We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent the weekend at Ocean Place in Long Branch. Hotel and service was excellent. Buffet breakfast and restuarant had great food. Happening TIkki bar. Free parking and access to beach.

If you stay there ask for a renovated room as they are so much nicer than old ones.

The only negative is that non-hotel guests are allowed to stay on beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBuddy799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    361
    194
    116
    85
See reviews for
384
375
42
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Came here for the night with a friend for a day of relaxation. We arrived at the hotel early and were able to get an early check in. We were in one of the newly renovated rooms. I wasn't too impressed with the room and would def. recommend requesting a newly renovated room as I can't imagine what the non renovated rooms would be like.

The beach access is great. I wish that they sold day passes to come back and enjoy the beach there. Everything seemed to go downhill at lunch. We went to their restaurant outside for lunch around 12pm. Lunch took 2 hours. We requested to speak to a manager countless times and I even went to the front desk twice for help to no avail.

Our relaxing beach/spa day was quickly turned into a stressful afternoon. Additionally, beach service, aside from chairs and umbrellas, was discontinued for the day. I requested the manager call me as they were impossible to find and am still waiting on the call...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Ocean Place and I've been critical in the past of the hotel's run down nature, lack of room amenities and extremely high prices, but this time (by sheer luck) I was given one of the recently renovated rooms, and I have to say, it was a night and day difference. The newly renovated rooms are beautiful. Virtually all of the complaints with the older rooms have been addressed -- there are huge new TVs, new refrigerators (still no microwave), gorgeous and functional furnishings throughout. Considering the prices, the old rooms were embarrassingly dated and bare-bones; we stayed anyway because in spite of that, the views are spectacular (even the coast line rooms that don't directly face the ocean), the pool and beach and waterfront balconies are wonderful, and most of the Jersey Shore's other choices are far worse than the Ocean Place was. These new rooms (10th floor and above for now) are much more commensurate with the hotel's prices. Though the hotel's staff is predominantly quite young, the service they gave to us was flawless. The Ocean Place is still not a five star resort, but I'm glad to see that the hotel took feedback from its customers regarding the rooms seriously, particularly given its lack of competition along the NJ shore.

Room Tip: Until the entire hotel is renovated, make sure you get a newly renovated room. If you can get an oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbLehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After reviewing the website, Ocean Place (even though the prices seemed high) looked like it was a slice of heaven. This was a long a rough year for my family and I.
My room was changed 3 times due to the following:
1.Bug issue in the bathroom. Ants crawling in my bag and all over the sink.
2.Fire - Alarm lights going off at 2AM. With 2 children and NO instructions it was like being in a nightmare. The kids woke up and were nervous. It was hard enough to get my daughter to stay so close to the ocean after Hurricane Sandy. When I called down to the front desk there was no answer and I couldn't leave the kids..
3. The AC was dripping water and our bags in the closet were literally soaked. All my clothes stunk and of course other then my PJ's that was all I brought with me.
4. The Staff (Other then Michelle) seemed unhelpful and disinterested. In all honesty it was not until MICHELE serviced us that I started to smile.
5. I ordered room service for the kids and every time the order was brought up missing food, drinks, plates etc.

I will say the town is nice and the beach is one of my favorites. BUT for 400 plus a night I was expecting a cleaner room and help moving each time I was moved to the same dingy room. The final move (3) was updated however the linnens were filthy, the bathroom shower leaked water and again we saw ants in the bathroom.

The plan was to stay for a few days and then book a weeks vacation with family and our kids. I think if they had better management the little things would be fixed quickly. When people are spending $$big bucks to vacation they do not want to deal with any of the above. It really stinks bc I love long branch and was looking forward to taking a week off.

Room Tip: request a new room in the BLUE section with a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The first time I visited Long Branch and the Ocean Place was 5 years ago. I enjoyed it very much and have never been disappointed! The hotel, amenities, and Pier Village offer more than any other location at the Jersey shore I've ever been to. I have stayed at the hotel solo, with family and friends and most recently as a couple. The hotel is upscale with live music on the weekends and many other amenities. Everything is convenient and within walking distance and the hotel staff and management is extremely accomodating and very personable and friendly. I've stayed at the Ocean Place twice so far this summer and look forward to going back for more long weekends. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an upscale resort with great service and excellent location in Long Branch. It is defintiely my favorite!

Room Tip: I have stayed in five different rooms over the past 5 years and all the rooms offer virtually simili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After long and tedious school year, my husband and I decided to get away for a few days. After seeing Ocean Place Resort and Spa, it seemed to be just what we were looking for. Unfortunately, I did not read guest reviews until right before we left. But I figured I would wait and judge for myself. Ocean Place has the potential to be a perfect get away, but unfortunately it definitely falls short of perfection. The rooms are highly overpriced for what you get. The room was clean enough, but in desparate need of a makeover, new carpeting, etc. The shower in the bathroom leaked all over the floor. But honestly even though there were many families vacationing there, it was very quiet where our room was located. There was no book in the room that you find in all hotels, to inform you about the attractions in the area, for example: shopping, good restaurants, churches, etc. It was difficult to find an employee to answer any questions. My husband stood waiting for an employee to finish a telephone conversation, so he could ask her some questions abou the spa services. She never acknowledged him, so he left. The "spa" rooms seemed to consist of several oversized closets, nothing like it was presented on the internet website. Overall the hotel was very disappointing, and I would not return to it or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Our corner room was very quiet and the ocean front view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Posie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just stayed at the Ocean Place Resort for over two weeks in June. I first have to praise the customer service at this hotel. Everyone from the Bellboy to the Front Desk staff and beach crew was so extremely nice, helpful and went above and beyond for my family and I. They have a great Tiki Bar, their own beach, a great pool that overlooks the ocean, an indoor pool and spa amenities. The rooms were very clean, but they do need some updating, which I know the resort is starting up again in the Fall. We had a King Sized Bedroom that overlooked the pool and we could also so a great view of the shoreline and ocean and Pier Village. It was a very big room and the sheets and bed were very comfortable. Another thing that I should mention is that you have to go all the way outside on the ground level to get your wristbands and towels for the pool. Having two small children, I wish they could have accommodated me on the same level as the pool. You are in walking distance to great shops and restaurants. I couldn't have been happier and my family and I had a great time! Bravo for the customer service.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 421 and we had a great view of the ocean, pool and the fireworks that go off every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Branch
0.1 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
219 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
312 reviews
5.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cedars & Beeches
Cedars & Beeches
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
83 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
236 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Place Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Place Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Long Branch, NJ 07740-6754
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Place Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from everyday life, and retreat to Ocean Place Resort & Spa in Long Branch, New Jersey- an elegant oasis of white sand beaches, gentle breezes, and enchanting waterfront vistas.Located on a pristine stretch of shoreline, Ocean Place is the premier New Jersey Shore hotel. Select from 256 guest rooms, including five luxury suites, each delightfully and finely appointed.Indulge in limitless recreation at our Jersey beach hotel- including two swimming pools, a private beach, oceanfront promenade, and access to nearby championship golf.Ocean Place offers a tranquil escape in a breathtaking location along the Jersey Shore. Discover the ultimate family vacation and weekend beach retreat - peaceful and refreshing, with a world-class European spa and tantalizing dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Place Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Place Hotel Long Branch
Ocean Place Resort And Spa
Ocean Place Long Branch
Ocean Long Branch
Ocean Place Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing