We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westminster Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Garden Plaza Hotel(West Orange)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$219
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard West Orange(West Orange)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$263
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveler rating
329
272
112
48
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
272
112
48
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstrip housenice hotelgarden levelshuttle servicewedding partybusiness tripbed was very comfortablenew jerseyfront desk staffenjoyed my stayindoor poolfitness centerbagelspopsrobehallwaytoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 788 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I attended a wedding this past weekend at Crystal Plaza. My boyfriend was in the wedding party so I checked into the room after the church and before the reception. Hotel room was very nice and was pleased with my room. I am very glad I checked into the hotel before the reception.
Some of the people who were in the wedding party went to check into the hotel after the reception and were told that their rooms have been given up. That is the last thing you want to hear. A family who was all in the wedding with their 2 small children did not have a room as well. They were offered a free room and free ride to the Short Hills Hilton and also a ride back to the Westminster in the am to get their cars.
So just beware, even if you have a block of rooms reserved, and have made a reservation, if you can not check into the hotel until after the reception, I would call the hotel and let them know this so they do not give your room away.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Leeza16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear Sandee16,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind words.
The Westminster Hotel regrets the experience that those folks from your party had. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience caused to them. This is a very rare situation occurred due to a case of extreme necessity. We would like take this opportunity to explain. When we confirm reservations, we make a commitment to our guest that they will have a room on the scheduled date. Our commitment to our guests is based on other guests’ commitment to us. We had a small group of in-house guest who did not check out on the scheduled date. Subsequently we found ourselves in this very unfortunate situation.

We offered accommodations to this guest at another property that is comparable in quality and round trip transportation. On a positive note, after all, we were able accommodate this guest at the Westminster Hotel that night on a complimentary basis, because another member from the wedding group had a room reserved but wasn’t staying at the hotel.

Westminster Hotel is committed to delivering the highest level of service, we recognize that in this instance we fell short of our commitment. Please accept our heartfelt apologies. We would appreciate another opportunity to restore your confidence with the Westminster Hotel.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This was my 2nd stay within a year at the hotel. Once again, in comparison to other hotels in the area, I was wondering why the rate was so much less expensive. Kind of a "what's the catch". The catch is that there is no catch. This is a very clean hotel with plenty of amenities and outstanding customer service. I would definitely stay here again. This is a nice part of Jersey and surrounded by plenty of shopping. Looks like they do a lot of weddings and other events as the place is huge and well organized.

Room Tip: End of corridor for any hotel cuts down on noise from traveling guests who stay up late.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jar546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Jar546,
Thank you for your five star review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to receive your kind words of praise and very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be very clean and a great value. Providing excellent service is a source of great pride for all of us at the Westminster Hotel. Thank you for your continued business and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Great Steak House in the Hotel !! Rooms are very quite and well taken care of.
Best in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear TJ B,
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to be the best in the area. We appreciate your kind words. What can we do better to receive five-star? Please let us know if we can provide assistance with future travel plans to the area. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

As a business traveller, this pretty much precludes me from ever staying there again. In my view this is just taking the proverbial in this day and age when you can get free wi-fi for just buying a coffee, let alone dropping nearly $200 on a hotel room. (They did not charge up until recently when their w-fi was "upgraded")

Aside from this the hotel is clean and comfortable with courteous staff. However I did also find that the food was very overpriced for what it was. $30 room service for a plate of cheese and a beer. (They charge $3 delivery plus 18% service charge for all room service which in my view is double charging for the same thing).

Decent hotel but they really hit you with the extras.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank davyjcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, General Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

On behalf of the Westminster Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about our facilities and staff. We have recently upgraded our High Speed Internet service to improve both speed and connectivity dramatically. We are now able to offer download speeds of up to 50MBPS. We are confident that this major improvement will make our business travelers’ stay far more productive and comfortable. We thank you for your candid review and hope that you will reconsider staying with us. Given the opportunity, it would be my pleasure to handle the details of a future stay personally. Please feel free to contact me directly on 973.533.0600 x2106.

Michael Polese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This hotel certainly would need some revamping, but it is conveniently located, has a shuttle serve to main companies in the area and has a really good restaurant. After having been in different hotels in the area I prefer this one, because of the great food at the restaurant. But bear in mind there is nothing in walking distance and you definitely need a car if it is not for business.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Dear Mitochi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you prefer our hotel in this area. In 2012 we are planning to make many improvements to our hotel to enhance guest experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews