We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience”
Review of Bungalow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bungalow Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel is not a luxury hotel ,it is warm and friendly and laid back . The rooms are modern, CLEAN and very comfortable . Every employee we interacted with was pleasant and helpful. Donald was particularly helpful .
Our family met there ...we had a total of 4 rooms and no one had any complaints. A wonderful experience was had by all . Best of all , I love the fact the floors are wood , no carpet , much cleaner .

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottandLisaxoxo, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Leslie,
Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted that our team was able to look after your entire family during your stay at the Bungalow Hotel. I will particularly thank Donald on reception and the Housekeeping staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Best regards, Lisa M. and our entire Bungalow Hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    48
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
46
110
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Let me start with the positives:

1) I love the hotel staff. Very helpful and informative on the area.
2) The layout of the room was beautiful
3) Convenince to the boardwalk

What I did not like:
1) can you give me two bars of soap please! a little pet peeve but for a $500 a night the last thing to skimp on is toiletries
2) Keep the electricity going! fuse box went out 3 times over the weekend and it would have been really helpful to have someone explain about the master light switch to turn the lights on and off
3) Noise factor: The noise from cars driving in an out of the parking lot at all hours was annoying and distruptive. Then you have the church bells going off at 8:45 am on sunday. It would have been nice from them to invest in noise diffusing windows. Also, we could hear every footstep going on above us, along with the showers that people take.
4) No mini-bar, lack of room service
5) Claustrphobic bathrooms! and at least put the spare toilette paper and a garbage can in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello EMACE,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Bungalow Hotel. At the Bungalow Hotel, we are eager to hear about our guest's visits to the property and the local Pier Village area. Our staff members strive to meet all guest needs and we are pleased to hear that we were helpful during your visit. We are, however, sorry to learn that you had some difficulties during your stay-but please know that we take comments and input seriously and will strive to improve upon the quality and level of product that we provide to our guests. We sincerely thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Should you wish to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at Lisa@bungalowhotel.net. We truly hope that we are given the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and improve upon your past experience. Best wishes from Lisa and our Bungalow team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Would have liked to give it a 5 Star but the visit wasn't perfect so i had to give it a 4. Yes, it is expensive but the location is excellent, the rooms are beautiful, spacious and very clean. The beds are especially comfortable and contain a kitchenette. Our host was Chris, who was as good a manager i have ever had in any hotel, and only wanted to please. He was gracious, friendly and so very accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bungalow, and would consider going back here for sure. So why only 4 stars??

When we arrived, the greeting from Chris was very nice, and he set us up very well. When we got to our room, it was hot, i mean uncomfortably hot. So I called the front desk, and the young man came up and said it was hot, but that i had correctly turned on the air conditioning and shortly it would be fine. It didnt seem to be working, so on the way to the beach, i asked him to please check on our room while we were out. He said he would. We came back 4 1/2 hours later to an even warmer room. I called down and Chris was up in a heartbeat and agreed with us. He quickly found us another room, an upgrade, with perfect temperature control. Then i noticed that this room's wifi wasnt working and i called down, and the front desk person said she would reset the router. Long story short, the entire stay we had very limited wifi with me doing diagnostics on my macbook at least 60 times to try and get a good signal. Same with my iphone which worked cleanly everywhere else in Long Branch where wifi was available. I emailed Chris at least once a day about the issue and he did his best, but for some reason, that one room had lousy wifi. He contacted Comcast to fix but that didnt happen in time for our visit. Chris was great about it and at checkout he made an accommodation to our bill that was fair.

So, thanks to great management at Bungalow, our visit was a pleasant one but was not a 5 star visit because of the issues. I am confident in the future we could have a 5 star visit as long as Chris is there.

One last thing, since Bungalow and Le Club are the same company, it is a huge disservice to the guests to charge $25 per person to use their beach facilities which are nice but should be included in the high end pricing of this lovely boutique hotel. It gave me a feeling that i was being gouged for another $50 for my wife and i, when it should be part of the hotel stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello Mike S,
We would like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Bungalow Hotel. We are always eager to hear about our guest's visits to the property and we are happy to learn that your visit was pleasant and that our General Manager, Chris was attentive to any requests or issues you experienced. We are, however, very sorry to learn that you had some difficulties with regard to the HVAC unit and wireless internet during your stay-but as our staff demonstrated, we strive to correct any issues or concerns immediately. We truly thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we are working to rectify them for future guests. If you would like to discuss your experience furthur, please feel free to contact me directly at Lisa@bungalowhotel.net. We hope that we are given the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and improve upon your recent experience. Best wishes from Lisa and our Bungalow team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very cool experience at The Bungalow. Super modern and laidback. I loved everything about this place, from the music in the lobby to the pleasant nature of the people working there to the clean and sleek rooms. My room was called "Aloha" (they have a surf theme!) It was the most inexpensive room but it was huge! I would definitely stay here again! Thank you.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed opting for the more inexpensive room. The room called "Aloha&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Many thanks, Hope S. for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Bungalow. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our hotel and service. We look forward to your visit again! Regards, Lisa M. and our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have been in the hospitality industry my entire career which makes me very observant as well as critical regarding services received from venues. Unfortunately, I did not have the opportunity to stay at your lovely hotel, but did have the pleasure of meeting with Mr. Smith. He is certainly an asset to your establishment and you are very lucky to have him represent your business. He took his time to answer questions regarding availability as well as rates. He is a seasoned professional which was evident in his demeanor and the time he spent with me. With the Jersey Shore booming with summer business, I would certainly make sure Mr. Smith is being compensated for his dedication and knowledge, employees of his statue are hard to come by these days.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JudeMonmouthBeach_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge Donald with such kind words. He is truly a valued part of our team who excels in customer service. Our staff makes every effort to ensure customer satisfaction beyond expectations. We look forward to having you visit again and hopefully give us the opportunity to impress you further with the comfort of staying in one of our charming rooms.
Wishing you all the best, Lisa M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Fell in love with this hidden hotel located in Pier Village. My friends and I wanted to get away without going so farrr away! This was just the place! Pier Village has an array of options and the staff was amazing in guiding us to all the area had to offer (especially the Avenue! The food was delicious and they had a great crowd for off season). The room was beautiful, CLEAN and the bed was AMAZING!(best bed I have ever slept on), which fit all three of us comfortably. Upon check out we decided to book our same room for the summer! We will be back BUNGALOW!! :)

Room Tip: The Hangloose room is perfect for a small group of 3! It was a bit larger than the Aloha without a H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Courtney V. for taking the time to share your experience with us. I agree our location in Pier Village has many dining options anf fun shops. We take much pride in our hotels accomodations and are happy that your stay was amazing! We look forward to welcoming you back this summer. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Chic Hotel in Long Branch. We only could stay one night-wish we could have stayed longer.
Greeted with excellent service in a really cool lobby (bar and pool table -very eclectic art) Our room (201) was a very large suite. Sitting room with fireplace ,couches and a table with chairs off the bedroom. Beautiful bathroom with open tub area, lot's of towels,shampoo and soap and a large walk in shower. Little extras like fresh flowers and candles were throughout. We also had a very nice size balcony that had 2 oversized chairs and a nice view of the ocean a block away. Extremely clean and GREAT location. Walking distance to boardwalk/beach, shopping, coffee shops and restaurants. Parking provided in parking garage. Loved the uniqueness of the Hotel-The lobby staff was pleasant and extremely nice to us. We can't wait to go back and stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMSSPERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Bungalow. We are happy to hear you were impressed with our hotel and staff services and enjoyed all the wonderful things that our surroundng village has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Branch
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
312 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cedars & Beeches
Cedars & Beeches
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
83 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,210 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
357 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Eatontown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Hotel

Property: Bungalow Hotel
Address: 50 Laird St, Long Branch, NJ 07740-8100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bungalow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalow Hotel is the Jersey Shore's only authentic boutique hotel. Located in Pier Village, just steps from the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms have oversized king beds, flat screen tvs, fireplaces, wet bar with refrigerators, and original art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Hotel Long Branch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing