We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't follow your nose to the rose”
Review of Garlic Rose - CLOSED

Garlic Rose
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Your trip to Garlic Rose is sure to satisfy your hunger. Our lunch menu offers something for the whole family with delicious garlic infused entrees and much more. Our unique take on one of the most tasteful herbs available is what makes us one of the most interesting restaurants in Madison. The Garlic Rose is sure to impress with our unique flavors and creativity.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“Don't follow your nose to the rose”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was hesitant about dining at the GR since the past couple of experiences were not so good. Decided to give it another shot since Rob's was closed for a private event.

The place is anything but warm and romantic. It feels really dated. The carpet is muck brown and the restaurant is uninviting. The service was good this time around though. Looks like they have younger staff now. In the past, service had been awful. The pictures of food on their website look nothing like the food they serve. The food is just ok. Nothing special. Probably won't be coming back, sorry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EscapeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you like Garlic, you will like Garlic Rose. The food is very good as is the service. This is a bit expensive but the food is worth it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was good...”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This a quaint little restaurant. The service was prompt and friendly. The food was good. I especially liked the garlic relished served with the bread. I would definitely suggest it to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Well_In4med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently went here with a few friends and I will never go back! Worst service ever, the hostess, waitress and staff were completely rude and very unprofessional. The food was horrible and way over priced! The entrees were $30 - so not worth it! The room is so small and they shove way too many people in there. Also, there was absolutley no parking available. My friends and I were extremely disappointed! We will never go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice small town restaurant”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I took my folks to the Garlic Rose for dinner to celebrate their 67th anniversary on Monday 9/17/12. The staff was very good and provided an excellent dining experience for us. The food was incredibly well prepared and delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garlic Rose also viewed

 
Madison, Morris County
Madison, Morris County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing