We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but needs to be updated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Meadowlands
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel reminds me of the movie, "Joy Ride". The hotel reminded me of the hotel in the movie. It was scary. But I eventually got used to it. The bed was somewhat hard. But it was ok. I only could stay one night. I couldn't stay longer than one day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweets89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 146 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Although the hotel is not very close to New York itself, the access to NY Port Authority by bus 190 and 192/199 is excellent. Takes only 30 minutes and you pay 4 dollars one way.
The hotel is basic, simple, things work, even the wireless.
Rooms are clean, staff are slightly distant, sometimes I felt like I was just seen as a bother to them.
Breakfast is minimal, hate plastic plates, cups and forks. Coffee is nothing more than brown water. But ok, you get what you pay for.
I turned down the volume on the annoying music myself, don't need a disco noise at breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms on the outside are quiet, separated from then outdoor by a glazed corridor. There is a po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Yes the Quality Inn and yes it is dated. Found the staff friendly and helpful. Room was dated as all the Q Inns I have been to but then that is what I expected so no complaints here. Had breakfast in the hotel Restrauant (called Harolds) and opted for the "I pay" vs "what the hotel provided with coupon". Found the food good and priced right!

Only issue was had to jiggle the TV cable to get a picture.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Traveling in North Jersey, you'd expect to pay a lot for a hotel. This one offers a surprisingly nice experience for the competitive price. The room is quiet and clean (even though it's an older design). The fan runs constantly, which helps lull you to sleep. The coffee maker works well. The shower is strong and hot. The front desk acts like they're happy to see you. What more could you want?

If you need fancy & modern, go somewhere else. If you like clean, quiet and very functional, this is your place.

Room Tip: Fronts on to Polito RD which is a little busy, but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We like to stay at Choice Hotels due to their Choice Privileges. We went to a NY Giants game and this hotel is in a great location for MetLife Stadium. Unfortunately, that is the hotels best asset. Although the staff at the front desk were very polite and accommodating, they were having trouble with their software and check-in took quite a bit of time. No big deal and probably a one-time incident.

Our reservation was for a non-smoking king room. When we got to the room door, there was a no smoking sign by the door. Apparently, a previous guest didn't see that as the room wreaked of cigarette smoke. A call to the front desk resulted in maintenance man bringing an ionizer to the room in about five minutes. We appreciated his promptness, but after letting the noisy machine run for over 30 minutes, it didn't do much to rid the room of the stench.

The bed and pillows were fine, but the bathroom was gross and badly needs some renovation. The caulking around the shower was gobbed on, the anti-slip adhesive strips on the bathtub floor were peeling off and bordered by black, which I assume is dirt or mildew from a lack of routine proper cleaning. Going w/o a shower during our stay was a better option than getting in the shower.

The Continental breakfast was so-so. Downside - white bread only and white bread only bagels were already toasted, sitting cold in a pan next to the toaster. There was small containers of yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cold cereal and hot oatmeal available.

Overall, I will look for other options for accommodations if we return for a Giants game next season.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADKTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Although the hotel is very close to the bus line into nyc, it is in need of a good cleaning and updated. I beleive they have updated, looks like they tried to cover things up. Room smelled like mold, same smell in the hallway. I would not recommend! I would not recommend the restaurant attached, Harolds.. very very dirty. When unwrapping my silverware, a roach came out and the server really didn't care.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This Quality Inn was clean and provided the basics. If you need a place to crash for the night, get a reasonably comfortable bed and a room that takes care of your needs, it's okay. You can walk right in and out of the side doors of this hotel, meaning that there wasn't much going on in terms of security, but I felt safe. (Yes, I'm a guy who is tall and not a likely target to get hassled by people, but I can see how people would express concerns about the easy access and somewhat isolated feeling. ) For what it's worth, the people staying there seemed cool and friendly and nothing to complain about except for the occasional idiot who might smoke in a hallway area where he or she shouldn't be doing that. My non-smoking room had no smoking odor at all.)
The hotel location isn't particularly interesting, but it's convenient enough for transportation and reaching major roadways by car. It's about a ten minute drive from The Meadowlands.
I had to stay overnight for business purposes. The hotel design is a little odd with glass corridors running all around to lines of rooms with a small outdoor pool in the middle. The maze of corridors feels a little like one of those hamster play sets that are made up of plastic tunnels. I agree with other reviewers that having a window into a hallway that has another glass wall looking into a parking lot doesn't provide much light or anything to look at. There's also a tiny exercise room. I had to check out early and missed it, but I heard there's a complimentary breakfast offering that is probably modest but okay.
The bed was clean and pretty comfortable. The room furnishings were adequate and there's a tube television with a remote. The WIFI was pretty good. The room includes the usual items such as clean towels, cups, one of those little coffee makers that makes some caffeinated swill to wake you up. You know how it is: Don't expect quality flavor. Just add the sugar and fake creamer for a little jolt to get you going. The plumbing's a little noisy and if some of the other guests are loud, the sound tends to travel a bit. Overall, it wasn't very noisy. If you're going to rely on the room's alarm clock make sure it works (mine didn't because it was barely audible), or just ask the desk for a wake-up call.
The lobby is fairly pleasant and I had to laugh when I saw a rack of tourist brochures and one of them was inviting me to visit Newark! There were also some of the typical NYC attraction brochures for plays, museums, etc. Some of the folks I work with were there too and we hung out on the coaches in the lobby and had some fun eating together in the restaurant when we were all hunkered down there during Hurricane Irene. There's a deli-style restaurant that makes sandwiches and some hot entree items. While the prices seemed more like something you would find in Manhattan, they do make huge sandwiches and the food was pretty good...including the "pickle bar." The people who work in the restaurant were nice too. Try the pastrami sandwich.

Overall... not fancy at all... but it gets the job done, people are courteous and it serves its purposes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
1.3 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
512 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - Rutherford
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - East Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Meadowlands

Address: 10 Polito Ave, Lyndhurst, NJ 07071-3403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $90 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Meadowlands Hotel Lyndhurst
Quality Inn Meadowlands Lyndhurst
Quality Inn Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing