of these hotels give you as this place did, so our rating cannot be higher. We wonder why they don't give you a full size pillow? Breakfast was good, but a typical continental breakfast. I have traveled a lot and this facility is a little above average which is why I rated the hotel very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QBConsultants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

we spent a lovely weekend in this hotel. the room was big and neat. Front desk was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Oct 29 Saturday we got the freak snow storm in Bergen County NJ no power and then big tree brought down power, phone and cable lines to my house. It's time to go to the hotel and Comfort Suites was the only one available at this time. First night in - we were asking to book the only available room for 2 nights with the option to cancel second night but we were told by the gentleman on the front desk we will not get a refund. This why we were booking one night at at time. All the time when we were extending our stay we were asking for either AARP or AAA rate which is proudly displayed on corporate website but again we were told that manager is not allowed to use these rates. On the morning of 10/31 I asked gentleman on the front desk to give us discount he said no and quoted the same rate as on prior night $139.99 + tax, but out shear surprise next morning during check out we discovered that the rate was changed to $159.99 + tax. As far as parking goes - on the second night lady on the frontdesk told us "she doesn't care" - park at any place (nothing about having the guest park in the next door lot???). One of the worst experiences was on the night of 10/31 at 7:00 PM being told "by the way you have to check out tomorrow your room is already booked"?!!!!!). We have to scramble to look for the room all over Mahwah, Ramsey and Paramus. What a way to treat the customers and senior citizens. The Hotel is on Route 17 you can hear the noise from it also getting in and out is not for the faint of heart. In the mornig one person is handling check out and breakfast which was nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marcian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We visited this hotel found a bug in our room. Everything else was perfect. My wife did not want to stay in the room after this incident. The front desk came to the room resolved the bug issue and gave us a key (already in his pocket) to a different room! We made the request and he handed over the key in a second.

The staff was great during breakfast. They helped with the waffle maker after someone had made a mess. Breakfast was good.

TV channel selection was decent. Did not use wireless internet.

Location: it is near a gas station and on a very busy road. It is a little difficult to find it. So pay attention when you are driving.

Overall, It is a good hotel for a good price and excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JatGoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Theives. Manager told me that I could check out one day early. They charged me for the original number of nights then refused to refund the money telling me there was no proof that I checked out early. Practically laughing at me while he told me this. Obviously does this all the time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank 637travelingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Checked in late in the night. The room was large, lots of space - clean. There was quite a bit of noise from the highway, even with the windows closed. Depends on which side of the building you are on.

Fitness center is good. Treadmills + weight machine.

Breakfast is good too. Good start to the day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
225 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 220 Route 17 Southbound, Mahwah, NJ 07430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: $112 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Mahwah
Comfort Suites Mahwah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing