We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for a wedding party!!”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2009

After looking at a few hotels in the area of our wedding venue, my wife and I decided on the Westminster. Although we didn't schedule an appointment, Joannie, the Banquet Manager, was gracious and courteous and spent a lot of time working with us. We had all the guests from our wedding stay in the hotel the entire weekend. The rooms are immaculate, clean, stylish and amazing. The entire hotel is modern and amazing. The staff are courteous and caring. We truly had an amazing wedding due largely to the Westminster Hotel. We enjoyed it and our experience so much, we recommended it to a friend who is using it for her wedding next year. We strongly recommend this Hotel and Joannie Cruz to anyone who is looking for an amazing experience filled with courteous, caring and accommodating people in an amazingly beautiful and luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amazingwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 777 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2009

Great hotel for business...but not a romantic night. What attracted me to this hotel was the anniversary & romance packages they offered, due to them offering these type's of packages I assumed this would be a great night away for my spouse & I to celebrate our 8 yr anniversary.Booked a in room couples massage to have massage therapist tell us at time of massage that our room was to small to perform massage in!! Why was this allowed to be booked then?! Masssage therapist, Maria was very good and knowledgeable,but we had to have our massages done in the spa, not our room as planned.Was awoken at 8:18 am Saturday morning,by a maid trying to enter our room!Please, a print out of whom has or hasn't checked out should be provided to the maids & updated throughout the morning for them,at least before the 11 am checkout. A/C either ran to cold or the room would get very stuffy before it would kick back on in auto mode. Garden level, is the basement! And you feel like you are in the basement!Room was cluttered w/to much furniture for size of room..Would rather not have chaise,so mini fridge could be against the wall, not sticking out like it was...Bed was hard, but then again I prefer a more plush mattress...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunchic128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This is a classy, stylish hotel that costs less than the surrounding boring corporate ones. The location is convenient to highways. We loved the room - trendy style, spacious, with lots of extras and frills like plush robe and lollipops. Breakfast had a wonderful variety of tasty options - it doesn't make sense to me why they don't offer it for Saturday & Sunday. Staff were super professional, friendly, and responsive. I had one problem with my room and a few minutes after I told the front desk, a manager called to apologize and offer me free miles. I liked seeing the excitement of weddings, and was surprised that the hotel wasn't noisy because of it. We would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymoustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I was going to northern NJ on business and needed a central location. I actually booked through Hotwire. I hadn't even looked at or even knew about the Westminster, but I'm glad Hotwire put me there. The other options I was looking at were Courtyards or Hampton Inns and this was a very big step up for a lot less money. The room was very nice, good TV, nice set up and the bed was very comfortable. I had read other reviews and was wondering about these towels. But everyone's right - they do have REALLY nice towels. The room service, while limited, was very good and delivered on time. I was given an 'upgrade' to a Club room. I visited the lounge and there wasn't really much there for me. If I'm in the area again, I'd come back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

I stayed here previously on business, so I decided to surprise my boyfriend for a "weekend getaway" for Valentine's Day. We only live 30 minutes away but this hotel has a great restaurant and a great spa. I reserved our massages weeks in advance & I couldn't be happier. The spa area is clean and very soothing. The massage was spectacular and it wasn't expensive-I couldn't be happier! I wanted us to have dinner in the restaurant but it was completely booked on Valentine's night, but the best part was when I told the front desk as to how bummed we were about the restaurant they offered to take us to a restaurant nearby & the food was great! They drove us there and back! The room was comfortable and very "new york" design and the bed was better than the chain hotel beds! Which really impressed me! Looking forward to my next visit, hopefully sometime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huneey1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed at the Westminster the weekend of March 7th, Our daughter got married at the Crystal Plaza in Livingston on Sunday, March 8th. For months before theJ BIG DAY, I had several phone calls with Joannie Cruz, who was just fabulous and very patient with all of my questions and concerns. We booked about 20 rooms (at a special wedding discount rate) and everyone was very pleased with the cleanliness and overall decor of the rooms. The hotel staff gave us a complimentary room for the bridal party to get their hair and make-up done on Sunday morning before the ceremony. We were also offered a shuttle back and forth to the wedding. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel was courteous and just wonderful to us! Our stay at the Westminster certainly added to the overall excitement and success of the wedding weekend! One last thing...after the wedding, we were so tired. About 8 of us went to the pool , hung out and put our feet in the hot tub ! IT was great !!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reitredteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

I know I am off the beaten trail here however I was invited to a good friend's daughter's wedding in NJ. The invite contained a discounted stay at the Westminster Hotel in Livingston. I stayed two nights for convenience sake and the hotel was comfortable enough. I found the room adequate to good but the bar was somewhat lacking, particularly in pricing.

All this aside, nothing prepared me for what happened at the the post wedding party which was planned to be held in the hotel bar. The party arrived at 11:30 PM, possibly 50 in all, as expected by the hotel. Instead of a warm greeting by the bar manager and personnel, the staff rudely told the new bride and family that the bar is closed. The conversation then turned heated as expected after booking an entire wing for this event. The bar manager then slammed the bar door shut and promptly called the police. He also called the bride a [-] and I'm not making this up, I wish I was. This was then followed by the arrival of approximately 10 police officers with night sticks who then dispersed the wedding party. Normally one might understand these actions if the crowd were young and rowdy but it wasn't. We are talking about several families of well to do backgrounds with an average age of 45. I am also a frequent traveller with loyality membership levels including 1K miler status with United, Hilton diamond member, Starwood Gold member (on and on) who travelled from California for this event. I have never seen such poor behavior on the behalf of any staff in any hotel in the world. Later complaints to the management resulted in nothing less than superficial and calious responses that were nothing less than poor attempts to cover their rear ends. I cannot not recommend this hotel at this time and would recommend that its senior management evaluate the hotel practices and staffing.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyberdaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Hotel Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2009

At Westminster Hotel, we strive to provide a welcoming and accommodating environment for everyone that stays with us and uses our facilities. It is our right and our responsibility to protect that environment and insure that it is safe and secure for you, other guests and our associates. When we believe that the environment is threatened in any way, we are obligated to act and we empower our team members to take action when they believe it is warranted to maintain the safety and security of the premises for everyone. Our team members made a determination, based on the behavior of your party, that action was necessary. As a policy, we contact the local authorities only as a last resort, and we do not control the behavior of the police. Despite your assertions that your party was orderly, the police felt it necessary to intervene to manage the situation. It is our intent, our obligation and our responsibility to make sure everyone in our building is safe. Our actions were ultimately designed to secure that safety for everyone including you and your party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
574 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#2 of 5 in Morristown
853 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
663 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,121 reviews
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: $165 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing