We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next-door to Resto and a great alternative ...”
Review of Rob's Bistro - CLOSED

Rob's Bistro
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Waverly Place
Transit: Madison Train Station is only one block away.
Description: A French Bistro located in downtown Madison
Madison, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Next-door to Resto and a great alternative ...”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It's menu is diverse and quite varied. If I can't get into Resto, I choose this at a close second! The two restaurants share the same chef/owner, and he's never put a mediocre plate on the table!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintlySins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Often very good, but on an off night, take away a star.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rob's strives to be something that most French restaurants distain - to be a down to earth and accessible bistro where people can dine, converse and relax. When the food, service and ambience crystallize, it leads to a memorable night of delicious food and great company. Unfortunately, within the past year, there has been inconsistency with the quality of the food. For starters, our favorites are the onion soup, mixed greens and arugula, candied walnuts & truffled honey. I'd choose the smoked trout salad over the salad nicoise. For entrees, the duck confit can be superb if it is an "on" night. The duck is crispy and delicious. Other dishes which are safe bets are: steak frites, the mussels and the roast chicken. By far, the most successful dessert is the chocolate mousse.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank fred_shahrooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good steaks, a bit overpriced”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Food is very good, service is above average and the steaks are good. Prices are a bit on the high side and everything is ala carte. Not as up-scale as Morton's but just as pricey.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank khcarlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Rob's Bistro is a gem of a find”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I decided to head to Madison for dinner recently. There are plenty of options to choose from on Main Street and beyond, but we wanted something different from our usual picks.

We headed to Rob's Bistro for French cuisine. The place is very low key with about a dozen tables and some classic paintings for sale on the walls. The menu is small, but I guess that's what keeps the food consistant. Overall, I would say that Rob's was a very good dining experience.

The escargot appetizer made with tons of garlic and oil are outstanding. I recommend you get two of those instead of sharing! The french onion soup was very hearty and had a rich, dark broth (which I prefer for my onion soups) and came in a large portion. The moules frittes (mussels and fries) in garlic broth were fresh and tasty. My steak frittes entree with au poivre sauce was cooked very nicely, however, it was a bit too salty. The fries were very crisp, thin cut and satisfying.

As for the desserts we had the crepes with a red wine, blueberry sauce and a fresh strawberry napoleon with chantilly cream. Both were very rich and delicious.

I would recommend that you give Rob's a try if you are looking for something different in Madison.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBlacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Has the potential to improve”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

An informal French BYOB bistro in the Morristown area sounds like "can't miss" . Its sister restaurant -a bit more upscale , similar menu with more choices- is literally next door. Rob's service is friendly, and except when crowded, pretty efficient. The layout is as nondescript as the artwork on the walls. Hard surfaces on floor and ceiling allow a din when it's crowded. The pricing is decent value. The food a bit uneven. The best, (onion soup, escargot, house burger, steak frites) pretty darn good. Some bistro staples (the tartine, the smoked trout salad) pretty ordinary. Sole and salmon are favored here but,depending on the dish, results vary. Desserts are uniformly first rate and the white chocolate terrine outstanding. Warning: my wife's best friend and I agree on nothing from politics to art to stand-up comics. Yet we were unanimous that what the menu calls rice pilaf, served with a number of entrees, is plain ol' white rice period. They do enough right, and are young enough to build on the strengths here and do well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rob's Bistro also viewed

Madison, Morris County
Madison, Morris County
 
Madison, Morris County
Madison, Morris County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing