We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh, good foot made to order”

Niko's Trapezi - a Greek Taverna
Ranked #25 of 131 Restaurants in Long Branch
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ph. (732) 222-4600
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh, good foot made to order”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ate out at Niko's Trapezi last night and stuffed whole flounder, stuffed with crab meat. The flounder was fresh and the stuffing was delicious. The price was $18, a real bargain at today's prices. Gordon Ramsay would have given it an A+. This is a neighborhood place and it is a bit
noisy with an open and very active kitchen. The ambience could be better, but the service is very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeBeReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Greek food anywhere around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a family owned,operated and Niko is the Chef. A gem in a small mall (Ursala Plaza) in Long Branch. It is BYO but if you are visiting there is a liquor store that carries Greek wines a few steps away. The food is made on premise by Niko and his staff and either Georgia or Jay will be out front every night except Monday (closed) . Try anything on the menu it all has deep flavors and the seasoning is awesome. SAVE room for dessert !!! They are also made there . Not sicky sweet but wonderful after a good meal. If you are not effected by caffine finish the evening with a Greek coffee made to your sweetness taste.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mo6345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
146 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Greek Cooking like Mama's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My Greek-American husband is always looking for a good Greek restaurant close to home, and when we read a review of Niko's, we decided to try it. Forget the shopping mall location, because once you enter, you're in a Greek town with great food! My husband ordered the lamb special (arni macaronada), and said that it tasted just like his mother's (she's a fabulous cook!). I had the shrimp santorini, and the sauce was the best ouzo-infused sauce I've ever had. The portions are enormous, and we enjoyed the meal at home a few nights later. Naturally, a place that is so good is often very crowded. The staff handles the crowd well, as does the gifted chef. But if waiting is not appealing to you, go on a week night, or early on the weekend. It's well worth the wait!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mangiabene48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small, friendly and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Discovered Niko's a little over a year ago. I wish we had kept it to ourself since it can get crowded on a Saturday night.
- Most dishes are try good, some are quite delicious (bit some are forgetful). Best best are the seafood specials.
- Staff and owner are friendly and eager to please.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Shouldn't judge a book by it's cover!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Loved the food here. When I saw it was in a shopping mall I was questioning it but when you walk in the atmosphere is nice, food is delicious and the waitress was good. I will be returning! This is a silly complaint but I thought the gyro was cut way too thick, other then that A+

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niko's Trapezi - a Greek Taverna also viewed

Long Branch, Jersey Shore
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
 
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Niko's Trapezi - a Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing