We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year Eve”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Vicolo - CLOSED

Il Vicolo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
livingston, NJ 07039
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“New Year Eve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is a nice local place with an established patron base. Not being the regulars, we however made last minute reservations for 9pm New Year's Eve dinner. After we arrived all dressed up and eager to be seated, we found a crowd of people waiting outside. We ended up waiting with many other groups of people for 45 minutes not sure if we will be seated at all. This is inexcusable for New Year Eve, as everyone has specific plans. Although food was good,waiters were very rushed and many items on the menu were not available any more. Our guess is that earlier in the evening the owners let people in right from the street, disregarding how this may affect the later reservations.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Dinner was Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I wanted to thank the chef's and staff Il Vicolo for a wonderful New Years Eve dinner. We were there with three other couples. Although the place was very crowded and busy our service and food was superb!

The duck, which three of us had, was the most meaty and perfectly cooked I've had! The Short Ribs were mouth watering. The beet salad ...and seafood salad just wonderful! Everyone loved their dinner...which is not an easy feat!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
478 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Food is good and a nice selection. My wife rates it 4-5 stars.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Solid if not spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

When a restaurant is busy every night of the week, it must be doing something right. That's the case with this long standing restaurant located in a small strip mall (just past Nana's Deli). Currently, a very good fixe price menu is offered weekdays offering 3 course (full size) for about $22 per person, and there is a long list of selections. The regular menu will cost more, but prices overall are moderate. Food is consistently good, if not up to gourmand demands. Service has always been attentive and professional. BYOB keeps costs down as well.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NaplesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vicolo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing