We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps a little trendy, this is by far the best hotel in the area”
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Daddy O Hotel
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perhaps a little trendy, this is by far the best hotel in the area”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

While somewhat excessively hip, this is by far the best hotel on Long Beach Island. It is inexpensive in the off season and not exhorbitant in the summer months. The rooms are small but quite adequate and there is an excellent, though pricey restaurant. Easy to park and located a block from the beach it is well worthwhile for the person exploring longer term stays on the island

Room Tip: ask for a room facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfgang3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    40
    12
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
54
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

While this hotel is decorated with stylish sophistication they believe that if you have younger children you should not stay there. I was visiting LBI for one night. This, sadly was the only hotel in the area I was looking for that would allow one night reservation. Their child policy listed on the website conflicts with what I was told over the phone while trying to make the reservation. The hotel made an "exception" for my 2 boys who are aged 4 and 6 because it was the middle of the week. The reasons as for their policy really boil down to the hotel did not want to upgrade the noise proofing between rooms. And that aspect is very apparent. Our visit was uneventful and we literally spent 12 hours in the hotel. But, I was so anxious over every peep my kids made that I was not very comfortable. I am well aware there are lenient parenting styles but I feel their policy could be tweaked and enforced in a way to not make parents uncomfortable. Just because I have young kids does not mean I don't enjoy a stylish hotel. It also doesn't mean my kids will act like wild animals.
I think if you are a couple or a family with older kids this place is fine, but a bit pricey. However, one of the reasons given to me for why management doesn't like to encourage children staying there is because "amorous" noises are easily transmitted between walls. As a hotel patron if I can hear the couple next to me going crazy I am going to be pissed, kids with me or not.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank redtiggrLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan1elleb
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed July 4th weekend but only for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were a little small and we were surprised that there was no refridgerator. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and the waiter we had was so helpful. He told us about the Nardie's bus and we used that trick all weekend. Would go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dan1elleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for only one night but wish we could have stayed longer! The hotel decor is hip and modern the food was great. They have a great restaurant a rooftop bar and a nice outdoor lounge area. You wont miss being directly on the beach the hotel is 1/2 block to the beach and they provide beach chairs and towels. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCCMaplewoodnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked two of the boulevard queen rooms for a 2 night stay a couple of weeks ago. The man i booked the room wiith (i think his name was tim) was very knowledgeable and super helpful when it came to booking the room and confirming everything. we arrived at the beach a few hours before check-in and were able to pick up our beach badges early. after spending a few hours on the beach we walked the half a block to daddy-o and were greeted by the friendliest, most down to earth front desk representative i had ever dealt with. he answered all our questions about the hotel, where to go to eat, where to drink, and some of the more fun things to enjoy around lbi. he let us know which places to avoid and where to show up early. his name was brian.
we spent our first night at the bar downstairs and were all super impressed. the atmosphere was classy, but not stuffy. the bartenders (susan and tre) were incredibly friendly and definitely great bartenders.
the hotel is a little expensive, but its definitely worth it.
and to brian, susan, and tre, thank you guys again. you made our stay so wonderful. can't thank you guys enough.
sincerely, hurricane nizzi

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hurricanenizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Best Hotel in Long Beach Island! The staff was very friendly and extremely knowledgable about the island. Every morning the women at the front desk had such great suggestions and recommendations of places to check out and activities to do with the kids. Great since we have not been to LBI the past few summers. Staff consistently made sure everything was perfect! Room and linens were extremely clean and restaurant was fantastic. We were so happy with the restaurant, had friends join us the second evening of our stay. Again, service and dinner was fabulous! Beach is just down the block from the hotel. Daddy O's provided beach badges, towels and chairs. Overall, only have great things to say about Daddy O's. We had a wonderful long weekend in LBI and will definitely be back. Hope we are able to get a reservation because Daddy O's is absolutely one of LBI's best kept secrets!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSP044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I booked a weekend with the Daddy O Hotel and gave them a 50% deposit. They have a very stringent cancellation policy, but I called them a week before our stay was due to begin, and the person with whom I spoke said they would waive their no-refund policy. I thanked him, but thought it was strange that he did not give me a cancellation number.

I therefore sent them an email the next day, thanking them for waiving the cancellation policy and issuing a full refund-- no response to my email.

On what would have been the second day of my stay, the hotel called me:"gee, you were a no-show last night, and we are wondering if you are going to show up tonight?". I explained I had called to cancel. six days previously, and that I had sent an email confirming the cancellation.

The hotel management continues to insist I never called to cancel, and/or that whoever I talked to at the hotel did not have the authority to waive the refund/cancellation policy.

Not exactly the best customer service!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach Township
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
4.1 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
162 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
61 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Sand Castle
The Sand Castle
#1 of 5 in Barnegat Light
142 reviews
18.6 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Property: Daddy O Hotel
Address: 4401 Long Beach Blvd, Brant Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Long Beach Township
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Beach Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Daddy O Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Beach House! Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant in LBI boosts a chic, modern and comfortable interior located only one block from the beach in a vintage seashore styled boutique hotel. The Restaurant menu offers American comfort food with modern creative twists in the dining rooms and outdoor garden patio. The full service energetic bar boasts specialty drinks and draft beer for festive Happy Hour Monday - Friday. The rooftop O Bar serves sushi and plenty of sunshine and views. Daddy O has two private dining rooms that are perfect for celebrations. Daddy O Hotel's 22 rooms offer a luxurious retreat with modern comfort and amenities within a block of the beach. Daddy O is closed during the winter season from Nov. 1st - March 31st> ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daddy O Hotel Long Beach Island, NJ

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing