We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food / Poor Service”
Review of Tortuga's Cocina - CLOSED

Tortuga's Cocina
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food / Poor Service”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The food is always great here, but service can be slow. Cash only - no credit cards (unless you order from the bar, which is a separate restaurant, and can make things VERY confusing if you are not familiar with them).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NJlovesVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    31
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The food at Tortuga's is consistently good. We are regulars and love to order the Enchiladas Supremas and Nachos when there. Service is okay. The restaurant area is small so the wait can be lengthy and making a reservation may not help. We waited 30 mins... with a reservation - so not sure about that reservation process - but the meal can be worth it. Chips and salsa are good and provided free but portion is very small and they don't readily offer free refills like many mexican restaurants. Regardless the food is fresh and well prepared.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrmfazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“great food, comfortable atmosphere and good prices”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If my schedule allowed it, I would eat here daily. Being that Mexican food is one of my favorites combined with that I like to eat locally, Tortuga's keeps sucking me back in for more. The food is always well prepared and plentiful. Everything is fresh and the decor is cozy and accommodates just about any group (young family or group of friends.)
I almost always get the Fish Tacos which are prepared better than anywhere else I've tried them but I will every once in a while jump on one of their listed specials on the blackboard and I have never been disappointed with any selection. The grilled chicken on the salad that my wife usually orders always has a nice grilled texture and flavor. Since she doesn't eat it all I will insist on taking home the doggie bag so I can eat it for breakfast the next morning. I've had the fajitas which are extremely flavorful among other items from the menu. I'll never hesitate to recommend it to my friends and family as many of them have been turned on to Tortuga's

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randy_schafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Mexican Food on the East Coast”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm a regular here. Funky Mexican restaurant attached to an old school Irish bar - both are authentic, nothing contrived, and it's a beautiful marriage. Always hopping. Broad menu of all common Mexican food and many uncommon dishes. Moles are phenomenal, fish dishes are fresh, the standards are done as well as you'll find anywhere east of Texas. I always leave with a happy belly and a smile on my face. Damn near perfect. If there was a little more garlic in the guacamole, I'd move in.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Mexican food in beautiful Lambertille!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here with a small group of friends last night. We ordered the special, and regular fish tacos. Both far exceeded our expectations. Service was fast and friendly, the ambiance reminds us of a cozy authentic Mexican cantina. We've eaten here many times and never disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomCriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga's Cocina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing