We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but got the bum's rush”

Hamilton's Grill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Hamilton's Grill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 46 Restaurants in Lambertville
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Union Street
Description: Garden seating inside and out. Catering on and off site: Weddings, Cocktail Parties, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal / Baby Showers, Anniversaries, Graduations, Fundraisers, Birthdays, Christening / Confirmations, Bar / Bat Mitzvahs, Holiday Celebrations, Business Events, Corporate Meetings, Team Building -Cooking Classes. Established in 1986. Canal side, nestled in the European charm of a courtyard near the Delaware River and surrounded by quaint antique shops and art galleries, it is the remarkable creation and signature of award winning Broadway set designer and restaurateur Jim Hamilton, & reflects his one-of-a-kind signature style. Warm, soulful and sophisticated, the Grill Room remains one of the most romantic & unique places to dine in the Northeast. As owner of the popular Hamilton's Grill Room in Lambertville-NJ, Jim Hamilton is well-known in the restaurant and arts community, and his years as a theater set designer gained him a reputation on Broadway and beyond.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food but got the bum's rush”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The service and food were very good. What spoiled it for us is that when we didn't want dessert or coffee, we asked for the check. It was delivered promptly and we provided our signatures on the receipt. However we were still finishing our wine. But a man (not our server) came over and asked if it was complete , because he NEEDED THE TABLE!!!! That ruined it for us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kochal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    83
    65
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
535 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I really enjoyed a birthday dinner at Hamilton's Grill in lovely Lambertville, NJ last night. The Place is set back an alley from the street in a an old, old historic neighborhood and tavern/house. we sat in the greenhouse, and they also have seating around a big grill in the middle and a more formal dining room in front. They have no alcohol but you can buy what you need a cross the street at the tavern and bring it in with no corkage fee. Pretty good deal there.

The service from our Maitre d' was outstanding. Definitely felt welcomed as first time visitors.

The menu is outstanding an classic. Not ancient, but classic. I had a double stuffed pork chop that was wonderful accompanied by asparagus potatoes and the best red cabbage I have had in the US. the starter grapefruit salad was memorable.

All members of our parties enjoyed the atmosphere, the town, and the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Worst meal and terrible service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Went for valentines day and was first surprised by pri fixe menu with limited offerings.the app of fettuccini was mediocre at best and there was no lobster meat in the lobster Thermidor it was served cold and congealed with the waiter nowhere to be found.after explaining that it was in edible we were served as if they were doing us a favor gristle filled strip steaks diner style and raw .this was a disgrace

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank summerbreeze267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hamilton's for ANY special occasion or even Turkey Day!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I stumbled upon Hamilton's Grill Room over 13 years ago while walking with some friends around New Hope and Lambertville on a cold winter night. We saw a small sign on the wall of an alleyway and ventured on down. What we found was a gem BYOB with freshly grilled meats, fish & veggies, great service and a warm atmosphere. We have been going back ever since that night to celebrate many special occasions. We even brough our first Berner with us there for lunch on a quite afternoon when he was on his last legs and he was treated like a king! The staff and management are just great, warm, welcoming people. Thanks for all of your great years of service! Keep it up!!
P.S. - We also have been going there for Thanksgiving (with our family of 10-14 people) for the past 4 years and they are able to even keep their high standards on such a holiday when many other restaurants that we have tried have failed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDOCatUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. My wife and I eat here about once every four to six weeks. It is always a treat. Over the past two years we have never been disappointed. There is a large open grill in the middle dining room. Tables here are the most sought after for the entertainment value of seeing a master grill chef at work. Fish, shrimp and steaks all miraculously come off perfectly grilled. It helps that they use top tier ingredients. The non-grill items are equally, if less excitingly well prepared. Service is consistently gracious. The host, Reid, meets and greets everyone. It can get a little hectic at the entrance but if you have a reservation you will be seated. Forget the weekends without a reservation. This is a BYOB. Hamilton's had been in Lambertville "forever" and continues to thrive by maintaining true excellence in food and service. Excellence does not come cheap. Appetizers range up to about $18. Main courses are mostly in the $30's. Figure about $55 per person. You could pay a little less or significantly more depending on selection, but you are also saving on wine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillyshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton's Grill Room also viewed

 

Been to Hamilton's Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing