We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to be great!”
Review of Gelone

Gelone
Ranked #11 of 72 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
296 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Never fails to be great!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Gelones is located on the busy main road thru Lyndhurst but tucked behind the doors is a restaurant par excellence. There are daily specials and early bird 3 course prix fixe meals if you are seated before 6 most days. The waiters are non imposing in this BYOB restaurant. Take our time to enjoy your meal. Reservations are very helpful on the busy weekends and holidays and every weekend is busy. It is filled with locals who bring their out of town guests for a great meal. Fish is always fresh and they will try to accommodate special requests within your meal. There is a side room that you can hire out for small parties. It's a solid place to go to time and time again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A great place to bring people together”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My coworker told me to try out Gelone restaurant in lyndhurst so i did.We called and made a reservation for the same night and it was a good thing that we did.The line of people waiting for a table was deep.We didn't wait at all.Our table was ready at the time we requested.The menu was you basic Italian food,pastas with many varieties,clams,calamari,mussels,veal.The appetizers were large enough for two people to share.You could just order a couple of appetizers as your meal should you want to.The food was very fresh and cooked to order.There was a limited menu with just salmon and a steak without the pasta to choose from. The service was very good as well for a place that was packed with people.We saw many large groups with tables of ten.There is outdoor seating directly in front of the restaurant with a small partition separating it from the entance.It was a very clean and friendly atmosphere.It s is a BYOB.There are wine glasses setup on the table when you arrive.We were there for about an hour.The food is not over the top and very affordable $$.Parking is on the street.We parked a block away and walked.Make sure you have a reservation on the weekends.During the week they offer a fixed meal plan

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishwhiskey135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“All I can say is delicious!!!!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Was here in late December and came back for a birthday dinner with a small group. Everyone's appy, meal and dessert was fabulous....from salmon to pasta to chicken. This restaurant never disappoints. Byob makes it affordable and I found the staff to be attentive. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnjpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Many Italian Restaurants but GELONES has it all...Always superb!!! My favorite!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Wow, My favorite! Great service, fabulous food, and reasonably priced. PLUS BYOB!
Chris treats everyone special!
You don't know what you're missing if you haven't tried GELONES...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just an overall good experience.”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Reasonable happy hour prices, good food (not exceptional), and friendly waiters made for an excellent evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConcernedCustomer973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelone also viewed

 

Been to Gelone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing