We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Respite!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lavallette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lamplight Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lavallette
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here in August 2012 before Sandy hit. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was spotless. The pool was clean and seating was comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay and would happily return post Sandy.











Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Roni973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 35 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

I cancelled my reservation 48 hours in advance of my trip because of a hospitalization, and they charged me for canceling. They did not disclose to me that they needed a week's notice to waive the charge. Who knows they are going to the hospital a week in advance????

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
10  Thank BriansGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just stayed at the Lamplight in August 2013, and were pleased at the post-Sandy renovations. Nice clean room and beautiful bathroom. However, the air conditioner was so loud we couldn't use it. Also, they claim the pool is heated, but it doesn't seem to be. All the adults we talked to complained about it, and no one wanted to go in. Plus it's the tiniest hotel pool I've ever seen -- maybe 20' x 10'.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
8  Thank Maryanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foofoojack, Owner at The Lamplight Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

The Lamplight's pool is at a constant temperature of 80 Degrees. It is a heated pool not a hot tub. If the temperature drops below 80 degrees, which is usual first thing in the morning, the heater kicks on. As for the size, we have never claimed it to be a large pool. We are a small quaint, family motel and our pool is proportionate to our size.
If you informed the front desk that you were having a problem with the Air, a replacement unit would have been brought right in. A brand new unit was put in Room 2 on Wednesday, August 21, when the new occupants told us of the problem.

Anmarie Cerami
Owner/Manager
Lamplight Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lamplight is in a great location and the rooms are clean but the smoking area is in the common area right next to the pool. We had to walk throught the smoke to get to our room and smell it the entire time we were in the pool.( Most of the smoking was yhe owner) My children do not need to be inhaling second hand smoke......wish they had a smoking area away from the rooms!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rceljbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foofoojack, Manager at The Lamplight Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Once again, The Lamplight allows our smoking guests, a smoking section. Our Rooms are smoke free, and smokers do have a section on our patio and sun deck. When making a reservation, if you had asked for a location away from that section, we would have gladly put you in a room further from the patio.

General Manager
Lamplight Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Lamplight Motel every summer. It was our first time back since Hurricane Sandy struck and we weren't sure what to expect. The motel was great before, but it is back and better than ever. The first floor rooms were redone following Sandy and were extremely comfortable and cheery. We were greeted with a friendly smile by the owner, Ann Marie, who checked us in and showed us to our room. She makes you feel like you're "home." The staff is extremely friendly and efficient and anything we needed they were right there to provide. Except for the heat and humidity, the weather was great. We relaxed by the pool soaking up the rays. The atmosphere is laid back and there are no crazy parties as you might expect to see in neighboring towns. Can't wait until our next trip "home."

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gramma3352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

For years my husband and I have stayed at the Lamplight during the week of July 4th. After taking a few years off, we decided to head back to Lavallette to spend our vacation. The last time we visited the LampLight was prior to Superstorm Sandy (Labor Day weekend 2012) so we were a bit unsure what to expect. We were reassured by the Lamplight that the majority of everything in the Lavallette area was back up and running.

As we drove down Route 35 we noticed the destruction and damage throughout Mantoloking and it was quite sad. Some homes were spared, while others were completely gone. We were were relieved when we arrived in Lavallette and could see that everything looked pretty much as if nothing happened.

We arrived at the Lamplight and were welcomed back by the owner with a friendly smile. It was great to see her. She checked us in and showed us pictures of what happened after the storm in Lavallette and the surrounding areas. It was just mind blowing to see all the damage and come back to the Lamplight and never guess anything had happened. We headed to our room and she told us how all the first floor rooms had water damage and were redone. We noticed the new decor and added new features (flat screen wall mounted tvs, additional furniture, etc.). Just like our previous stays, our room was very comfortable and clean (and if not better then before).

The weather was not the greatest during our stay, but we made the best of it by relaxing by the pool or catching a few late afternoon rays upstairs on the rooftop patio. The majority of businesses were reopened in Lavallette (with the exception of places such as Salty's, Bayside Cafe). We did walk to the bay side and saw more homes that had been damaged. The beach in Lavallette itself was back and looked a bit larger then last year.

The Lamplight is very convenient to go to and from the beach and is centrally located to nearby restaurants and shops. This place has worked hard to bounce back after the storm and it shows. The friendly staff makes you feel that you are back "home".

We are headed back "home" this Labor Day and hope to have better weather!

Room Tip: If you like a quieter room, choose a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJSusan-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This is just a clean, friendly, perfectly located little place. Very pleasant staff and for the location, not a bad price. Quiet and no crazy parties like you see in Seaside a few miles South. Convenient to the only bar in Lavallette and to some terrific restaurants. Plus the coffee is really good. Only problem I have is the small TV, but by next year that will be changing also. I will see you again next June or sooner.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleBud77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lamplight Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplight Motel

Address: 204 Grand Central Avenue, Lavallette, NJ 08735
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lavallette
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lavallette
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing