We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bungalow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bungalow Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

For starters..Not beachfront! No coffee maker & no mini bar.

Also, be aware that the hotel rents out the lobby for private parties which is what happened on the eve that we checked in. It was "extremely" uncomfortable having to walk through the very crowded area with music blasting, besides that we didnt have the option of just relaxing in the hotel lounge. We definitely wouldve gone elsewhere had we known. (We did get a good rate through expedia though so it hurt less :-).

The rest was ok..Front desk was "ok", the room decor was "ok" ,they tried the WHITE beachy chic idea; looks cold but I wouldnt complain about that. I will complain that it wasnt perfectly clean and the room looked very worn,tired & neglected.
Bottom line...I wouldnt go back.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    48
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
42
104
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had the perfect summer get-a-way at the Bungalow Hotel this past weekend. I have never been to the Long Branch area before and was very impressed with the hotel and Pier Village. The Bungalow had an inviting atmosphere with chic decor. I was impressed with the manager and staff as they were friendly and extremely helpful with my 21 questions :)

Even though it was an extra $25 per person to access the private roof top pool/beach club, I found that it was definitely well worth it. With the beaches being so crowded this time of the year it was nice to have our own personal area.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I will be returning myself!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was given an "upgrade" when I made my reservation. Unfortunately, the bigger room came with an even bigger headache....it was on the street side and the noise from cars and motorcycles was horrible! On the weekend, the noise went on until the early morning hours. During the week was better but not much as far as the traffic noise. We stayed there 3 years ago and loved it, but we had an interior room away from the street. The staff is friendly but they had no other room. If you want a place without a ton of kids don't stay here. We may try Ocean Place which is next door. It is further away from the street and looks beautiful. We love the beach and the restaurants but we are done with Bungalow.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the street are not advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muriel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Bungalow was a block away from the beach and restaurants. Long Branch was a pleasant surprise, and although the weather was not great....the agreement w the hotel w the private beach club was wonderful! Hospitiable staff and great drinks and food made it a memorable day! The room was nice, comfortable, staff was friendly....local restaurants on the water were very good...and the location was great!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue61664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

You arrive at a modern beautiful lobby, where the friendly staff welcomes you. The style of the lobby continues into the room with comfy beds and a flag of a country. Then you are off on a nice walk to the beach. The beach club has cabanas and comfy beds and chairs in which you will enjoy the delicious food they bring to you. A chic hotel, great staff, and amazing food, what could be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yooooooohaaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is my second time staying at Bungalow on Long Branch. I really enjoy the hotel. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is very chic and comfortable. One thing to note is that if you plan on sharing with friends, the shower basically opens up into the room so there is no segregated bathroom area. When staying there, you have the option to purchase a pass to Avenue's beach club. I highly recommend doing this, as the club has both the option of beds on the beach, or an small salt water cooling off pool on a third story deck. You can get drinks and food, and have someone there to assist with towels and such. The extra $27 you spend for the pass will elevate the experience of being on the beach. It's well worth it.

My only complaint, if you want to call it that, is that there are no coffee makers in the room. Granted there is a coffee shop attached to the building, but if you're looking to brew a cup in the room, you're out of luck. Also, there was very little information in the room (tv operational guide, things to do books/magazines, check out time, etc.) that I would normally expect to find in a hotel. Not that it was that bothersome, but it meant having to call the front desk instead of just being able to find a solution on my own.

But this is a really cute hotel and if you're looking for a spot in a great Long Branch location, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRK321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just checked out this morning after a nice 3 night stay with my wife & 2 girls
(3 & 5 yrs old)....Bungalow is cute (chic wannabe) with below average service. although not on the beach, a pleasant 3-4 minute walk to the beach and nice shops as well as pretty decent restaurants @ Pier Village. After reading the reviews, we honestly went in with low expectations...as we prepared for the worst and hoped for the best. Our pseudo-euro room was spacious and pretty clean but not pristine....as noted by other reviews of scuffs on walls and the white hard wood floors were pretty beat up. We really enjoyed access to the Avenue Beach " Le Club" roof top mini-pool as well as beach side chaise chairs with tired Miami beach outdoor lounge pads ($25 @ adult..kids under 10? free)...beware of private functions..i.e. on Monday "day club" Jersey shore scene with tattoo hard bodies and techno loud music...Tues & Wed were excellent, primarily Bungalow upscale guests...the most disappointing aspect of this hotel has to be the service or lack there of....usually only one person at front desk who is required to wear many hats...We understand that in a 24 room hotel they can't be a Ritz but it is unacceptable when the manager walks by (with no one else in the lobby) without saying hello and then when we ask for a flat pillow he practically laughs in our face. Moreover, we are handed an info card upon check in (which also sits on the front desk) which clearly states turn down service... So when we request it, the manager informs us that it has been discontinued since the new management....and the DVD library listed as a perk on the same info card consists of an embarrassing 8 discs so bring your own movies or download them from your IPad on their nice Apple TV room feature...Bungalow is frankly lazy and sitting on their "laurels" because they are probably the best game on the North Jersey shore...they are capable of much better and we deserve it ($389 a week night for a single) but until something better shows up we will return with low expectations and hope for better....they simply just need to refresh some of their stained 4 year old Ikea "like" furnishings and get a fresh paint & floor refinish in addition to complimenting genuine people who really care about exceeding our expectations which will be pretty easy when they are low to begin with... Especially noteworthy was our housekeeping lady on the 2nd Flr ..she said hello everyday and smiled at our family!

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room faced a parking garage ....but not as bad as it sounds..better than facing busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BergenJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Branch
1.7 mi away
Cedars & Beeches
Cedars & Beeches
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Oyster Point Hotel
Oyster Point Hotel
#2 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
5.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Hotel

Property: Bungalow Hotel
Address: 50 Laird St, Long Branch, NJ 07740-8100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bungalow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalow Hotel is the Jersey Shore's only authentic boutique hotel. Located in Pier Village, just steps from the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms have oversized king beds, flat screen tvs, fireplaces, wet bar with refrigerators, and original art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Hotel Long Branch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing