We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great price for quality, clean hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Jupiter, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great price for quality, clean hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

Stayed for one night at the Westminster, a clean and modern hotel in the pleasant suburb of Livingston, NJ about a half hour ride from Newark Airport. Got an unbelievable $80 rate from orbitz.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eveeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    214
    78
    40
    20
See reviews for
175
134
33
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newjersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

I booked the Westminister Hotel for my friends and family to stay for my daughters wedding on jan 10,2010. We could not have asked for anything more!! From the begining I worked with Johannie to book the rooms she could not have been more sweeter. This woman always returned my calls and bent over backwards to make sure we had a wonderful time.They extended the bar hours for us and the breakfast in the morning was terrific. The beds were sooo comfy!! The pool was beautiful our guests loved it. My daughter stayed before the wedding and had the best massage ever!! The shuttle bus drivers and all of the staff were the nicest people I have ever dealt with.We had twenty two rooms booked and no one had any complaints. I would reccommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks again to the staff michele ferrarella

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelefOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at the Westminster on Thanksgiving night at a rate of only $95 (which included a buffet breakfast). We saw that it was rated as 4 stars but didn't believe that we could get such a hotel in Livingston, and certainly not at that low rate. We were wrong. The hotel was excellent in every way, and the staff was pleasant and accomodating. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the heatlh club was fine (I was the only person in it). Perhaps the only negative was that most of the guests were leisure, not business travelers, and everyone went down for breakfast late in the morning, all at around the same time, and the room and staff simply could not handle everyone very well. Next time I am in the area I will not stay at the nearby Courtyard Marriott (which I always like) unless it can offer a room rate that is far below the Westminster.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EandG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

My daughter was recently married and the Hotel Westminster was our rendevous location. All of our out-of-town guests had beautiful rooms. The hotel was able to provide shuttles for our guests to and from the reception. They could enjoy the party and not worry about driving home. The Bar and Restaurant were also very accommodating: the bar stayed open late and I was able to offer our friends a buffet breakfast before they had to travel home. Joannie Cruz was an attentive contact and helped me through the whole process of planning this. Kudos to her and the rest of the staff.

Sincerely,
Merredith Krekel

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merredith_krekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

Went for a night away with Fiance. Started with dinner at the Strip House restaurant. The bone-in ribeye was among the best I've had (what a tasty rub the chef used!) The restaurant had a retro feel.
The pool is nicely done, with natural sunlight shining through its windowed roof. The fitness center, though not large, includes some strength training as well as cardiovascular equipment and is well-maintained overall.
The standard room is has an open feel to it as the decor is somewhat minimalistic. The bed was very comfortable and soft. (Apparently the mattresses have a softer side and a firmer side when flipped over.) The windows open fully which is always nice. The sheets were bright white and the oversized bath towels had a soft feel.
No place is perfect, but the staff seems willing and friendly and the atmosphere makes for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

We've stayed in some of the top hotels in the country and this is every bit as nice as some costing two or three times as much. And the bed and towels were outstanding. It provided a great way to relax after a great Thanksgiving dinner with family.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royaltaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

First and foremost, the service is amazing. Everyone is very accommodating and professional. My sister had her 40th birthday party in their banquet facilities (which was an awesome experience) a year and a half ago. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed the party and service then.

I chose to stay at this hotel again for my wedding, as it is right down the street from where I was married...and the price was great. All of our out of town guests stayed here too. Every one of our guests raved about its cleanliness and service and decor.

We also had our rehearsal dinner at the restaurant/bar there. The food there: Amazing!

Again, this place is great and it gets a 2-thumbs up from my guests and me.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_PaCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
17.3 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
5.7 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing