We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Ho Jo - would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lawrenceville
Margate, NJ
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Great for a Ho Jo - would stay again”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Bathrooms were spotless - obviously brand new. Room was large, Bed was comfy & the place was dated...yet very clean. They were ripping up carpet in some of the halls while I stayed here - so obviously it will be even better in the near future with these improvements.

A perfect place to crash for a night or two. Breakfast is included (hot coffee, donuts & cereal, etc). Staff was friendly enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelDudeAbides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    32
    28
    21
See reviews for
54
17
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed overnight on our trip back to Vermont. Good points are that it is pet friendly, and it is right off the highway, so easy to get on and off. The hotel is in need of repair, wallpaper torn, grounds not very clean, beds not comfortable, carpets dirty, so if you're looking for upscale, this isn't the place, if just a place of crash for the night it's okay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnauzer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lawrenceville hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

This is a nice hotel to spend a vacation at if you plan on being out and about most of the time. It's close to the historic sites in Trenton and within 45 min drive to the national historic sites in Downtown Philadelphia, PA. It's also about a 30 min drive to Six Flags Great Adventure in Jackson, NJ which is the world's largest amusement park at 2,200 acres.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coasterjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hagerstown, md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We went on a "lets not spend TOO much money"vacation. Thought the pictures looked nice, Boy we were mistaken! Once we checked in, we walked in the door, and the mirror to the bathroom was broken and all over the floor, Yeah we have a four year that picks stuff up off the ground, Needless to say we weren't happy. They of course didn't have any other King rooms available. And sent someone out IMMEDIATELY. The other reason we chose the hotel was it had a pool. Took our son swimming in what we thought was a FAMILY FRIENDLY pool, again to be mistaken by the group of elder(40-50 year old) men drinking and smoking at pool side. At first, they didn't bother us too much, but as time moved forward they got more rowdy. The carpets were never cleaned EVER! Friday (August 21) it rained but once we got back to the hotel, we wanted to try swimming again, The pool was closed due to the rain, but again it stopped once we got back! Went to the front desk to ask if we could swim and the old man was sleeping on the sofa in the VERY SMALL lobby. Then got very irritated that I asked and woke him up. Sent what seemed to be the only housekeeper/maintenance guy out to allow us to swim.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneychick1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Booked this hotel for its proximity to princeton university & price. The rooms were excellent and the service was good. The hotel managers were very friendly and had many tips on getting around.

The only drawback was the expensive cabs around princeton. A 6 mile journey costs ard 22$. A relatively painless and cheaper alternative to get to princeton univ from here is to take bus 600 (which stops in front of the hotel) to princeton junction (fare $1.9) and the dinky from there (fare $2.25). Expect the journey to take 1 Hour !

Would definately recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, service & proximity to princeton.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingMagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I had a hard time finding affordable hotels in central NJ, so I settled for this HoJo at $86/night for nonsmoking king bed (they told me they don't have nonsmoking queen). I got a large room with decent workspace and free wifi, though I couldn't get the username/password to work. NJ is muggy in the summer, so our carpet always felt slightly damp, even with the AC on. The bathroom, with its trademark HoJo thin, rough towels, was mostly fine, except the toilet was placed too close to the sink, which made it a little awkward. I wish HoJo had an eco-friendly policy of letting its customers choose to not get fresh towels/soap/shampoo every day, but otherwise the cleaning staff did a good job. If I had to come back to central NJ, I'd willingly stay here again, though it's not something I'd get excited about.

  • Liked — easy access to 95 and Rt. 1
  • Disliked — damp carpets
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over Memorial Day weekend. It was one of the less expensive places in the area that takes pets, and we have had pretty good experience with Howard Johnson hotels elsewhere. We booked a king room, which was pretty big. It had a bed, a couch and a chair, coffee table and desk, so would have been adequate size for more than just the two of us. It also had a tv, a mini fridge and a microwave which was convenient. The only issue was the noise from the adjoining room - the walls were very thin and we could hear everything that happened next door quite clearly. Our neighbor inexplicably blared his tv from 10pm until we left at 7am, making it very hard to sleep. This wasn't really the fault of the hotel, and when we called the front desk, they called the guy next door to have him turn the tv down. If the other guests are courteous, though, it should be a fine place to stay.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrenceville
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
#1 of 3 in Lawrenceville
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn of Princeton
Comfort Inn of Princeton
#2 of 3 in Lawrenceville
92 reviews
2.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Princeton - West Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#5 of 15 in Princeton
435 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
#15 of 15 in Princeton
168 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ewing Princeton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville

Property: Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville
Address: 2995 Brunswick Pike, Lawrenceville, NJ 08648-2413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lawrenceville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lawrenceville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Princeton/Lawrenceville Hotel Lawrenceville
Howard Johnson Lawrenceville
Lawrenceville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing