We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice though a little expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lambertville House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lambertville
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice though a little expensive”
Reviewed February 18, 2008

spent 1 night here in a master suite

room was generally quite good, nice 2 person jacuzzi, gas fireplace didn't really add anything

staff generally helpful

bar downstairs very nice

breakfast a disaster -- in a windowless room and very basic -- for a hotel this price, they really need to offer cooked breakfasts.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mpjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    72
    28
    12
    13
See reviews for
17
155
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

We just spent the weekend at the Lambertville House . This was our 3rd time staying at this historic inn and we have always found it to be outstanding in every way.
The decor in the lobby, sitting areas, and wine bar are both charming and elegant. The guest rooms and their bathrooms are absolutely beautiful and in the fine taste that you would expect at a four diamond inn. The entire inn is immaculate.
We also found the concierge especially pleasant and helpful in recommending restaurants and activities in the area for the weekend.
The continental breakfast buffet that is included offers a full selection of cold breakfast foods.
Lambertville is an interesting little town filled with art galleries, antiques stores, and home decor shops.

  • Liked — the way it was decorated
  • Disliked — I would prefer a hot breakfast.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakely17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

I stay in Lambertville all the time. I mostly stay at Bed & Breakfasts, but I tried this hotel out. I must admit that it is beautiful and very scenic, but the staff are terrible. They are not helpful and seem to wish they were somewhere else. Honestly, this made me wish the same thing. The breakfast was nice that was included, but I just can't get over how unfriendly the staff is. This is a beautiful but VERY expensive place and you'd expect people to be helpful. This IS customer service. I would not recommend this place to anybody. I recently stayed at the Inn at Lambertville Station down the road and they are much more cozy!

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prettygirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memason4, Manager at The Lambertville House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2007
In response to prettygirl34, Maryland June 12, 2007.
Let me first begin by stating that at the Lambertville House, we continuously strive to provide top quality service to all of our guests, as well as provide the most comfortable accommodations during your stay. We very much appreciate your choosing the Lambertville House for your stay in June.
I would like to personally apologize for the poor impression that our staff left with you. I want you to know that I take your comments very seriously and use this type of information to underscore the importance of staff training and the execution of the goals and expectations of our establishment.
I would like to extend a personal invitation to visit the Lambertville House again in an effort to regain your confidence in the amenities and service we pride ourselves on.
Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

Just returned from the Lambertville House, stayed in the Robert Lincoln room. It faces the street, and some could be bothered by the noise. We weren't, but some others checking out with us were. The room was very nice, clean, wi fi was great. We had a great view, with a porch attached to our upstairs room. However, it had not been cleaned for a while, very dusty. They could use a new mattress in this room, it sinks in the middle. It had a nice fireplace and jacuzzi tub. A free breakfast served downstairs every morning. I would return, because it was comfortable and clean, and the people working there very helpful. Very central to all in town.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank S Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

It is so refreshing to stay at a place that does not disappoint. When I called Lambertville House to make our reservations, it was so nice to speak to a friendly & helpful individual. She offered to make our dinner reservations & called back to confirm. Our room was a deluxe king room, very clean, comfortable bed.....everything was very well maintained. Each floor has a complimentary coffee & tea service that is available each morning. My husband & I appreciated the fact that we could get a good cup of coffee before heading down for the continental breakfast. The hotel's bar is very comfortable for a before or after dinner drink.

We ate dinner at the Hamilton Grill Room & highly recommend this restaurant. The food was delicious (some of the best we ever had) !! The service was excellent!

Lambertville House is ideally located in Lambertville, shops are all within walking distance. New Hope is also within walking distance. We are planning to come again during the summer!

  • Liked — Staff, accommodations, and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldallas,pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Great hotel. We stay at this hotel every year for a business event. Great place to stay!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Boucher187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

My boyfriend and I booked the Queen Carriage House Sweet at this beautiful hotel on New Year's Eve night. We were very pleased when we first got to the room because it was gorgeous and we loved the huge jacuzzi tub and fireplace. However, we just as soon realized that there was no hot water. After many calls to the front desk and to the inn keeper, we spent almost the whole night with the owner and plumber going in and out of the room till nearly 10pm. We could not shower, could not go to dinner, and could enjoy any of our time since we had to deal with this problem. Finally the owner told us he would put us up in another inn (he tried to get us to stay at a cheap gross place, but we insisted on the best we could find for 10pm on New Year's Eve). No dinner, no comp stay, no nothing. This from a place that charges btwn $300-$400 per night. I tried emailing the owners agian when I got home and they of course gave me no response-not even an apology. If you are looking for a romantic place with respectable owners then try some place else-perhaps the Barley Sheaf Inn. I was very dissapointed in this place.

  • Liked — The girl at the front desk was very helpful
  • Disliked — No hot water and the owner's ill attempt at compensating us
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shlee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memason4, Manager at The Lambertville House Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2007
In response to shlee10, New York Jan 6, 2007
I would like to offer our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay with us on New Year's Eve 2007. We consider your comments very important as we strive to provide top quality service to all of our guests. The Carriage House suite offers a large two person jetted tub which as you can imagine uses a great deal of water to fill. After time spent determining the cause of the problem and calling in a sub contractor it was purely a matter of waiting for the water to heat again.
It is a disappointment when things do not work exactly as we would like. Our guests comfort is very important to us and we will continue to perfect and improve accommodations and amenities for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.1 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
0.4 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
0.8 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
#2 of 19 in New Hope
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambertville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambertville House Hotel

Property: The Lambertville House Hotel
Address: 32 Bridge St, Lambertville, NJ 08530-2138
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lambertville House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambertville House Hotel, listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, has been host to discerning guests since 1812. Located near the banks of the Delaware River in Lambertville, New Jersey and walking distance to New Hope, Pennsylvania, the Lambertville House Hotel offers easy access to spectacular restaurants, distinctive shopping and vibrant culture. Easily accessible from New York and Philadelphia, the Lambertville House blends the beauty of an era gone by with elegant modern conveniences. Each of our luxury hotel rooms has its own unique amenities and distinctively classic touches. All guestrooms have jetted tubs and both high-speed and wireless Internet access. Most guestrooms also have gas fireplaces and some have private balconies. The Lounge at the Lambertville House is an intimate restaurant and lounge with outdoor seating available in warm weather. The Lounge at the Lambertville House is "the" meeting spot in town with a wide selection of fine wines and cocktails served in a relaxed and intimate setting. "Dish" catering is at your service in the kitchen offering small plates with big flavor and a focus on fine cheese and charcuterie. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The Conference Center with its natural lighting, start-of-the-art Audio Visual and gourmet catering services is the perfect location for a business meeting or special event. Trendy gift shops are located right onsite. Lambertville is an antique lover's mecca with distinctive and unique shops for browsing and shopping. Fine art and eclectic galleries are located throughout Lambertville as well as in neighboring New Hope, PA. All are within walking distance of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lambertville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inns Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing