We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed this past weekend with my 11 year old daughter because she had a dance performance down the street. Check in was a breeze - very polite staff. Room was impeccably clean as was the rest of the hotel. I loved the huge fluffy towels in the bathroom instead of those tiny ones you usually get. Bed was super comfortable and bedding was super clean! Very nice pool and hot tub area which was impeccably clean as well. Pool was heated to a perfect temperature. Very quiet and conveniently located near shopping and restaurants. My only complaint would be that we felt the breakfast buffet was a little pricey in my opinion but with that said my daughter had it and they did not charge the full price for her. She said the food was very good (I did not eat there as it was very early and I don't eat breakfast until later in the day if I have it at all). I would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shan3224Vernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, General Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your gracious 5 Star review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and am especially happy to know that you would return without hesitation. I do hope we have the chance to serve you again in the future!

Warm regards,

Michael Polese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 755 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

The staff at this hotel is superb. From the moment that they help you out of your car, and open the door for you, to the concierge at the front desk who remembers you each of the five days you are there, to the friendly woman behind the breakfast foods (which included fresh fruit and hot scrambled eggs among other items), to the gentleman who delivered a Bandaid to our room, everyone was kind and helpful. The pool is clean and inviting. The bed is very comfortable. The robes were plush. And a shuttle service was available. It is close to the subway and trains that go into NYC. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are extremely proud of our team and fell that they are the greatest asset. I will be happy to pass along your wonderful comments to our staff. Our goal is to have each guest leave the Westminster hotel feeling cared for so it is rewarding to hear that we were able to make you feel this way. We are grateful for you wonderful review and for your recommendation.
Hope to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Westmisnter Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night for work travel. I wasn't there long but I thought the hotel itself and the room were very nice. I had a standard room with two queen beds. They were comfortable, the room was clean. The shower worked great and I really liked the shampoo and soap provided. We had a contintetal breakfast included which was quite good, eggs, pastries, fruit and coffee. The staff at the hotel were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit. I am so glad we were able to make you comfortable and leave you with a great impression in such a short stay. Please don’t hesitate to contact me when you are ready to return and I will gladly assist you with your next reservation. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The service, rooms, cleanliness, cusine, etc... all are first class at this hotel. Every employee is helpful and professional. Everything is super clean. The best beds ever! The rates are excellent compared to the ammenities and service. Will always stay at the Westminster when I'm in New Jersey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your 5 Star review is deeply appreciated. We strive to deliver “First Class” experience to each and every guest. Our beds are truly amazing and we take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, thank you for mentioning them both. We would be honored to continue to be your preferred hotel in NJ. Thank you for staying with us.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed for three nights to heal after a surgical procedure in the hospital. I was immensely impressed by the friendliness of the front desk staff, the bell hop and valet, the cleanliness of the room, and the staff's willingness to listen to a legitimate concern of mine and quickly act, providing me with a very reasonable solution, accompanied with a sincere apology.

I would highly recommend this hotel whether it be for business or pleasure.

The Strip House should also be mentioned as accommodating, delicious, and a true dining experience.

Way to go Westminster. We needed you in Livingston. Stay service oriented as you know it goes a very long way.

I appreciate you and look forward to my next stay with you.

Thank you for everything!!

:) Andrea :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schechtermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and happy to hear that your concern was quickly resolved up to your satisfaction.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A block of rooms were reserved by the bride and groom for their wedding. It was a very good choice. The staff is friendly, courteous, and professional. Our room was spacious and very clean with a king size bed. The bed was a little soft for our liking. But after a great wedding ending at 1AM in the morning it was still a welcome respite. We did not take advantage of the indoor pool, although the area looked very clean, nice, and inviting. The only snack vending area is in the pool area, which is a minus. However, there are soft drink and ice machines on the floors. The bar doesn't open until 5PM when the restaurant opened which is another minus if you're looking for a drink. The bar also did not have any bar snacks, but you could order from a limited bar menu from the kitchen. There are plenty of fast food and other restaurants in the immediate area too. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained and there is a small outdoor seating area at the entrance. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read about your pleasant experience. I will be happy to pass along your kind words to our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon and hopefully this time you will get to enjoy our newly renovated pool.
Thank you for staying with us.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I needed a place to stay in the area because of a death in our extended family.. Stressful, right? Could have been, except that we had the good fortune to find the Westminster. First of all, our room was immaculate, and the beds and bed linens were comfortable and soothing. Excellent TV, desk, bathroom, toiletries, hair dryer - you name it -- very good quality. Every staff member was courteous, friendly, and helpful when needed. The continental breakfast was amazing -- not just lots of food, but a good selection of healthy choices, which is important to us ( we are in our mid 60's). And the pool was wonderful. I was able to do water aerobics each morning before the day with family began. Getting a good nite sleep and a healthy start to the day enabled us to be helpful with our young grandchildren during the day and to face the mourning process. We are grateful for our 4-nite stay, would definitely choose it again, and recommend it, without reservation. Really fits that it's on Mount Pleasant Avenue - for us it was a very pleasant experience in the middle of the very unpleasant
(funeral) event we were in the area for.

Room Tip: I didn't rate the spa because I didn't go to it. We did bring our two grandsons to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Our deepest condolences to you and your extended family. It is gratifying to know that you found comfort staying at the Westminster Hotel during that difficult time.
Thank you for your wonderful review. You pointed to some features of the Westminster Hotel that make it truly special place to relax. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our very comfortable beds, recently renovated pool and complimentary breakfast. Your wonderful comments about the Westminster Hotel will be shared with our team.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
556 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
845 reviews
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
621 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,088 reviews
4.1 mi away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: $106 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing