We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2007

At first glance this looks like a great hotel. But from reservations to check out there were issues, and although I brought them to their attention - they were not resolved with any degree of professionalism.

I was traveling with twin 1 year olds to see family. I requested 2 cribs in the room - specifically mentioning we would need them on our arrival to put them in for naps. I specifically also asked if two cribs would fit in the room and after being put on hold then assured me it would not be a problem.

I got there and the cribs were not in the room. After an hour of two toddlers running around exhausted I called down to inquire when they would be delivered. They called back and said they only had one crib available and that I only reserved one crib. After me insisiting and using a name of someone I spoke with making the reservation they said they would do their best to resolve the situation. Finally one crib arrived and they said teh other would be on the way. It's now 9pm at this point - way past bed time for these little ones. I call again - and they say one is on the way - it was a pack and play - I said ok good enough. I'm flexible I can deal.

Then the bed was like sleeping on the floor. Homeless people have better nights sleep outside. It was horrible.

To compound the problem - I used my debit card to reserve the room. They ended up charging me 3 times and screwing up my checking account. For a 2 night stay they charged almost a total of $1,300. Certainly a far cry from the $403 that was actual charge. A day later and after not being able to withdrawl any cash from my checking account, I called to clear it up. I was never apologized to - and they credited my accout which will take up to 3 days. Great!! I ask to speak to the General Manager and have yet to get a return call.

The moral of the story - all is not what it appears at the Westminster Hotel. Horrible.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Twobeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 755 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2007

Quick Take: This is a beautiful hotel with excellent rooms. BUT, the service from the staff is the worst I've ever experienced. I cannot recommend this property.

Pros: Luxurious rooms, nice restaurant, workout facility

Cons: Service

We stayed at the Westminster for a wedding over Memorial Day weekend, 2007. Upon arrival, we found the television remote and the telephone did not work. Within ten minutes, someone came and fixed both problems.

After our first night, we vacated the room about 9am, returning to prepare for dinner at 3:30 -- the room had NOT been cleaned. Finally, a maid arrived at 4:45pm and cleaned the room. She did not leave clean wash cloths. After the second night, we again vacated our room early. Upon return at 4pm, the room had not been cleaned. I asked a maid in the hall to do it since we needed to prepare for the wedding. She said she would contact someone to do it. No one arrived and even after the wedding the room had not been touched. Also, several people in the wedding party had similar experiences.

We found the staff, in general, to be unwilling to help and unresponsive to requests. This was the worst I've ever experienced when it comes to service.

The rooms are very well appointed. The beds are comfortable, but a little hard. There is a nice work station. The TV was old and didn't give a great picture. The bathrooms were very nice with marble.

This may list as a four-diamond hotel, but only by sight, not service.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bobbarrenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

We stayed here for a romantic weekend getaway in December. We selected the hotel for its proximity to NYC as well as price. We arrived too early to check in but the staff held our bags for us and put them in the room once it was ready. They also put us in a room away from other guests so we were not disturbed at all. The room was quite comfortable,clean and a treat to come to after being in the city all day.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DCMrsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

My husband and I decided to try something a little different for New Years Eve this year. We booked a room at the Westminster only one night in advance. We chose this hotel because of it's close location, the pictures we saw, and for the fact that there was a bar and restaurant in the hotel. My only complaint is that because we neglected to make reservations for the Strip House early enough, we were told to check at 10pm to see if there were any cancellations. Unfortunatley, we were not informed that we could eat at the bar. We stopped on the way to the hotel for a quick bite to eat. Once we got there we saw many other couples eating at the bar. So if your heading there, wait to eat there. The food looked and smelled sensational!! At check in I was given the key card to a room with two double beds, I informed the woman that I had booked a king sized bed and she proceeded to ignore me. I'm not one for putting up a fight, so we took the room.

The room itself was very nice. The beds were very comfortable, the room spotless, the bathroom spacious and clean, and as advertised, the pillows were extremely comfortable. The room came with 1 complimentary robe for the night -- I had booked for 2 people. Not an issue for us, no one planned on wearing it. If you want the extra robe for the extra person -- be sure to ask for it at Check-in. We explored the hotel for a while and saw the pool first. It was large enough and had a small hot tub. The hours were the best part. I have been to several hotels and have never heard of an indoor pool open from 6am-10pm. The hotel even has a lounge with chairs, books, a small kitchenette, computers and internet access, a printer and some other odds and ends. This place would be a working professionals dream hotel. The bar was great, the bartender friendly. The drinks were a little pricey, but our bartender had a heavy hand. It was an all around great experience. I plan on doing it again for next New Years Eve.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bailsmom698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Stayed here for business one weeknight at $159. Free parking. Nice small free gym with treadmills, bikes, free weights and stepper - bottled water and personal TV's. Very clean room; decent amenities in bathroom; furnished in a modern style. Coffee-maker was a 2-cupper. Free wired internet connection. AC worked great /quiet and you could open the windows slightly for fresh air ( becoming less and less common).Bed was very comfortable except the hard wooden corners about 1 foot off othe floor stuck out 6-8 inches from the mattress. Why is this important? Ask the bruises on your legs ! Suggest maybe putting your suitcase near the corner of the bed that you're most likely to run into.
Front desk was quick but neglected to tell me at check-in (and another lost guest I bumped into in the elevator) that my room was in another bulding via a different set of elevators. Also no bill under the door in the AM. Near a Houlihan's and an Olive Garden and about 1/2 mile form the Prudential Insurance Offices.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Royzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2005

The rooms looked nice but the walls are thin like paper. I stayed accross one of those rooms you can rent for events. One night there was a party and the people walked and talked along the floor. It was terrible loud. I recommend earplugs for free at the reception. Never ask for a room in groundfloor and never accross any event. The people are nice.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheWorldIsDelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
West Orange, NJ
15
Reviewed May 21, 2005

This hotel is not that great! yes the furniture is nice/new and the lobby has an upscale look, but the rooms are small (smaller than several Holiday Inn's I've stayed at accross the country). Furniture is placed in wierd locations like a small sofa behind a mini bar is 1 foot away from the bed??? they should just do without the sofa. And talk about an over priced mini bar....small bottel of EVIAN water for $5.00???!!!!! Also the blankets did not appear to look clean...they had stains on them. Bathtub is also quite small with a support bar taking up most of your washing space.

i wouldn't stay here again for the price my BF paid. It was $139 for 1 night...insane. I think its worth between 80 - 90 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
556 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
846 reviews
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
622 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,088 reviews
4.1 mi away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: $107 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing