We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condemn this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lawrenceville
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Condemn this place!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My son and I check in and was given a room on top floor...OMG you open the door and the smell of must and something hits you. The bathroom was full of rust, mattress sunk in middle, furniture old with worn upholstery, and chipped paint. I ran back down to front desk and to my surprise they had an attitude because I wanted a refund and refused to stay in such filth. After about 1/2 hr of back and forth and 911 on speed dial to assist in this situation, I got my refund and left. Im an honest reviewer trust me...you don't want to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayskatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof111, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I am sorry to hear about your experience at the Inn We are taking serious steps to make guests feel welcome and comfortable during their stay at the Inn,
I do apologize for your experience, we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    49
    45
    23
    33
See reviews for
71
36
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Me and my kids stayed over night to go to six flags. First off they only give you two towels and two wash clothes, so I called down to the front desk for more, after waiting over an hour no one ever came so I had to drive to the front to get them. Then the rooms comes with no iron so you have to go to the front desk to get one when I get to the front desk they have no more so we had to wear our clothes wrinkled, mind you the hotel was no where near fully booked. I will never stay here again I rather pay more money and stay some where else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovemylife32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof111, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are extremely sorry for your experience, and hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again, We do provide Hairdryers, Iron and Iron boards in our Superior King rooms as a standard feature, for all other guests we provide them at our front desk.
Once again my sincere apologies for your the unpleasant stay
and we hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lawrenceville hotels

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at this location due to it being close to Princeton University! From the moment I checked in till I checked out ( 3 days ) the staff was extremely friendly and professional. The room was extremely clean but just a bit small but still met my needs. The front desk staff is top notch and housekeeping thorough! The only thing that I would change would be the "breakfast".
But that isn't a deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barber0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof111, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for giving us your feedback, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us,We have been recently renovated 100% SMOKE FREE PROEPRTY with new amenities in the rooms with large flat screen TVs, Plush high end bedding, New Modern design flooring, all this is added to our existing amenities of Free Wi-fi, local calls, long distance calls in the continental U S, Our Superior King rooms with large workstation, in room coffee microwave refrigerator, Free expanded cable including HBO CNN ESPN and more.
I will positively share your feedback with my team.
We look forward to your future stays, and appreciate your business Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Advantages:
1. The hotel is a 10 minute drive to Princeton University in one direction, and the Trenton/Mercer Airport in the other. There are many routes to choose from to get to Princeton, and for the airport, it is an interstate the whole way there.
2. There are two large shopping centers within one mile from the hotel; the Mercer Mall (an outdoor "big box" center), and the Quaker Bridge Mall, an indoor center with Lord and Taylor, JC Penney and more.
3. The price was much lower than other hotels in the area. I paid $80 for a king room, when other hotels in the area wanted over $150.
4. The staff was very friendly, at both check in and check out.
5. It is very easy to access Hwy 1, I-95 and I-295 from the hotel.
6. The rooms have been renovated with beautiful red decors, large flat screen TV's, and very comfortable beds.

Disadvantages:
1. The hotel has outdoor corridors. This means that you can not keep the curtains open, or else people walking by on the outdoor corridor can look in your room. There was a guest from the neighboring room smoking outside my room on the second floor hallway throughout the evening, which was unpleasant.

Conclusion:
I would definitely choose to stay at this location again. I would highly recommend it for travelers visiting the city or university of Princeton, and also for people flying in or out of the Trenton/Mercer Airport.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, choose a room on the back side of the hotel. These are away from Hwy 1 and facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhorns1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof111, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am so glad to hear about your stay,We have been recently renovated and our a 100% SMOKE FREE PROEPRTY with large flat screen TVs, Plush high end bedding, New Modern design flooring, all this is added to our existing amenities of Free Wi-fi, local calls, long distance calls in the continental U S, Our Superior King rooms with large workstation, in room coffee microwave refrigerator, Free expanded cable including HBO CNN ESPN and more.
I will positively share your feedback with my team.
We look forward to your future stays, and appreciate your business Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Princeton location overnight. Only a short trip to help our friends move. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and upgrades to the room. Large flat screen, super clean linens and what looked like a brand new mattress.
Not a bug or critter in sight, to my relief.

The staff made check-in and out seamless. Also, great rate ($80 tax included) compared to the other hotels in the area. Was so pleased, we are trying another Red Roof this weekend with friends. Hope it lives up to this one.

Room Tip: Ask for the room right next to the reception office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWTisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof111, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for giving us your feedback, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, We have been recently been renovated to a 100% SMOKE FREE PROEPRTY with new amenities in the rooms with large flat screen TVs, Plush high end bedding, New Modern design flooring, all this is added to our existing amenities of Free Wi-fi, local calls, long distance calls in the continental U S, Our Superior King rooms with large workstation, in room coffee microwave refrigerator, Free expanded cable including HBO CNN ESPN and more.
I will positively share your feedback with my team.
We look forward to your future stays, and appreciate your business Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We've stayed at this Red Roof many, many times when doing business in Princeton. It is reasonably well maintained, although occasionally we find that the maids have slacked off. (E.g., the towel I just found hanging on the back of the bathroom door.) The main disadvantage is the traffic on US 1. First of all, it can take you five minutes just to exit the parking lot. Second, the traffic noise is really bad if you happen to get stuck in the front building. If you can get in the back building where the office is or on the side of a building away from Route 1, it's a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing away from Route 1. Best is on the back of the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof111, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for giving us your feedback, sorry to hear that the occasional housekeeping slacking off, I have shared with them the importance of being consistent in providing quality services,We have been recently renovated and our a 100% SMOKE FREE PROEPRTY with new amenities in the rooms with large flat screen TVs, Plush high end bedding, New Modern design flooring, all this is added to our existing amenities of Free Wi-fi, local calls, long distance calls in the continental U S, Our Superior King rooms with large workstation, in room coffee microwave refrigerator, Free expanded cable including HBO CNN ESPN and more.

We look forward to your future stays, and appreciate your business Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff was friendly but were not knowledgeable about the area. The room was just okay but I felt it could have been cleaner. I chose this hotel because of the proximity to the activities that we would be doing. But the main road where this is located has horrible traffic. It was almost impossible to get out of the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof111, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I am extremely sorry for your experience, was not up to your expectations

Hoping you will stay with us in the future and enjoy our 100% smoke free property with large flat screen tv's and plush beddiing.Free Wi-fi, and local and long distance calls,Free Expanded cable including HBO,CNN and ESPN.

We appreciate your business and Look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrenceville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn of Princeton
Comfort Inn of Princeton
#2 of 3 in Lawrenceville
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
#15 of 15 in Princeton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Princeton - West Windsor
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
447 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#11 of 15 in Princeton
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing

Property: Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
Address: 3203 US Highway 1, I-95/295 at US 1 North, Exit #67/67-A, Lawrenceville, NJ 08648-2409
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lawrenceville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lawrenceville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 100% Smoke-Free Red Roof Princeton we are located less than 6 miles from the New Jersey State Capital in Trenton and Historic Princeton. We are conveniently located off Route 1, near I-295. Come visit central New Jersey with its mix of educational locations, historical sights, fine dining and shopping and research facilities in all industries. The Inn is 5 miles from Princeton University, Princeton Theological Seminary, Westminster Choir College, Rider University and The College of New Jersey. Numerous Fortune 500 companies are all within 10 miles including Dow Jones, SAR, Bristol Myer Squibb, Pfizer, Novo Disk and Educational Testing Service. Shopping is close by with Mercer Mall, Market Fair, Quaker Bridge Mall and downtown Princeton. History buff? The American Revolution was saved at the Battles of Trenton and Princeton. Both these historical sites as well as Washington’s Crossing with a new Visitor’s Center and restored parts of the Delaware and Raritan Canal are within a 15 minute drive. Sports is also featured in the area. Several golf courses both public and private as well as Mercer County Park with tennis, biking, seasonal ice rink and walking trails offer outdoor activity year round. The Trenton Thunder, a New York Yankee AA team plays in Waterfront Park, a fifteen minute drive. The Inn offers Newly Renovated Rooms, complimentary WiFi access, free parking, lobby coffee, complimentary local and long distance calls. One well behaved pet is welcome at no charge. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will make sure to take care of all your needs to make you feel confident, significant and delighted. No matter what brings you our way, we thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Princeton and hope to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Princeton Hotel Lawrenceville
Red Roof Inn Lawrenceville
Lawrenceville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing