We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for delicious martini's and appetizers! Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lambertville House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lambertville
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stopped in for delicious martini's and appetizers! Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

So very nice! My husband and I stopped by for drinks and appetizers. The service was excellent. We sat outside on the porch and it was great! Can't wait to return for dinner! The bathroom was very clean and all the people who worked inside the Inn were excellent. Will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    71
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
16
151
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in the King court house. The wireless internet did not work. The only place you can pick up wireless internet is in the restaurant area of the main hotel. Even the staff indicated this to me. Thus it shouldn't be advertised. Our room was nicely appointed, but we were not provided a replenishment of shampoo, soap, conditioner etc. for the second night we stayed there and ran out. The keurig coffee that is advertised is only available if you stay in the main house. Parking was iffy. Not always available spaces on busy weekends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love the New Hope, PA/Lambertville, NJ area and decided to make a stop for one night on my way to visit family in north Jersey so I could dine with friends who live nearby. The Lambertville House was recommended, so I gave it a whirl. Lovely place, truly lovely. Authentic and quaint, yet filled with modern conveniences and close to everything these two artist towns have to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxChapelTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

You cannot get much better than the Lambertville House Hotel when looking for a romantic get-away. We have been here dozens of times and each time, we are impressed with the cleanliness, friendly & prompt service and quiet ambiance.

Part of the charm of staying in a place like this is the ambiance of an historical setting. The Lambertville House Hotels strikes the challenging balance between modern comforts with historical respect & reverance. The hotel is impeccably maintained and well-kept.

Rooms are appointed with exceptional attention to detail; just enough to pamper you without overwhelming you with paper or other non-essentials that you are likely to find at other "old fashioned" B&Bs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sienalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

•Room 205 - as soon as we walked in smelled of MILDEW – we asked for another room.
•Room 305 - smelled of bleach and mildew a bit (most likely as it was covered up by the smell of bleach)
• In the evening returned to Room 305 - overwhelmed by the smell of mildew - discovered that the drapes (which hung on both sides of the headboard) and the FABRIC headboard REEKED WITH THE SMELL OF MILDEW.
•Sprayed the pillows with perfume …. Provided no relief
•Placed fresh coffee grounds in a glass on night tables…. Provided no relief.

Finally at 11:30pm we had to get out of bed and get dress , pack all our luggage to try to find another room. The woman on staff at night was very accommodating. She did what she could. She took us to 2 other rooms and THEY ALSO SMELLED MILDEW. We ended up in Room 203, which was the least offensive. Most likely, as there was only one set of drapes – opposite the bed and there was a wooden headboard.

It’s certainly not difficult to find remedies for this situation:
•WINDOWS –THE WINDOWS DIDN’T OPEN - Fix it so windows open.
•WINDOWS AND DOORS SHOULD HAVE SCREENS - so they can be left open.
The one window we were able to open wouldn’t stay open.
Window didn’t have screens so even if that window stayed open we couldn’t leave it open as there’s no way to prevent mosquitoes from entering.
Room 203 had a door to the balcony…. But NO SCREEN DOOR.
If you had screens and a screen door the rooms could be aired out.
It is 2012 - there are so many new innovations; Has the Inn never heard of Phantom Screens for windows and doors? If the Inn doesn’t want to compromise the outside integrity of the building, they can do so with this product.
•DEHUMIDIFIERS:
If you have this large of a mildew issue…. You would think someone would have thought of a dehumidifier. It can run the entire time when the room is empty; and if the noise doesn’t bother the guest while the guest is in the room.
•INN NEEDS TO ADAPT TO ITS SURROUNDINGS:
With all this mildew it is obvious that you cannot have so many fabric items – i.e. full drapes and fabric headboard.

Please don’t insult my intelligence and give me the excuse it’s been humid or it’s an old building.
I find it difficult to believe this is the first humid weather in this Inn’s existence. The amount of smell in these rooms is certainly not just from one week of humidity.


In addition
•If you are not at least 5 feet 5 inches, you’ll be lucky if you don’t break your neck getting into the tubs in order to take a shower.
•Room 203 had a HIGH bed, I needed to pull over the mildew chair, so I could climb into bed.
Did the Inn every hear of BED STEPS?, they’re not a new invention
•Do they not have a housekeeping/maintenance supervisor to check on the room conditions and take corrective action?
Room 305 had so many cobwebs at the drapes and ceiling…. By the amount they’ve been there a long time .
Room 203:
Shower handle needs to be tightened
Iron Rack in closet needs to be remounted
TV Cabinet doors do not stay open – cabinet needs to be tilted back

I find this totally unacceptable that guests are subject to sleep in conditions as stated.
I DEFINITELY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank NORJONNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambertvilleHouse, Manager at The Lambertville House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We regret that your stay was so unpleasant. We take great care to provide comfortable accommodations for our guests with cleanliness and attention to detail of paramount importance.
After very careful inspection of all soft goods in the rooms you occupied there was no evidence of any mildew.
De-humidifiers are used to remove moisture that occurs in the summer months. You are correct in stating they are quiet and unobtrusive to our guests.
Clearly we were not up to standards on your stay.
Please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Inn is in a good location, nice ambiance and close to everything. Bed was comfortable, but damp, damp, damp. We stayed in one of the premium queen rooms which while it was clean, smelled of mildew and everything had a wet feel to it. There is a ductless air conditioner in the room which cranked at full speed, but did nothing to dry the air or bedding, or towels. The windows appeared not the open. We only stayed one night, before going on to visit friends elsewhere. We ended up with damp, mildew smelling clothing for the entire weekend.

While the breakfast was good, I would probably choose somewhere out in town instead. Atmosphere and service a little lacking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 57Chevylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We did not stay here on this trip as it it quite pricey, but for a small quaint B&B, it was very nice. The front bar has great cocktails and is a comfortable setting for a nice evening drink. The reception hall was beautiful and it was a cute little town to have a wedding.

Room Tip: We did not stay in a room as we were here for just a reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbowsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.1 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
106 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
9.0 mi away
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Brick Hotel
The Brick Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtown
101 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
0.8 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambertville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambertville House Hotel

Property: The Lambertville House Hotel
Address: 32 Bridge St, Lambertville, NJ 08530-2138
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lambertville House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambertville House Hotel, listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, has been host to discerning guests since 1812. Located near the banks of the Delaware River in Lambertville, New Jersey and walking distance to New Hope, Pennsylvania, the Lambertville House Hotel offers easy access to spectacular restaurants, distinctive shopping and vibrant culture. Easily accessible from New York and Philadelphia, the Lambertville House blends the beauty of an era gone by with elegant modern conveniences. Each of our luxury hotel rooms has its own unique amenities and distinctively classic touches. All guestrooms have jetted tubs and both high-speed and wireless Internet access. Most guestrooms also have gas fireplaces and some have private balconies. The Lounge at the Lambertville House is an intimate restaurant and lounge with outdoor seating available in warm weather. The Lounge at the Lambertville House is "the" meeting spot in town with a wide selection of fine wines and cocktails served in a relaxed and intimate setting. "Dish" catering is at your service in the kitchen offering small plates with big flavor and a focus on fine cheese and charcuterie. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The Conference Center with its natural lighting, start-of-the-art Audio Visual and gourmet catering services is the perfect location for a business meeting or special event. Trendy gift shops are located right onsite. Lambertville is an antique lover's mecca with distinctive and unique shops for browsing and shopping. Fine art and eclectic galleries are located throughout Lambertville as well as in neighboring New Hope, PA. All are within walking distance of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lambertville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inns Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing