We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really bad pillows”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedars & Beeches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedars & Beeches
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really bad pillows”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Not a bad inn. Nice, clean room, big bathroom. Beautiful wood floors everywhere. Limited amount of kitch. Decent place to stay close to Sea Bright. Breakfast was at individual tables and had a good menu, NYT was available. Paid $190 in early October for a queen room; felt a little over priced. Worst part were the pillows... hard, foam and too thick. Really uncomfortable. Get new pillows before I'll recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elc247, Owner at Cedars & Beeches, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
I wish you had expressed your preference for softer pillows while you were staying with us. We do keep a supply of soft, flatter pillows for those that prefer that type of pillow. We are happy to provide them to anyone who asks or lets us know while making their reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    13
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We recently stayed in Room 6. Place was very clean, including room and common areas. Felt very homey.

Our room was at the back of the house facing the garden, so it was extremely quiet. It was partitioned off from the other rooms on the floor by a separate door just outside our regular room door. That "extra" door slams VERY VERY loudly; fixing that would really make the room just perfectly quiet.

The weather was not hot, but our room was stuffy and too warm during our stay, although the rest of the house including the floor outside that "extra" door was cool and comfortable. Our room had a ceiling fan, but we couldn't identify any other climate control because the thermostat on the wall didn't appear to have any effect. In any event, we came and went at odd hours, and the temp certainly was tolerable if not ideal; so we didn't bother to ask the innkeepers about improving it. I mention it only because others staying in the same room may want to ask about this up front.

I like a soft bed, but ours was too soft for either of us and a little saggy in the middle. We believe a new mattress is in order, but everyone has different preferences, so maybe it's just us.

Breakfast ended too early for us late-sleepers, so I can't comment on it.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay; compared with other B&Bs I've experienced, this one was cleaner and quieter. Would definitely stay here again, especially because location is ideal for our purposes.

Room Tip: Room 6 is in the back of the house facing the garden - nearly silent day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rexaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towaco, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

The huge dying Beech tree precludes what lies ahead, for this is not the best choice, but the only one in the area, and they know it. Without pointing out the many issues with this property, suffice it to say: "Look elsewhere".
For the $$$$ daily charge for a room, this inn should serve a full breakfast, in season, every day, not just the weekends.
The only positives we found here were good coffee and that the place was clean.
'nuf said!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBguy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elc247, Owner at Cedars & Beeches, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
As the name of the property and the many many old estate trees on the property may tell you, we deeply care for our trees and gardens. I thank you for your concern for one of our beeches. For your information, we have had a professional arborist look at the tree. According to him, unfortunately many of the beech trees in this area have suffered from a disease which has killed many of them. With this arborist's advice and help, we are treating the trees with a very special fertilizer, actually only available to arborists and nurseries, a mulching application and trimming the over 100 foot tall tree. There is no guarantee that what we are trying will even work, but we are trying.

In response to the comment about our breakfast, as you know, we do not offer a buffett here or family style service. Rather we offer individually seated table service, and as advertised, a deluxe continental complete with freshly baked muffins, cereals, oatmeal,yogurts, fruit and breads is offered during the midweek mornings, at a price below that of our weekend and holiday dates when a multi-choice full American breakfast of eggs, french toast, pancakes, as well as specialities like Dutch Baby Pancakes, Eggs on a Cloud, Banan French toast is offered. Rather than go into the cost of operation, allow me to say that the variance allows us offer a wider variety of customers that ability to visit Cedars & Beeches, Long Branch and the Jersey shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place was a gem right very close to the beach. We spent one night here when we were doing a road trip exploring the east coast during the fall. wished we would have stayed longer. Our room was a beautiful victorian style, very spacious, quiet and lots of windows. It really brought me back in time.

The town offered lots of restaurants and things to do. Our trip through Long Branch was a highlight!

The owners were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was exceptional in such a warm and inviting environment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We booked at the very last minute and were pleasantly surprised to find everything organized when we arrived late at night. The morning revealed a stunningly well kept property, a great breakfast and a very warm and welcoming host.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_furze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years and this one is top notch. The place is immaculate. Every modern feature-free wi-fi, tv, telephone is available. The staff is super accommodating. We had an opportunity to chat with Esther, the owner, and her background in the hotel business really comes through. And does she serve a great breakfast. We were served tableside, given a menu with multiple choices (if you like sweets go for the banana French toast) and pushed away from the table stuffed and licking our lips. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrayMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

I decided to stay here while visiting family for Christmas. Being that it is so close to my relatives as well as great restaurants, I decided to give it a shot. I booked a king size room and was pleasantly surprised with the size. What struck me as I entered was the expansive staircase and how clean and immaculate this place was! This B&B has the character and service to match. Thanks to Esther and her staff for making my short getaway a pleasant one. PS- don’t miss the breakfast!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff-Trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Branch
1.7 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Eatontown
3.9 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars & Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars & Beeches

Property: Cedars & Beeches
Address: 247 Cedar Ave, Long Branch, NJ 07740-5080
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedars & Beeches 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedars & Beeches Inn, the only bed and breakfast in Long Branch features 14 individually decorated rooms, each with private bath, telephone, television, am/fm radio, air conditioning, ceiling fans, complimentary wi-fi and of course, daily breakfast. On site parking, wrap around porch, a few blocks from the beach, Pier Village, Monmouth Medical, Monmouth Racetrack and Monmouth University. The perfect spot for individuals or groups; for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedars & Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars & Beeches Hotel Long Branch
Cedars And Beeches
Cedars Beeches Long Branch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing