We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Good Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohana Grill

Ohana Grill
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Lavallette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Ohana Grill offers the finest seafood cooked to perfection with inviting dishes to tantalize you taste buds. We offer steak, pork, and chicken dishes for those who aren't seafood eaters. We have tried to design a menu with something for everyone without being overwhelming. We hope your Ohana will join ours soon!! Mahalo
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Went here last weekend for the first time. Was more than Happy with the choice. Service was great and the food was great. The food was so fresh and done just the way we had ordered and their presentation of it made it even more appealing. I know we will be returning for many more dinners here. Worth the price. Now that it summer I would suggest making reservations as the restaurant is not very Large. I'm sure you will enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    25
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sophiticated dining at a comfy Shore spot. I "don't miss" experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

A welcome addition to the Barnegat Beach Island/Lavallette scene. In the land of quick food for our summer visitors, there is finally a sophisticated, attractive, chef-owned, open kitchen spot to dine. The food is very good: I have a favorite appetizer, the Crab Balls, that I cannot not order. It's BYOB, which is nice budget-wise, but it also allows a quieter, more romantic setting than the Shore's buzzing bar spots. It's a smaller venue. Nice for a special occasion, visiting friends, or having a conversation over diner - a lost art!

Day boat scallops over a mushroom, spinach and crab risotto, oh my! Strawberry Tofu Chopped Salad - arugula, strawberries, pecans, basil, tofu, gorgonzola cheese, olive oil and lemon pepper. Real foodie food. Ok, I'm not a big dessert guy, but the plate-size hot chocolate chip cookie resting in a hot iron skillet with melting ice cream over the top... Well, it's lush - irresistible! (And big enough to share!).

Thursday's have a price fixed special menu for $25 for a full 3-course dinner. Deal!

During the peak months, it can be busy, and you will need to allow for the fact that everything is prepared to order. The spacing between courses can be a bit slow when the place is busy, but its OK. It still is, after all, the Shore, relax a bit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Price fix Thursday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

They do a wonderful price fix Thursday off season. Very very good! Excellent bread pudding! Fish was very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Hidden gem in lavallette! Great food and atmosphere to enjoy date night or a table of ten. Nice menu with lots of seafood. Buffalo calamari a must have.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great BYOB restaurant at the Jersey shore with a menu to please everyone. Mussels and clams are exceptional and can be served two different ways, Excellent mushroom, spinach & crab risotto topped with seared scallops. Finish off you meal with any one of the delicious desserts they offer. The homemade cheesecake and berry cobbler served on our visit were excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandma8206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohana Grill also viewed

 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing