We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Moths in room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Place Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Certificate of Excellence
New York Metro
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location, Moths in room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a work event. The hotel is extremely overpriced for the room. The room was OK, but when I got there there was a dead moth on the bathroom floor and a live one fluttering by the window.

The rooms and public space is extremely dated.

The boardwalk and beach was very nice. The food we ate there was good. Breakfast and dinner (clam bake on the beach) were much better than lunch.

I think most if not all of the rooms have a view of the beach.

This place could be amazing if they updated things a bit and paid some attention.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asia999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPlace, Manager at Ocean Place Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to tell you that we have started a $15 million renovation, which will continue through this fall and winter that will modernize the entire resort. We're pleased to know that you were able to enjoy one of our signature Clam Bakes. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to inviting you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    346
    185
    108
    83
See reviews for
367
364
41
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here Labor Day Weekend 2012 and loved it! So you can get an idea of our perspective, we are a couple, both 24, with no kids (though it did seem like a great place for families/kids).

Overall Experience: We absolutely loved our time at Ocean Place and wanted to stay longer. It honestly feels like you are not in Jersey but are on some island resort. The hotel was beautiful and accommodating, and Long Branch is an amazing and quaint town that we loved. Yes the hotel was expensive but you are paying for the view, the resort feel and a great time. The hotel itself (not the rooms so much) have an older feel but that's part of the charm, plus you are mostly in your room or out and about. I am very picky with hotels and also a bit cheap and I felt like the money we spent was worth it for the great experience we had. As many people have stated they are doing a multi-million dollar renovation this Fall that did not yet start when we were there. I'm sure that this will make the hotel even more enjoyable and upgrade it; I really do hope though that the prices do not increase next year as a result, since we are already looking forward to going back.

Staff/Check-in/out: Everyone that worked there was super friendly and eager to help. Everyone welcomed us to Ocean Palace and wished us a great stay. We were always attended to promptly. Parking was easy and free for guests. The bellhop was friendly and handled our stuff with care. A good thing about the hotel is that they allow you to use all of their facilities including the beach on the day you check-in before check-in and after you check-out on the last day. The bellhop is happy to hold your stuff for you and they have lockers and showers for changing so you don't lose a vacation day or two being that check-out is at 11am and check-in is at 4pm (like in most hotels). The front desk calls your cell phone as soon as your room was ready (ours was ready an hour early, despite the busy holiday weekend).

Room: we stayed in an ocean view room on the 10th floor. Definitely recommend a top floor and ocean view; the view was stunning and we spent a lot of time on the balcony, which had chairs and a table and was roomy and clean. At night we were able to hear the waves crashing just slightly and it was very peaceful. The room itself and the hotel were spotless; I am grossed out by everything and I felt at home there and even walked around barefoot in the room which is something I never do in a hotel. The bed was also spotless and trust me, I check hotel beds thoroughly. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and we slept and napped very soundly. Provided you with bottled water, coffee machine, toiletries, tons of towels. Huge roomy closet and lots of drawers. A/C worked great. The walls were a little thin and at times we could hear the people next door but nothing too disturbing. The one negative to the room was no fridge and limited outlets for charging phones. Hopefully that will be fixed with the renovations. Other than that the room was perfect.

Beach/Pool: Clean and gorgeous. They give you beach towels (yes it's one per guest but who goes on a beach vacation and doesn't also bring along their own towels? plus there's tons of towels in the room so you can always use those). The workers set up as many lounge chairs and umbrellas as you want, wherever you want on the beach. There are palm trees and the place just has a tropical feel. The one annoying thing was they have to put all of that stuff away by 5pm but they warn you that that's a law in Long Branch so really that's not their fault. We didn't go in the pools but they looked clean and had lifeguards - they also have great ocean views.

Food/Drinks/Entertainment: There is plenty of places to eat here and if you want something else Pier Village is just feet away. The hotel has a traditional indoor, very nice dining room for all meals (Ocean View Restaurant/Palm Court). There is a really nice outdoor restaurant (Terrace Grill?) with a beautiful view and the cover of huge umbrellas, as well as an italian ice hut that also had sandwiches and snacks and was right on the boardwalk. There is an area next to the tiki bar with couches and cushioned chairs where you can order food and drinks that are on a little hill overlooking the boardwalk & the beach - gorgeous! We only had lunch on the resort but the food was excellent. The tiki bar was fun and either had music playing or a band every night until around 1am. A good idea would be to put in a recreation room of some sort during the renovations.

Long Branch/Pier Village: Very cute and quaint town - everything is in short walking distance! They have many great restaurants, cafes, and boutiques. We definitely recommend Turning Point for breakfast, the Corner Cafe for lunch or snacks and Avenue for dinner. Next time we plan to check out McLoone's and Rooney's which both looked great as well. There are a few things in terms of nightlife in Long Branch. First of all it's fun there to just walk around Pier Village and the boardwalk day or night. Avenue is always fun at night but we were there on a holiday weekend and they hiked the cover up to an outrageous $40 each, even if you spend a ton of money on dinner there they don't care... so we decided to not go. McLoone's had a bar and a band that looked fun and was for a bit of an older crowd (we're both 24). Like I said the Tiki Bar is open till 1am and always had a good crowd of people. There's also a wine bar and I believe another lounge just opened recently. Ocean Place also has a Mariner's Lounge that was very "fancy" and country club-ish with a bar, couches, and a few pool tables.

Room Tip: Ocean view on a high floor - you will not regret it. We had a corner room and enjoyed it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCB613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPlace, Manager at Ocean Place Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are please to hear of your experience and thank you for your review. We will be sure to share the review with our staff as well, as it is our ongoing commitment to provide experiences exactly like the one you've described. We look forward to welcoming you back for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

There are many things wrong with this venue. I have no idea where to start! Ok I will begin with the positives. It is easy to get to by car. The boardwalk area was nice and located right next door to pier village. Oh and the lobby was nice. Now the negatives. This place was totally overpriced and I assume because this is Jersey, you pay for the location. I was a bridesmaid for a wedding and this place seemed ideal for the bride... until wedding coordinators were switched two weeks before the wedding. So of course what the previous coordinator promised was not going to be met by the new coordinator. When a bride and her family pay as much as they paid for this location as their wedding venue, you would think that the wedding coordinator would show her face or send an assistant to check up on us while we were getting ready for the big day. The "bridal suite" was not sweet at all. In fact, it was a meeting room with 80's decor. There were no snacks or water or any type of refreshments provided by the venue. Again, it was the little things that count to make this day special for those spending A LOT of money for a memorable event in their lives. One would think that if you spend thousands upon thousands of dollars for an event, the venue would at least provide that said group with water... seriously. The new wedding coordinator... yeah not so friendly. The ball room itself was very nice and the wait staff.. very friendly and respectable. Because it is the Jersey Shore and there were several weddings in that particular area simultaneously, you would think the staff would set up signs outside to direct the guests attending the wedding. How sad is it that guests were getting lost and had no idea where to go. The tiki bar wasn't so bad but the drinks were ridiculously overpriced. I had a Captain and Coke for $9.00!! Really??? Honestly, I would never stay there ever again and I certainly would never hold a special event there. Seriously, this place was not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanquita518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPlace, Manager at Ocean Place Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our beach front location certainly adds to the value of the resort. As you mentioned, it's easily accessible by car as well as New Jersey Transit and the Sea Streak from New York City.

As mentioned in a number of responses, we are in the midst of a $15 million renovation that will dramatically enhance the resort, both inside and out. We do feel the pricing at our Tiki Bar is very competitive with the surrounding area bars & restaurants.

We thank you for your comments regarding the wedding services. We ask that if the bride & groom have specific concerns about the services provided, they contact the hotel directly. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We are here for a wedding. The hotel is quite expensive and, because of extremely loud construction, not worth it. I can't believe they put people in rooms so close to what sounds like drilling through concrete all around our room. Impossible to get any rest even with headphones on. We were not told of the renovation until we heard it and asked. Supposedly it was on the website but we didn't see it so it couldn't have been very obvious. I'm not a particularly picky person but this noise is almost beyond belief. They should never have put people in rooms anywhere near this infernal jack hammering. Unbelievable! The staff left us a letter on day 2 - not when we checked in - explaining about the 'improvements'. They should have told us when we checked in so we could have the choice to change our plans. On top of that they didn't even have our reservation even though we made the reservation on their own website. We had to wait 20 minutes at the front desk while they searched. I can only hope these guys don't work on Sunday so we can have a chance to get some sleep. Obviously I cannot recommend this hotel until all the construction is completed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labtrav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPlace, Manager at Ocean Place Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is our policy to communicate all renovations with our guests. We do apologize for any inconvenience the exterior work caused during your stay. Please contact the hotel directly so we may address your concerns and allow us an opportunity to regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Save your money...this so called "resort" is nothing even close...the rooms are barely average ..the pool area of this "resort" is POOR...and the customer service is horrible at best...
The only thing they have going for them is the beach( which there is hundreds of miles of in NJ..Theirs is nothing special) u could fly to an island for a few days for the same price as a weekend here...completely outrageous

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPlace, Manager at Ocean Place Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. You'll be pleased to know of our $15 million renovation, which will continue through this fall and winter and dramatically enhance guestrooms, public space, spa facilities, and outdoor areas of the property. It’s our on going commitment to provide a positive and memorable experience for our guests, specifically though our customer service. We do apologize for any inconsistency you experienced. We would like an opportunity to address your specific concerns and invite you back. At your convenience, kindly contact the hotel directly. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful location - ocean, beach, boardwalk and ocean view rooms. Impressive lobby, friendly and helpful service. Main issue - rooms badly in need of updating. Also, although no major deficiencies, some small details not attended to. (i.e., no luggage stand in room, no "Do not Disturb" cards on door, in room coffee machine not working properly, etc.). Cab driver told me the property has changed hands numerous times over the last few years - doesn't sound like a good sign necessarily.

If you focus on location, you won't be disappointed. Just adjust your room expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_L639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPlace, Manager at Ocean Place Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We're very excited to inform you that we've started our multi-million dollar, property-wide renovation project that will address the details you mentioned. The resort was purchased by United Capital Corporation in March 2012. The previous owner had the property for over 10 years. Thank you for again your review and we look forward to inviting you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was nice on the main floor with a decent ballroom setup, but the other rooms we were in to prepare/wait for a wedding we attended were less than average (especially for the class the hotel puts itself in). The staff, lobby, restaurant and tiki bar outside were all very nice, but the rooms and hallways are in dire need of some TLC. Water damage was obvious in the rooms and some friends actually had garbage on the floor of their room when they walked in. I would never have my wedding here, nor would I recommend this hotel to anyone, especially with the price per night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XianFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPlace, Manager at Ocean Place Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the majority of our facilities & our staff. You'll be pleased to know of our $15 million renovation, which will continue through this fall and winter and dramatically enhance guestrooms, public space, spa facilities, and outdoor areas of the property. It is disappointing to hear that you would not recommend the resort. We invite you back once renovations are complete so we may have an opportunity regain your business and your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Branch
0.1 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cedars & Beeches
Cedars & Beeches
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Place Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Place Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Long Branch, NJ 07740-6754
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Place Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from everyday life, and retreat to Ocean Place Resort & Spa in Long Branch, New Jersey- an elegant oasis of white sand beaches, gentle breezes, and enchanting waterfront vistas.Located on a pristine stretch of shoreline, Ocean Place is the premier New Jersey Shore hotel. Select from 254 guest rooms, including five luxury suites, each delightfully and finely appointed.Indulge in limitless recreation at our Jersey beach hotel- including two swimming pools, a private beach, oceanfront promenade, and access to nearby championship golf.Ocean Place offers a tranquil escape in a breathtaking location along the Jersey Shore. Discover the ultimate family vacation and weekend beach retreat - peaceful and refreshing, with a world-class European spa and tantalizing dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ocean Place Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Place Hotel Long Branch
Ocean Place Resort And Spa
Ocean Place Long Branch
Ocean Long Branch
Ocean Place Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing