We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lawrenceville
Sterling, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 day stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Alyssia at the checkin desk and Detra made the checkin smooth and quick. Both were helpfull with any question about the Inn and the surrounding area. Mr. Michael Whalen the general manager greeted my wife and myself as if we were family.We had a great experiance and look foward to returning in the future

Room Tip: First floor is better if your troubled with steps as I am and in most cases only a few steps to unlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    49
    42
    21
    30
See reviews for
65
35
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I booked online, sight unseen, and was not disappointed. 2-night stay tax and all $166.15.
I was in a spacious King suite with flat screen tv, a great work-space and Wi-Fi, frig and microwave. I will be glad when ALL Red Roof Inn's provide breakfast for your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackLily527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The room itself was adequate. The la crosse tournament was going on in Princeton that weekend, so we were grateful to get a room at all. And unlike the more upscale hotel at which we had been staying earlier in the week, the rate included wifi and a refrigerator (although, alas, only decaf coffee for the coffeemaker).

It took a while to check in: not sure whether it was because they were really that busy, or whether they could have been more efficient.

When we were checking in, the woman ahead of us in line was actually already a guest, and needed to get a new room key because hers had derezzed. The front desk clerk explained to her that this was an occupational hazard of keeping one's room key in one's wallet, near the credit cards' magnetic strips. (Don't worry; this detail turns out to be important later.)

We stayed two nights, and returned to our room the second evening to find that my key, too, had derezzed. I went to the front desk to get a new key while my husband continued to unload the car.

I told the front desk clerk that the key had derezzed. She then asked me for photo id, which I thought was a little silly, because she had been the same clerk who had checked us in the night before. After carefully inspecting my driver's license, she then told me that she couldn't give me a new key, because the room was under my husband's name, not mine, so I would need to go get him.

The best part of the story: my husband had left his key in the room in its little paper envelope the entire time, never exposing it to any credit cards, but it, too, was derezzed. This is not a magnetic accident; this is a deliberate policy on the motel's part.

This is ridiculous. Which is more likely: that I concocted an elaborate plot to ambush another guest in their Red Roof Inn room, for which I had prepared by checking into another room (hence explaining the room key I had) and supplying a fake id (so that they couldn't trace the dastardly deed to me after I showed her my photo id (in which case, why wouldn't I just make a fake id giving my name as the person I wanted to ambush?)), or that I was really a hotel guest, and my card (which I have in my hand), had just derezzed, especially given that this seems to be the motel's policy for all guests who stay more than one night?

Accusing every guest of being a dangerous criminal and requiring them to provide evidence of their innocence is not really what I would call hospitable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solargecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof111, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We value our guest's feedback on their stay. We do require that guests show identification at check in and when coming to the desk to ask for another key. This is for the security of both the guest and the Inn. This policy is widespread in the hotel industry. I do not know of any hotels that do not have this policy. Additional keys are given to the registered guest for the room. A new key lock system was installed shortly before your stay. This is an upgrade over the prior system, we have had some growing pains with it.
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Michael Whalen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

It's 3:30 am. The smell of a soapy or cleaning substance has me awake writing this as I cannot sleep.

This is the 2nd room I tried too. I'm tempted to finish the night's sleep in the car as morning cannot come fast enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bpinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Red Roof Lawrenceville. We value our guests feedback to help us improve our product and service . I am sorry that you were disatisfied with your stay.
We use cleaning products that have the least amount of odor while remaing effective. I regret that this was not the case during your stay.
Thank you for staying with us. it is my hope that we will be better able to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Michael Whalen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very busy Red Roof Inn that moves a lot of people in and out. Our King Superior room did have a mini-refridge and microwave (which I didn't not try), but there was no hair dryer. That's OK because the electrical outlet did not work near the sink and mirror, which meant that the coffee maker with missing pieces wouldn't work either. I was able to easily get a cup of coffee in the lobby. Over all the place did not give you a sense of confidence that things were taken care of. But there was plenty of hot water and the shower worked well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at the Red Roof Lawrenceville. We value our guest's feedback and input to help us improve our product and service.
I am sorry that all the items in your room were not in working order during your stay. This is not our usual operating standard. I want you to know that we are taking the steps needed to prevent a future occurance.
Thank you for staying with us.
Michael Whalen
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Lawrenceville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Sketchy location, dirty office which was visible to the public since they left the blinds open. People already in the lobby complaining that rooms were undone and looking like someone had already slept there, very seedy looking people hanging outside their rooms smoking and others looking high/drunk with visibly open sores...words cannot express how nasty this hotel was. We even saw garbage on the ice machine! This was a last minute emergency reservation, but I rather
sleep in my car!!!!!. Would certainly not let my children spend one minute there! This place should be called a homeless sheltet, not even close to a decent motel! Luckily Hotels.com was understanding and was able to refund us our money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvmaboyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trp Advisor. We value our guests feedback. I am sorry that you were disatisfied with your stay. Please accept my apolgy. The conditions you describe are certainly not our normal operating standards.We are using your review as a teaching tool for our team to stress the importance of guest perception and feedback.It is our expectation that this will make a difference in our appearence.
I do not know when your future plans will bring you to the area. If they do , I would ask that you give us an opportunity to show you what a great stay should be.
Sincerely,
Michael Whalen
General Mnager
Red Roof Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I would not recommend this place. Our non-smoking room reeked of smoke upon checkin, in which the front desk representative was miserable. It was easily available but still cost nearly $100 for a night in June. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof111, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for your response to your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn. We value our guest's feedback. I am sorry your stay did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apology.
The issue of smoking guests in non smoking one can present a challenge. While we strive to treat every room where this occurs, I regret this was not the case during your stay.
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to better serving you in the future.
Michael Whalen
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Princeton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrenceville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn of Princeton
Comfort Inn of Princeton
#2 of 3 in Lawrenceville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
#15 of 15 in Princeton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Princeton - West Windsor
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing

Property: Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
Address: 3203 Brunswick Pike, I-95/295 at US 1 North, Exit #67/67-A, Lawrenceville, NJ 08648
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lawrenceville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lawrenceville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 100% Smoke-Free Red Roof Princeton we are located less than 6 miles from the New Jersey State Capital in Trenton and Historic Princeton. We are conveniently located off Route 1, near I-295. Come visit central New Jersey with its mix of educational locations, historical sights, fine dining and shopping and research facilities in all industries. The Inn is 5 miles from Princeton University, Princeton Theological Seminary, Westminster Choir College, Rider University and The College of New Jersey. Numerous Fortune 500 companies are all within 10 miles including Dow Jones, SAR, Bristol Myer Squibb, Pfizer, Novo Disk and Educational Testing Service. Shopping is close by with Mercer Mall, Market Fair, Quaker Bridge Mall and downtown Princeton. History buff? The American Revolution was saved at the Battles of Trenton and Princeton. Both these historical sites as well as Washington’s Crossing with a new Visitor’s Center and restored parts of the Delaware and Raritan Canal are within a 15 minute drive. Sports is also featured in the area. Several golf courses both public and private as well as Mercer County Park with tennis, biking, seasonal ice rink and walking trails offer outdoor activity year round. The Trenton Thunder, a New York Yankee AA team plays in Waterfront Park, a fifteen minute drive. The Inn offers Newly Renovated Rooms, complimentary WiFi access, free parking, lobby coffee, complimentary local and long distance calls. One well behaved pet is welcome at no charge. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will make sure to take care of all your needs to make you feel confident, significant and delighted. No matter what brings you our way, we thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Princeton and hope to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Princeton Hotel Lawrenceville
Red Roof Inn Lawrenceville
Lawrenceville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing