We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Escape from LBI Motels!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Daddy O Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Escape from LBI Motels!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Daddy O Hotel over this past weekend and everything about the establishment was amazingly impressive. The Hotel Front Desk was more than helpful and each different employee that we met was just as generous and accommodating as the last. Our room was small, yet exceptionally clean. Next time we’ll get a queen. The first night we decided to eat down in the restaurant and service was once again great. Our server was more like a tour guide. She led us through the meal with excellent recommendations for drinks as well as food. It’s an interesting menu and the scallops were awesome! After, we headed up to their roof top bar and topped off our night with an amazing view and a stiff martini. Well recommended and we will surely be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    38
    11
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
52
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

From walking through the front door to the exit. The decor is nice and appears upscale until you have to cross paths with the various staff members. The bar access is blocked by tables? Bartenders are much more worried about other than the customers. The restaurant staff didn't fair much better. The best was sitting waiting for our dinners to arive with dirty plates around us.
The server brought our dinners, placed them at the opposite,clean, side of the table and left as he told us to enjoy dinner??? The food was excellent though. What a shame!!! I'm a property owner on the Island and cannot recommned this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryW7489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a friend's wedding near by. While the staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel was definitely not worth the $350/ night summer time price tag. I didn't even know that they still had hotel rooms in the US that only had full/double beds in them! We were up on the roof top later in the night and were told to go downstairs to the bar because it was closing. When asking why, we were told by a waitress that hotel guests were complaining, and "when they're paying $500 a night to stay here, we have to listen to them!" But apparently if you're only paying $350, your opinion doesn't matter.
No amenities.
Stay at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starla579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for a friend's wedding and were very disappointed. It is marketed as an upscale hip boutique hotel, but was understaffed, disorganized, and lacking any real amenities. While the rooms were decorated OK, the walls were ridiculously thin and the door to the bathroom was broken. The elevator only went to the 2nd floor so we had to drag our luggage up the stairs to the third floor -- there was seemingly no one available to do that. There is no breakfast available other than boxed packaged muffins and other unappealing options. There is no pool, no spa -- nothing that would command the prices that we were charged. There was also a loud party on the roof deck outside our room on the 3rd floor both nights with pounding music till midnight. We have stayed in many fine hotels and this one definitely wasn't! If it were one third of the price, it would have been OK -- but it was definitely nothing special. Seems like the hotel is just an add-on to a lively bar scene and restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 3rd floor -- too hard to get to and too loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 118Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

After reading a NY Times article describing Daddy O's, I filed it away in the back of my brain for the next time I spent some time in LBI. Looking for places to stay for this past week, I started here and then looked at some of the other properties on the island. Ultimately, I made a reservation here even though it was about $70 more per night than I had wanted to spend. That said, I surely didn't dwell on that when I arrived!

Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and accommodating and happily provided my room key and beach badges. My room had an Endless Summer motif which was appealing as I just watched the movie a few weeks ago and had my longboard strapped to the top of my car! The rooms were quite nice - - "W" like - - and included a Keurig coffee maker, an alarm clock/MP3player/CD player (which I couldn't figure out how to correct the time), 2 over priced bottles of water that I didn't open, a bed and a single chair (at least my room did). My room seemed quite sizable and also had two closets (only one with a bar for hanging stuff). The bathrooms were nice and new with that 1/2 shower glass that I don't really understand.... seriously, when did shower doors go out of style? The only thing missing was a small fridge (but my cooler with ice worked fine) and a window that opens to the ocean air.

The hotel itself is nicely located a short (really short) walk to the beach and the hotel provides you with beach towels, badges, and beach chairs. That said, the beaches near the hotel don't have a very good break so I traveled by car to 68th St.

One of the great things about the hotel is the roof deck bar, the courtyard bar, and the restaurant bar inside the hotel. Post-beach each day, I went to the roof for some quick happy. The crowd was eclectic and fun although more on the older side than I expected (although, early and Monday to Wednesday nights w/ no weekends; I understand it is younger and more lively on the weekends!). The calamari is fantastic....

Lastly, they offer a nice complimentary muffin / juice / fruit / bar (cereal bar) for breakfast delivered between 6 AM and 10 AM per your instructions each morning.

At the end of the day, will I go back? Yup. With glee. Although I'll look for a deal on the room cost...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hotel room was extremely small and poorly appointed. Service was horrible. Very disappointing. Will not return. Room on LBI Blvd side was very loud....heard road noise

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tyharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

While somewhat excessively hip, this is by far the best hotel on Long Beach Island. It is inexpensive in the off season and not exhorbitant in the summer months. The rooms are small but quite adequate and there is an excellent, though pricey restaurant. Easy to park and located a block from the beach it is well worthwhile for the person exploring longer term stays on the island

Room Tip: ask for a room facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfgang3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach Township
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
4.1 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
21.1 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
5.4 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Property: Daddy O Hotel
Address: 4401 Long Beach Blvd, Brant Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Long Beach Township
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Beach Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Daddy O Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Beach House! Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant in LBI boosts a chic, modern and comfortable interior located only one block from the beach in a vintage seashore styled boutique hotel. The Restaurant menu offers American comfort food with modern creative twists in the dining rooms and outdoor garden patio. The full service energetic bar boasts specialty drinks and draft beer for festive Happy Hour Monday - Friday. The rooftop O Bar serves sushi and plenty of sunshine and views. Daddy O has two private dining rooms that are perfect for celebrations. Daddy O Hotel's 22 rooms offer a luxurious retreat with modern comfort and amenities within a block of the beach. Daddy O is closed during the winter season from Nov. 1st - March 31st> ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daddy O Hotel Long Beach Island, NJ

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing