We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better Than Expected”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Even Better Than Expected”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at the Westminster on Thanksgiving night at a rate of only $95 (which included a buffet breakfast). We saw that it was rated as 4 stars but didn't believe that we could get such a hotel in Livingston, and certainly not at that low rate. We were wrong. The hotel was excellent in every way, and the staff was pleasant and accomodating. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the heatlh club was fine (I was the only person in it). Perhaps the only negative was that most of the guests were leisure, not business travelers, and everyone went down for breakfast late in the morning, all at around the same time, and the room and staff simply could not handle everyone very well. Next time I am in the area I will not stay at the nearby Courtyard Marriott (which I always like) unless it can offer a room rate that is far below the Westminster.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EandG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    223
    84
    41
    20
See reviews for
191
137
34
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2009

My daughter was recently married and the Hotel Westminster was our rendevous location. All of our out-of-town guests had beautiful rooms. The hotel was able to provide shuttles for our guests to and from the reception. They could enjoy the party and not worry about driving home. The Bar and Restaurant were also very accommodating: the bar stayed open late and I was able to offer our friends a buffet breakfast before they had to travel home. Joannie Cruz was an attentive contact and helped me through the whole process of planning this. Kudos to her and the rest of the staff.

Sincerely,
Merredith Krekel

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merredith_krekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Went for a night away with Fiance. Started with dinner at the Strip House restaurant. The bone-in ribeye was among the best I've had (what a tasty rub the chef used!) The restaurant had a retro feel.
The pool is nicely done, with natural sunlight shining through its windowed roof. The fitness center, though not large, includes some strength training as well as cardiovascular equipment and is well-maintained overall.
The standard room is has an open feel to it as the decor is somewhat minimalistic. The bed was very comfortable and soft. (Apparently the mattresses have a softer side and a firmer side when flipped over.) The windows open fully which is always nice. The sheets were bright white and the oversized bath towels had a soft feel.
No place is perfect, but the staff seems willing and friendly and the atmosphere makes for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We've stayed in some of the top hotels in the country and this is every bit as nice as some costing two or three times as much. And the bed and towels were outstanding. It provided a great way to relax after a great Thanksgiving dinner with family.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royaltaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2009

First and foremost, the service is amazing. Everyone is very accommodating and professional. My sister had her 40th birthday party in their banquet facilities (which was an awesome experience) a year and a half ago. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed the party and service then.

I chose to stay at this hotel again for my wedding, as it is right down the street from where I was married...and the price was great. All of our out of town guests stayed here too. Every one of our guests raved about its cleanliness and service and decor.

We also had our rehearsal dinner at the restaurant/bar there. The food there: Amazing!

Again, this place is great and it gets a 2-thumbs up from my guests and me.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_PaCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

My wife and I spent the night in November. We live about 20 minutes away but needed a night away from our year old twins. The Westminster proved to be perfect. We had a club level room at a very reasonable price. The bed was super comfortable with super soft sheets and a perfect mattress. The room is modern but not cold. The bathroom is small but they designed a nice space. Shower pressure was adequate with a Speakman shower head. What cracks me up about this hotel and many hotels I have stayed in is the televisions. Yes we had a flat panel HDTV but the feed is standard def, so whats the point?

We had a spa appointment. I can't speak for my wife's but my message was very good. Not the best one I have had as the masseuse seemed a little on the inexperienced side but she was super friendly and did a very good job. I was not disappointed. They could use a dedicated spa area as the spa is basically inside the gym which was a bit of a let down.

We had dinner at The Strip House and I was surprised at some of the mixed reviews. As someone who eats at many prime steakhouses, this is one of the better ones. Especially compared to the chains. The service was excellent. The decor is a 40s glam feel that is decorated with famous photos. It could be a touch brighter. The wine list was good, not great. It was a little on the pricey side compared to other primes steak houses but not terrible.

Overall it was a great night for us at The Westminster. We never had to leave. Hotel, spa, and prime steakhouse all in one. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is an absolutely fabulous hotel. Love the decor and the staff is outstanding. We were here for a relative's wedding and they couldn't have been more accommodating. I would highly recommend a stay here - the pool is great, our little one loved it. My husband and I were able to relax and I lost count of the staff members who greeted us and asked if we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything they could do to improve it. I hope to return!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.4 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#2 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing