We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Business with a Personal Touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lambertville House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lambertville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2006

I have stayed at the Lambertville House about five times over the past year. It is a great destination for business meetings, as it has both small and large meeting rooms, caters in meals and snacks, and has all the typical business amenities (wireless connectivity that really works, projectors, etc.) At the same time, you feel as if you are getting a treat to stay at an historic inn, with many creature comforts and none of the motel smell of even many expensive business-class hotel rooms.

While the furnishings are mostly not antiques (apparently, the hotel was plundered by a shady owner some decades ago), they fit in with the environment. I would mention that the wooden beds can be squeaky with every toss and turn! The outfitting and technology, from plumbing to heating to wireless, are all up to date.

The staff members are friendly, helpful, and even get to know the likes and dislikes of repeat customers. The setting of Lambertville, just a short walk across the bridge from New Hope, PA, is charming in all seasons. Abundant restaurants in a variety of price ranges are eager to serve you (check schedules; your first choices may be closed on different days of the week).

The overall experience is lovely, but not inexpensive. A double is typically close to $200, including taxes. For leisure travelers, you are choosing it for its charm (and included continental breakfast), not just as a place to sleep. For business travelers, it offers a refreshing meeting locale that feels special at a standard business price.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank Proscopina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 248 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2006

Very nice hotel. Large rooms, great mattress and bathroom. Nice bar. Very friendly hotel staff. No restaurant, but just 1/2 block to a great restaurant - Andiamo - lots of other restaurants close by too. Would for sure stay there again. Very nice walking path along the canal. Easy walk across the bridge to New Hope, Pa. Lots of nice shops on same street with hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorthyKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2005

Stayed at the Lambertville House with my wife for our wedding anniversary. Hotel is a historic building that has been extensively renovated and upgraded. It is in the heart of Lambertville, and thus is walking distance to everything, including New Hope, PA across the bridge. Lambertville, however, beats New Hope, hands down. Many good restaurants and antique shops in town. Inn has a cozy bar on the ground floor, complimentary breakfast in the AM, off street parking, and use of a nearby health club for guests. Rooms are furnished with classic furniture and fireplace. Baths are large with deep Jacuzzi tubs. Not for children, but very cozy and romantic place for couples. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank exec1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2005

We recently stayed at the Inn for a long weekend and stayed in one of the rooms on the courtyard. The room was great, although the courtyard is really a brick parking lot. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The bar in the afternoon was a wonderful place to stop for a drink in the afternoon. Plenty of great places to eat and shop in town and across the bridge in New Hope.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SafariToStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Husband and I went to Lambertville to attend a wedding. Here are the Pros and Cons to our stay.

The Good:
We had a queen balcony room overlooking the street. The balcony was terrific. It was worth every penny extra. Room was clean and spacious. Central air was nice especially since the traffic can be quite noisy. Breakfast delivered to the room- we loved the ham and cheese plate (brie and sliced ham with a baguette) fresh fruit was beautiful. The bar was a wonderful retreat to unwind before bed. Staff at the bar both nights were exceptional. I loved that they had a selection of great champagnes by the glass. Comfy chairs to sit in too. They had a coffee and tea bar every morning starting at 7am in the hall which was nice. The toiletries were very nice and I LOVED the scent of the soaps. The CD collection at the front desk was a great touch. You could pick out CD's to play in your room from Duke Ellington, Sara Vaughn to Christmas carols. The radio in the room also had nature sounds to play to sleep to. We loved that and played "the ocean" every night and fell asleep promptly. It was also great that you didn't need a "2 night minimum" since we were only going to stay for one night, but after a day of exploring Lambertville and neighboring New Hope PA, we decided to stay another night.

The Bad: I guess it is a little pricey; we paid $295 for a Queen Balcony room on Saturday, and $208 for the same room on a Sunday. Getting in and out of the tub to shower was a drag since it was a Jacuzzi tub; a separate shower would have been nice. Check out was at 11am, I thought that was a little early, especially since check in is at 4pm. The room was a bit noisy from the street for me, but my husband loved to watch the world go by. I really have nothing "bad" to say about our stay or room.

Nit Picking: First night arrival, host wasn't particularly friendly. Upon entering the room we noticed that they leave you complimentary sparkling and still water (a nice touch) however, the sparkling was empty from the previous guest and never replaced. The tub needed a good scrubbing. Robes were nice, but had small stains on them. The ham and cheese plate was only offered on Saturday but not Sunday which I thought was weird, it was just bread cheese and ham. Something easy to get at the store and something that would keep for days if refrigerated. There was no exhaust fan in bathroom and window was painted shut, so after a shower or tub it was very steamy and hard to dress in.

Overall, this was the nicest place to stay in Lambertville- Hands down. We almost went to the inn at Lambertville Station, and actually had Sunday Brunch there, and we were SO GLAD we did not stay there. The rooms were very run down and it was dirty. Brunch was ok though, but it felt very "banquet like". Again, the Lambertville House is great if you only need to stay one night as most of the inns and B&B's require 2 night stays on weekends. If you are noise sensitive the balcony room in the front may not be for you, however, there were balcony rooms facing the back courtyard which looked lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Homergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2005

My partner and I stayed at Lambertville House over a weekend for our anniversary. We had a deluxe queen suite with a wonderful private balcony overlooking the street. We had our breakfast delivered to our room, and were able to eat it on the balcony in our PJs, which was so nice. The room was tastefully decorated and had a great jacuzzi tub, along with all the other expected amenities (bathrobes, toiletries, parking, etc.).

The only drawback was that one of the desk clerks was a bit abrupt when we first arrived; however, when we came back to check in the owner was there and he was very gracious and took excellent care of us.

We had a fabulous dinner at Anton's at the Swan - very romantic and excellent food.

I would definitely stay at Lambertville House again.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uga93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2005

We enjoyed our early June 2005 three-day stay at the Lambertville House’s carriage house, which contains a queen-size bed and a large, 2-person jacuzzi for about $200 per night. The hotel houses mainly upper-middle class guests and has the following pro and cons.

Pro:
* Only about a block from the Lambertville-New Hope bridge & free parking.
* Friendly concierge desk that even mailed us back an item we accidently left after we checked-out.
* Breakfast - good quiche, coffee, and orange juice.
* Handicap accessible historic hotel includes elevator, ramps, etc.
* Room includes cable TV, refrigerator, hair dryer, but no microwave.

Con:
* The room has a 1 square foot stain in the carpet near the entryway.
* Breakfast - cold, average tasting, baked goods that were likely made elsewhere.
* Some inadequate staffing - Twice the hotel operator took over 15 rings to answer the phone and not overly helpful but ok night front desk persons.
* Local and toll-free cost about a $1 per call.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank Bill_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.1 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
126 reviews
4.7 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Doylestown
0.4 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambertville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambertville House Hotel

Address: 32 Bridge St, Lambertville, NJ 08530-2138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lambertville
Price Range: $212 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lambertville House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambertville House Hotel, listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, has been host to discerning guests since 1812. Located near the banks of the Delaware River in Lambertville, New Jersey and walking distance to New Hope, Pennsylvania, the Lambertville House Hotel offers easy access to spectacular restaurants, distinctive shopping and vibrant culture. Easily accessible from New York and Philadelphia, the Lambertville House blends the beauty of an era gone by with elegant modern conveniences. Each of our luxury hotel rooms has its own unique amenities and distinctively classic touches. All guestrooms have jetted tubs and both high-speed and wireless Internet access. Most guestrooms also have gas fireplaces and some have private balconies. The Lounge at the Lambertville House is an intimate restaurant and lounge with outdoor seating available in warm weather. The Lounge at the Lambertville House is "the" meeting spot in town with a wide selection of fine wines and cocktails served in a relaxed and intimate setting. "Dish" catering is at your service in the kitchen offering small plates with big flavor and a focus on fine cheese and charcuterie. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The Conference Center with its natural lighting, start-of-the-art Audio Visual and gourmet catering services is the perfect location for a business meeting or special event. Trendy gift shops are located right onsite. Lambertville is an antique lover's mecca with distinctive and unique shops for browsing and shopping. Fine art and eclectic galleries are located throughout Lambertville as well as in neighboring New Hope, PA. All are within walking distance of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lambertville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inns Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing