We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute place, big menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #15 of 91 Restaurants in Lawrenceville
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
367 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Cute place, big menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

First time trying Joe's it was good. Our order was screwed up a bit but they took care of it quickly. The food is so so. Different then the Red Lobster, not like your typical shore seafood experience but good for the area. Will be back to try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yummimummi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    41
    36
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton Junction, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a bit noisey for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Joes is a chain through out the area. The food tends to be a bit salty for us. this location was a fun time but not the type of sea food we enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Damianz666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“very bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Joe's had very awsome food up until I found a hair in my food. The manager said he would take care of it and asked me if I wanted something else I said no but I would want more ribs. I then couldn't eat the next set cause I lost my appetite and asked for a togo box I was then charged for my ribs and the explanation was because I was taking the second ones home I had to pay for them. To me I shouldn't have to pay for them at all they were replacing my ones with the hair and they put on the reciept it was because I didn't like them. What a crock I love them up until the hair. The manager said he would take off the appetizer and gave me a coupon for a free appetizer with the purchase of and entree and it was only good for that location.I'm from pa not nj so I have no use for it. I will never visit that joe's again. I have been to other joe's the food was good as well as the atmosphere and I didn't have to wait twenty minutes or more for food. I will eat at joe's again just not that one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
186 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stopped for lunch a little after 1 PM on a Monday. Restaurant about half full. Almost ten minutes before drink order and we ordered food at the same time. Took another 35 minutes to get a couple of sandwiches and fries. Food was okay -- nothing great. The fries could have been hotter. The chicken BLT was delivered without the lettuce and bacon which sort of defeats ordering something as a BLT. Never offered drink refills, although the server did ask how the food was about ten minutes after delivering it. We ordered a side of hush puppies, but that was a mistake. Flattened out into thick circles, they could have been hockey pucks. We've had great hush puppies at many places and I thought a seafood restaurant, even in NJ, could produce something better than those. We had never been here before and we realize the name says crab shack, but we were hoping for more seafood that was not shellfish. We're used to the crab houses in Maryland which have far more choices for fish, as well as the shellfish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serenitywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Low quality, high prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took my family out for my daughter's 21st birthday and was disappointed with the quality of the food. Granted, this is not a upscale restaurant, but I would expect it to be better at preparing the food that they specialize in. Also, the prep choices were limited....steamed or fried.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al168Trenton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing