We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small park! Nice waterfalls!”

Hacklebarney State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Strandhill, Ireland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great small park! Nice waterfalls!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a lovely small park with really good small waterfalls. Some nice easy trails too! I've been here a couple of times with relatives and really enjoy it. Usually seems pretty quiet too! The walk down the rocks is great...you can act like a kid again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank irish_captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great park for a dog walk”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a nice park for a walk with your dog. I havent run into many other people and the trail i took followed a river down to a small waterfall with plenty of spots for our dog to cool down in the water.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonofbaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guardin State NJ
Level Contributor
166 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a great park!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great place to pick nick. Cary in carry out! Waterfalls and nature to bring the well behaved dog. I will be back...who knew this was so close and so fab. Shhh!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HungaryHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
451 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Profoundly beautiful”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

For many visitors, the main attractions probably are the hike to the waterfall on Trout Brook and walking on the massive rocks on the way to the Black River. It’s one of my favorite parks because of the high, thick canopy of hemlock trees and because walking on the boulders in the brook are just too tempting to ignore. On the Saturday afternoon we visited, there were more than a dozen young kids (and parents) climbing over the rocks on the way to the waterfall. There are plenty of picnic areas to stop to enjoy the beauty and the sound of the rushing water. The park is also very popular with dog-walkers. Many of the trails are wide and paved, but I prefer the rocky trails, especially the lower trail on the Black River. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank movieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacklebarney State Park also viewed

Long Valley, Morris County
 

Been to Hacklebarney State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing