We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go anywhere else”
Review of Sea Horse Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Horse Motel
livingston, n.j.
1 review
“go anywhere else”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have by necessity had to stay here before - we still found service rude and room still smells - the pool is clean but too hot to enjoy and has the noisy traffic to look at - service ? none - walk to the beach across busy traffic corner.

Room Tip: all have a smell -
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorsemotel, Owner at Sea Horse Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I'm sorry you felt that way about your stay. I only wish you had told me that our newly renovated rooms still smell. I don't see how that is possible when everything in the room is brand new. Floor, furniture, drapes, sheets, comforters - all new. We are booked every day in July and August. No one complains about the pool or the short walk to the beach. And service??? - Just ask and we will immediatly attend to your every need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
29
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked a last minute trip to LBI on an unseasonably warm June weekend, and found the Sea Horse a nice, affordable option for one night. The room was small, and the pool wasn't open, but everything was clean and the beach was only a block away. We got bagels nearby for breakfast and played mini-golf in the evening. Bring your own toiletries and extra towels. Otherwise, fun times!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Sea Horse is one of the nicest placest I've stayed in Jersey. Eveyone I have meet here was SUPER nice! Staff is very pleasnt and easy on the eye's!! Unfortunatley hurricane Sandy stopped by and put a damper on January, February and March business. The owner is STONG , WILLING and LOOKING to come back BIGGER and BETTER than before!! I actually try to drive by once a month and get updates on the proress . Everything look's really good and can't wait untill the end of August to stay while we hit our annual clambake. I would stay here whenever I can!! See you soon Sea Horse!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room will do!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was recommened to go there by another hotel, a favorite of mine that was full. Place is nice and clean, folks there are nice and happy to see you, they have their own pool and you are an easy 1 block walk to the beach. If I ever have an occassion to go there again I would ask for a diferent room in the main section of the hotel. The room we stayed in was in a back section of the property that I was told was newly renovated, hmmm. Anyway every thing else was just fine so I would return but as I said ask for a different room

Room Tip: Summer is busy on LBI so make your reservations before you venure out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wartfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Sea Horse Motel is an ideal place to spend a summer vacation on Long Beach Island. Traveling with a family of four can often be stressful but booking with the Sea Horse Motel was a breeze. They have a great location, one block from the beach and a few miles from all the hustle and bustle that goes on in Beach Haven. Not to mention there is a pool right infront for the kids and they also offer pool classes on Wednesday mornings ( Perfect for moms)! The staff is friendly and helpful, with simple things such as extra pillows, towels. They even suggested some great restaurants and attractions! My room was very clean as well as the property itself. I highly recommend this motel for anyone who is interested in vacationing on Long Beach Island.

Room Tip: Book early, rooms go fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at the Sea Horse Motel for 3 nights last summer and just booked for this year! Elena is so helpful and accomodating to make sure my visit goes as smooth as possible! Can't wait to get there this August and have another memorable vacation!

Room Tip: Room #6 is my favorite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaklyn, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I should have seen the warning signs. There is something wrong with an establishment that places on you hold for 10 mins and requires customer efforts to ensure a complete reservation process. So I guess I do share some of the blame here. I should have cancelled the reservation but when you are told it is non refundable after you've already given your credit card, what is one to do. It was dirty, no staff was on site..........period..........and the rooms were just plain divey. Splurge for a nicer place, trust me!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorsemotel, Owner at Sea Horse Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We would gladly give a refund if there was a good reason for one. But apparantly this customer did not have good reason because he didn't even ask for a refund. The motel is full every night in July and August. If it was such a dive I'm sure we would be out of business by now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach Township
0.1 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
112 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
6.6 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 7 in Beach Haven
58 reviews
18.7 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
9.9 mi away
The Sand Castle
The Sand Castle
#1 of 5 in Barnegat Light
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Motel

Property: Sea Horse Motel
Address: 43rd Street and Long Beach Blvd., Brant Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Long Beach Township
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Horse Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Horse Motel Long Beach Island, NJ

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing