We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice surprise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Diner

Dockside Diner
2404 Long Beach Blvd, Spray Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-2541
16094928466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Been going to LBI for 30 years and never stopped here to eat. Near our motel so we could walk over for breakfast. Wonderful surprise. Really good food that wasn't overpriced. I definitely will be eating there again next time I visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not sure what the lines are about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We've been wanting to stop at the Dockside for breakfast based on the lines in the morning. We got the chance this morning, and there was only a five minute wait. We ate inside which is quite cramped. Breakfast was pretty standard - I had a cheese and onion omelet, which was ok. My husband had two eggs sunny side up, which were over done. I substituted the home fries for fruit, which was fresh. The tea water tasted fishy, and the coffee was ok, but a bit strong. The service was friendly and efficient. We'll be going back to our old favorite, Chicken or the Egg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must go for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were staying in a B&B that provided breakfast but we were dying to try this adorable restaurant on the bay. Hurricane Sandy caused several feet of water to ruin the interior but it is back with a fresh fun interior and great breakfast food. All of it was great...pancakes, french toast, eggs. We are a breakfast family so we are really picky about the quality of the food, the type of bread they use for french toast, the way they make the potatoes w/ the eggs... you get the picture. This was tops!!! It is very small so go early and enjoy the meal while the rising sun hits the bay. Staff was bubbly, kind, and clearly committed to giving the customer a nice experience. This doesn't always happen with young staff in vacation areas but they were great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, NJ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Awesome -- must go there for breakfast at least once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to go for breakfast or lunch. We went to the Dockside as we were leaving LBI after vacation and it was well-worth the wait. It's a very popular place so be prepared to wait during the summer but expect a great meal. We had breakfast and the menu has standards as well as very creative choices. The portions are very generous and the pricing is appropriate to what you get. We each ordered a different omelette and the waitress let us order one nice-sized pancake instead of a short stack just to satisfy my son's craving for a pancake. Service is great once you get seated. We went there 3 years ago for brunch and vowed we would go back. We liked it then and were happy that it was as good as we remembered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CyprusMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast, great menu, unique location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Nestled right by the docks on the bay by the beach haven sailing club, this diner is a must for families on vacation! Their menu offers outstanding variety for breakfast and everything is absolutely delicious... Classic diner sized portions. Their pancakes are really fantastic- supper light and fluffy and their omelettes were a big hit with my friends... Everyone really enjoyed what they ordered! They even have some southwest inspired breakfast options like huevos rancheros and breakfast nachos which sounded delicious but did not order. I will definitely be back to try some of their other creative combos! Dockside Diner is definitely not your typical breakfast option... Sure it offers the typical choices but also much, much more! My only complaint is that it is fairly small so parties of more than 4-6 can not really sit together. As a party of 8, four of us were seated at a table and the other four sat at the counter nearby which was actually fine but not ideal. Overall, yummy food, friendly service... These people have been here for decades and they know what they're doing! Make the trip!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acm51295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Diner also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Surf City, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Dockside Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing